Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!!!!!, 18 Oct 2002
By 
Eureka "Leo D" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
Following on from the undeniably brilliant volume 1, this second Exposure album from Sasha and Diggers rocks in a way just about no other dance album can. Have it on low and its perfect chill-out tunes post-club, turn it up high and it becomes a monster trance stomper. Tunes such as LSG Netherworld and music from Gus Gus will take you there. I bought this CD when it came out and I still play it more than any other I've ever owned. Just with Volume 1, this is a must-have in your collection if you are serious about dance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BREATHTAKINGLY AGELESS!, 12 April 2008
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
Wow is the only word i can think of whilst opening my reveiw on this cd and this is 2008 all those years after its release. I have just been lucky enough to purchase both 1&2 off ebay for 42 in mint condition off a very generous seller.
Anyway although the first of the series deserves to be up there at the top because it was the first of the groundbreaking journeys these two Dj's were takin us on, i have to say i am miffed as to why more people have not reveiwed the second of these ageless discs. I don't think you can class these as musical cd's as they do much more to the listener than give you the odd danceable beat, these really do take you on a magical mental journey that really has stood the test of time.
I would say that this (part two) has more drive than the first as the first of the two builds up the atmosphere in a way that will never be beaten and really only starts the musical journey come the second disc, where this starts with the drive the first one ended with and continues through both discs. The quality of part two is absolutly phenomenal, hypnotic beats from the start that take you on an emotional rollercoaster of a ride. I beg you if you have a young family put them to bed at night get your comfy spot on the sofa dim the lights and grab yourself a beer, chill and just let this disc do the rest it will blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ageless sequel - Sublime!, 30 May 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
Their is absolutely no denying that Northern Exposure 1 and 2 are up their as the best DJ mixed compilations ever. If you're intrigued as to what all the fuss is about with these 2 albums, then all I can say is buy them and find out for yourself.

So, how does Northern Exposure 2 remain both an improvement on the already perfect first, and an evolution in terms of direction?

It's fair to say that N.E 2 (for short, sorry) moves blissfully away from the organic and nature-built sounds of N.E 1, and instead builds on a more modern sound. This is apparent for 2 reasons; N.E 1 was an album built up on tracks from between 1990 and 1996, while N.E 2 focusses on tracks from 1997 primarily. The other difference is the approach on each discs - while Sasha and Digger's both still follow their Breaks and Trance music respectively, the arrangement of music is more abrupt and feels like it's following on from it's first album.

The result of all this is an extremely icy and emotive album that, although incredibly mellow, ceases to tease you that those high key's you've been waiting for are not too far away. It's fair to say N.E 2 really is the 'arrival' of your Northern destination, approved by the neat ice bergs on the album cover.

Sasha's mix, being CD 1 again, is undoubtedly the highlight of the album. It would seem so risky to place a short vocal track right at the start of the album, but the beautiful lyrics of that which follow's it, 'Soothe', is nothing short of sensational and returns the composure. The rest of the songs that make up the first half of this album take things in break-beat fashion with a combination of icy electronic riffs, to the beautiful 'Dammerung', all mixes slickly and seamlessly. A real purpose and drive is noted by a couple of 4 to the Floor tracks, such as the popular 'Little Bullet' in a superb remixed form. Things are brought back down again though as the latter part of the album is all chocks away; Reeferendum, Distant Voices, Purple, and Symphony all mix to end this beautiful CD in style. And in typical Sasha style, each track just keeps getting better and better, with Symphony being an all time classic dance tune, if not, dare I say it, THE best in my books.

Theirs always been speculation over the effect of Digweeds mixes. Some like them, some don't, I can only express my thoughts and thats that they are completely under-rated. Sure, Sasha's mixes in N.E 1 and 2 do shine out as the best, but forgetting Digweed's effort is a crime, for each album simply wouldn't be complete without them. While Johns mix in N.E 1 contained some classic trance/classic proggy house songs from around 1994 (including the stunning Plan 4), his efforts in N.E 2 are harder and more serious. The playlist comprises mainly of popular German Trance tunes from 1997, and has seminal tracks such as 'Envervate' and 'Netherworld', to name just a couple. However, unlike Sasha's disc, this will definitely need time to not only adjust to, but to appreciate. The mixing is near perfect, the song choice is spooky but flawless, and the arrangement is atmospheric to your wildest imaginations. It's fair to say that it does get better in the second half of the mix, but this is just picking.

It's unbelieable to think that only 3 Northern Exposure albums have been produced. This is mostly likely to reflect the club night that was touring between 1996 and '98, but it shouldn't have held back the duo creating further mixes. Nether the less, the sheer quality of 1 and 2 (I don't class Expeditions as a true NE album) will NEVER be matched, and their always a case of over-doing things. This being said, it's credit the idea hasn't been milked, and Northern Exposure 2 should be remembered and played regularly as reminder of the peak of visual DJ'ing... Where the individual set out with a vision and purpose, and could tap into your emotions and senses. With this not being touched these day's, Northern Exposure is my daily reminder of the power of music, and why Alex Coe & John Digweed are not just the best DJ's, but the best musically-brained DJ's ever.

Get this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Electronic Music Comp since they began!, 30 Mar 2010
By 
R. Murphy (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
the headline is not exaggerated in anyway...i've spent thousands over the past 15 years or so on DJ compilations, label releases and electronic artist albums...this is timeless, immense in every way and a must have for any serious dance music follower....you can understand from this album, possibly the first one and then expeditions why S&JD are the strongholds they are when it comes to electronic music. Stick it on, take the journey, be amazed by the sounds, tunes, vocals, melodies, beats and flawless mixing that makes this a truely great publication. Deffo in my top 3 purchases and the only cd i'd bring with me to a desert island!!...if there was electricity of course!!...5 stars not enough to be honest..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
Although this album is particully hard to come by, I very much recommend that you purcahse it. Already they are selling for hundreds of pounds around the world, and just by listening to it, you can understand why people are ready to shed their hard earned cash.
Its the only trance mix you will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After all these years it still makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, 11 Oct 2008
By 
autopilot (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
Incredible, timeless and beautiful. I owned this when it first came out over 10 years ago, and somewhere in the crazy few years that followed i lost it. But having just found a copy i can't believe how amazing it still sounds after all this time. Stunning. One of the best dance mix/compilations of all time. Sound be in every dance fan collection. Even if you are younger and just getting into dance music, you owe it to yourself you to own this. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Exposure 2 (2xcd) Sasha and John Digweed, 17 Oct 2007
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
A must have for collectors of electronic music. Eclipsed only by Volume 1 of the same series and by Renaissance The Mix Collection Volume 1(3xcd), also by Sasha and Digweed. Northern Exposure vols 1 and two (double cd U.K versions) are increasing in value year on year. Near mint copies at under 25 pounds should be considered something of a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings you up and smooths you down, 8 Jun 2010
By 
E. Chittenden "emchi" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
This has got to be one of my favourite albums, the gentle soothing mix of Gus Gus bringing you into something with a little bit more of a beat to it. The album is perfectly mixed. Listening to it more than ten years after its release, it still sounds fresh and amazing, the mix is not dated in the slightest. If you only ever buy one Sasha and Digweed album, make it this one.

The only shame is that you can't get it as a legitimate download from anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Years On...., 27 Jun 2008
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
....this album still gets played. In particular, CD1 gets an airing on my I-pod. CD1 of NE2 and CD1 of NE1 are the only 2 mixes that NEVER leave my i-pod.

In all honesty, I don't think Northern Exposure 1 has ever been beaten as a mix, in terms of choice of tunes, atmosphere and the perfect key matching. It stands alone as a piece of music, let alone as a DJ mix. I salivate at the thought that one day I'm going to stumble across something which will get me quite as emotional!!

I don't think NE2 is trying to compete with NE1, but is a progression of the series. The whole project has a completely different feel to it. It's less glacial, more immediate and doesn't set out on the epic journey that NE1 did.

Nevertheless, Sasha's mix on CD1 is another stroke of genius. Listen to how he brings in 'Soothe' or 'Dammerung' and you'll see what I mean. (I'd love to know where Sasha discovers his records - always so well produced and so achingly beautiful - compositions rather than 'tunes'). As always his mix flows really well, with each song seemingly made for the one before it. Again, it's another brilliant example of how mixing in key can make such a subtle difference ands adds layers to the drum patterns.

John Digweed's mix is technically excellent as always, but lacking a bit of inspiration. Cygnus X provide a pretty introduction, but from then on it becomes a little bland and dare I say it cheesy on occasion, with the like of Enervate. It's a good enough tune in the right cicumstances, but not really one I'd associate with Digweed. Unlike his mix for NE1, this shows a slight lack of imagination and takes something away from the package as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased !., 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Exposure 2: Mixed By Sasha & John Digweed (UK 2-Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
Been looking for this for quite a long while now. As close to perfection as you can get.
One of those rare occasions where you will be totally fulfilled from start to finish............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews