Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.24+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2008
. . . at least one Georgie Fame album, that is. Georgie is responsible for giving the world what is arguably the finest horn riff of all on Get Away - just five notes, but, oh, what notes. This excellent value CD is a must - it's got most of his hits, and the other tracks are all standards which Fame interprets in his own accomplished way with character and empathy. And it's also a great demonstration of why the pop music of the sixties was so brilliant - an era when artists of Georgie's calibre were taking their inspiration from jazz and blues and, in turn, inspiring so many others. I love it. The price of this Fame album is ludicrously cheap and there's really very little excuse for not including it in your collection.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Georgie Fame' was born 'Clive Powell' in Leigh, Lancashire in 1943 a vocalist and piano/keyboard player who specialized in
Rhythm and Blues and Jazz.
Along with his backing group the Blue Flames he achieved a series of Chart-Successes between 1964 to 1971
Though i never counted myself a fan he was impossible to ignore coming up with several numbers i did buy as 45's back then
Many of his hits included on-board this release including 'Yeh Yeh' (Chart '1' 1964) - 'In The Meantime' (Chart '22' 1965) -
'Getaway' (Chart '1' 1966) - 'Sunny' (Chart '13' also 1966) (Solo) - 'Sitting In The Park' (Chart '12' again 1966) some lower-order
hits also included on-board.
In all 'Georgie Fame' had three Top-Ten Hits (two on-board this releases) all of which topped the Chart.
For me as a part of the history of the 60's music scene though bought to own the two songs from the album i'd previously bought
on vinyl on CD, it's an essential link in my 60's music collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
He was one of the best Jazz and Blues performers around & was always put on a great performance with the Blue Flames. Went off a bit when he joined up with Alan Price on those tacky variety shows but he's a great Hammond organ man !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Disappointing. Georgie Fame is, to me, one of the most innovative pop artists of the 60s, especially his jazz-tinged approach to R&B and Rock. Many of the tracks on this collection are live performances with all the recording muddiness and background noises you get in a club setting. The cuts have not been remastered and it shows even in the studio recordings. Cannot recommend it. There must be other, better quality, samples of Georgie Fame around.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Georgie Fame is an over-looked gem in the history of Blues, Boogie-Woogie, Jump'n'Jive and Soul - end of!! This album includes most of his well-known tracks but there is so much more to his music. See this album as a taster before you delve into his extensive back-catalogue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I have always like Georgie and did when teamed with Alan Price. The Major hits on this CD are Get Away & Yeh Yeh other tracks are obscure but interesting. No skipping of tracks on this CD
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
all the old favourites , no missing pieces in this jigsaw.
original recordings all , has n't been out of the player.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Although some of the tracks were OK I agree with a previous review the sound is poor quality. I had been looking forward to this CD arriving but have to admit when I played it was rather disappointed and probably won't play it again in a hurry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Found this album awful and altho not the same cover it is infact the same,bad sounding live recordings mixed in with a few originals,stay away!for sure!Surely this isnt the same album everyone is giving 5 stars for?....And this is being kind!?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
I have been a professional musician/entertainer, for over 40 years, and I have a Full Equity Card, and have worked with many excellent artists, but, sadly, Not Georgie Fame, but I hold him in the highest regard, as a musician, and all round entertainer. He is one of the best, and I LOVE the cd "The Very Best of Georgie Fame and The Blue Flames.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)