Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY SENSATIONAL SYMPHONIC PSYCHEDELIA!
Enjoying a deserved renaissance through "those in the know" this quartet of Acton talent simply could'nt get going commercially where lesser- lights prevailed. Often berated on the grounds of excessive whimsy, this hard working outfit packed a punch on the live circuit, boasting a diverse array of hip styles coupled with lyrical awareness, courtesey of singer...
Published on 31 Jan 2001 by dolphin2bermo@yahoo.co.uk

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best psychadelic band ever? I think not
I bought this album off the back of recommendations and hearing a couple of track from the Nuggets II compilation. Sadly, it does not come up to the standards set by the glowing, perhaps gushing reviews.
Don't get me wrong, there is some genuinely top-drawer psych in here. But there is also a mish-mash of different styles at times; Is that 'Lazy Sunday' I am...
Published on 15 Dec 2004 by BobP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY SENSATIONAL SYMPHONIC PSYCHEDELIA!, 31 Jan 2001
By 
dolphin2bermo@yahoo.co.uk (Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dive Into Yesterday (Audio CD)
Enjoying a deserved renaissance through "those in the know" this quartet of Acton talent simply could'nt get going commercially where lesser- lights prevailed. Often berated on the grounds of excessive whimsy, this hard working outfit packed a punch on the live circuit, boasting a diverse array of hip styles coupled with lyrical awareness, courtesey of singer Peter Daltrey. Murder, battle carnage and the perils of dodgy air travel were meaty fare for a pop band in 1967.
Kicking off this showcase, a gem of a title track splutters to life in Dr Who-like fashion, culminating in an irresistable maelstrom of delicious cross-harmonies - making it a piece truly of its time.
From the strident folksy weirdness of debut 45 "Flight from Ashiya" to the towering baroque splendour of "Black Fjord" this set has few fillers and begs repeated listening. "Jenny Artichoke" Kaleidescope's major push for pop immortality bubbles along with an infectious sing-along chorus, yet was doomed (as was all else by the boys) to flop status.
Tolkeinesque psychedelic folk with more than a hint of but-kicking groove-pop makes for an engaging glimpse into what should have been. You'll believe purple drops upwards!
STEVEN GERALD SMITH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT 60's PSYCH, 4 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dive Into Yesterday (Audio CD)
Kaleidoscope is one of those bands that keeps turning up on compilations of British psychedelia, and I must say that if you are curious, I must recommend this album.
It includes most tracks from their two original albums Tangerine Dream and Faintly Blowing, and considering that they are only available as expensive import CD's, "Dive Into Yesterday" is quite a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dive into Yesterday, 2 Mar 2006
By 
Mr T "meltcity" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dive Into Yesterday (Audio CD)
Judging by this album, Kaleidoscope are up there with early Floyd, Family and Tomorrow as one of the more accomplished late 60s UK psych bands - but only just. That really isn't saying anything bad about them at all. Drive into Yesterday is a great album. In places the lyrics are a bit naff, but hey, what the hell, the music's consistent. Surprisingly consistent in fact, considering that this is a 'best of...' album. If you don't like compilations, and as a rule I don't, then you might be better off getting Tangerine Dream or Faintly Blowing, but Kaleidoscope are a must for any psych collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Archy (ALTRINCHAM, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dive Into Yesterday (Audio CD)
Hard to add anything to the other, excellent, five star reviews, but I had to do a review as this is a perfect CD from my favourite 60s band. It contains all their second album (Faintly Blowing) and misses only a couple of lesser tracks from their first (Tangerine Dream), which in itself would make it pretty awesome. Added to this are four great pop singles: the debut, and classic Flight From Ashiya; the second, almost-as-psychedelic A Dream for Julie; the third, the delightful pop whimsy of Jenny Artichoke; and the fourth, the rather untypical Do it again for Jeffrey (thankfully, their fifth single, the frightful Balloon, is omitted). There's also a rare B side, Just How much You Are, which already shows signs of the direction the group would take in the 70s. To think that the band had TWO further classic albums up their sleeve (the sublime From Home to Home, released as Fairfield Parlour and the long-forgotten, released in the 90s to astound everyone White-faced lady), makes the group's artistic achievements staggering. Superlatives fail me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best psychadelic band ever? I think not, 15 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dive Into Yesterday (Audio CD)
I bought this album off the back of recommendations and hearing a couple of track from the Nuggets II compilation. Sadly, it does not come up to the standards set by the glowing, perhaps gushing reviews.
Don't get me wrong, there is some genuinely top-drawer psych in here. But there is also a mish-mash of different styles at times; Is that 'Lazy Sunday' I am hearing? Or a crib from 'Piper at the Gates of Dawn'? Or perhaps a sliver of The Kinks is creeping in?
Kaliedoscope, using this album as a history, would appear at times to be uncertain of the direction they wanted to take, with the result that you find yourself not listening to them so much as working out who they were aping at that moment.
The above comes out as damning stuff. But when they got it right, they really got it right. Tracks like 'Faintly Blowing', 'Poem' and especially 'Music' are up there with the best of them.
What I would say to anyone with an interest in psychedelia is; give this album a go. But listen to it with an open mind and don't let the hype get in the way. Do this and you stand a much better chance of getting more from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Am I missing somethig, here?, 19 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Dive Into Yesterday (Audio CD)
As a connoiseur of sixties psychedelia, I simply fail to understand the hype surrounding this band. Opinions are neither right or wrong, but in my opinion, this is just bland and samey, light-weight pop; nowhere near as good as Pink Floyd, Traffic or Small Faces. Best avoided unless you really MUST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dive Into Yesterday
Dive Into Yesterday by Kaleidoscope (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews