Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WARNING ABOUT DELUXE EDITION TRACKLISTING at end.
If The Gift had "Beat Surrender" and a decent arrangement of "A Solid Bond" (which doesnt seem to exist) on it in place of "circus" and "The planner's dream went wrong," then most of the Jam fans criticising this would then regard this as a classic. Maybe also dropping the red-wedge style preaching of "Transglobal express" to a b side status and swapping it for "The Great...
Published 20 months ago by Tando

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop Dreaming of a Quiet Life! The Gift - 2012
A good album gets the deluxe edition treatment. I remember buying this album in Clapham, as a young kid I strutted through the high street with the album clad in its lilac and white candy striped bag, singing 'A Town Called Malice' - those were the days. Never a classic album in my mind though, but one that helped shape my youth. My point in writing this review is this,...
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WARNING ABOUT DELUXE EDITION TRACKLISTING at end., 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
If The Gift had "Beat Surrender" and a decent arrangement of "A Solid Bond" (which doesnt seem to exist) on it in place of "circus" and "The planner's dream went wrong," then most of the Jam fans criticising this would then regard this as a classic. Maybe also dropping the red-wedge style preaching of "Transglobal express" to a b side status and swapping it for "The Great Depression" would have sealed the job. But unfortunately those two better tracks were written just after this album, as a farewell, with Beat Surrender getting the nod over Solid Bond as the final single. Still, the Jam were never ones to load up albums with singles and this is why it must have been a lot of pressure on Weller to write a whole album off the cuff,when he was also keeping most of the best tracks to release as singles,leaving them off the albums altogether. There seemed to be a one single per album rule with the Jam so as not to rip off the fans who already had the tracks.Most bands do the opposite.
The single that was released off the Gift is also the best track, and that is "Town called Malice." I can still remember the exact place i was standing when i heard this for the first time.It was the first song that had ever had such an effect on me, maybe because i was living in a town exactly like "Malice." The song is absolutely majestic,combining an absolute positive with an absolute negative but bringing them together somehow in perfect harmony. If that's the best track then it is followed by Happy Together, Running on the spot and Carnation. Those are the 4 exceptional tracks and worth the price of the album. "Ghosts" is slow,reflective and effortlessly melodic in a way that Weller rarely manages these days; "Just who is the 5 o clock hero" is something Weller could write in his sleep in 1981,and lacks that cutting edge lyrically, maybe because he was writing about a 9-5 worker,something which he never was.But again it is very melodic; "Precious" seems like an impersonation of another band albeit a great one, "Transglobal express" is a naive political rant,but then Weller was only 22 or 23 when he wrote it.He tried again with the style council on tracks like Internationists and Money go round, but these tracks never really work well, because it seemed like He was kind of saying "we need to do this and do that," but at the same time he was also saying "dont listen to anybody telling you what to do."
The Foxton instrumental Circus and the steel-drummed "Planner's dream" seem like fillers and at best should have been B sides.They are the 2 tracks that even hardcore Jam fans skip the most.
The title track was always an oddity for me,but maybe lyrically it offers the first clues as to what was about to happen to the band,and that's maybe why it was also the final track on the album. I don't know why Weller is so critical of the single that followed this album,"The bitterest pill," because that was much better to my ears than those 2 duff tracks he put on the Gift. I guess he can't write 10 classic tracks to order, only 6 or 7, which in itself was an amazing achievement for a young bloke who learnt about music by listening to records and by writing from the heart.It's 30 years since they split but no one has ever replaced the Jam in the hearts of most of their fans,including me.

ADDITONAL NOTE CONCERNING DELUXE EDITION TRACKLISTING: NO BEAT SURRENDER DEMO. Amazon has got the tracklisting of the 2nd disc wrong.Here is the tracklisting of the 2nd disc:
1.Beat surrrender single.Already released version.
2.shopping b side of Beat surrender.
3.move on up-part of original beat surrender release.
4.stoned out of my mind.Also nothing new,just a rehash of old material already released.
5.war-version from the just who is the five o clock hero b side,already released.
6.pity poor alfie (swing version)This has ALSO been available elsewhere.This is becoming a con.
7.skirt-Finally a demo unreleased.But the title may mislead you.It is an earlier version of "Absolute Beginners."
8.ghosts-a demo but why on earth bother with an instrumental version??????
9.5 o clock hero-demo.
10.planner's dream-demo.
11.carnation-another pointless instrumental version!!!!!
12.alfie-another demo of Alfie,like we really needed another version of this when so many tracks have been demoed and been ignored once again.
13.we only started-old version.This track has been shoved out before on compilations and this version adds nothing.
14.shopping-demo,and unfortunately almost identical to the released version.
15.solid bond-demo.Close to the version the style council played on "switch tv show" but needs to be remixed with the guitar higher in the mix.
Since most jam fans will be buying this for the 2nd disc,it would have been nice if amazon had got their facts right.I personally only bought it for the Beat Surender demo,which is NOT HERE. Where are the quality demos from the making of the Gift? where is the Malice demo? where is the Happy Together demo? The Running on the spot demo?
They must exist somewhere. I would be very curious as to who decided on the tracks to go on this cd.It certainly was NOT a jam fan,but quite possibly a record company executive who saw a "need" to hold back most of the interesting demos for a future release.When i think of the material that must be available,to offer up this with all the padding is a cynical insult to every Jam fan.Same goes to the "super-padded" super deluxe version trotting out the massively edited Bingley Hall dvd as an attachment to bang up the price in the hope you will pay 80 for a remastered wembley bootleg.Weller hopefully had nothing to do with any of this.

I WANT TO ADD NOW THAT YOU CAN BUY AS MP3 DOWNLOADS INDIVIDUAL TRACKS FROM THE SUPER DELUXE VERSION ON AMAZON,SO IF YOU BOUGHT THE DELUXE VERSION AND ARE RIGHTLY ANNOYED ABOUT THE MISSING DEMOS OF BEAT SURRENDER,RUNNING ON THE SPOT,PRECIOUS,AND A VERY GOOD DIFFERENT DEMO VERSION OF THE BITTEREST PILL, PLUS THE WEMBLEY GIG TRACKS, THESE CAN BE DOWNLOADED FOR 89P EACH,WHICH IS MUCH BETTER THAN PAYING 70 FOR THE CD PACKAGED VERSION WITH ALL THE STUFF THROWN IN THAT YOU HAVE BOUGHT ALREADY 10 TIMES BEFORE.YOU CAN DOWNLOAD THE LOT FOR 25, SO THAT MAY BE THE WAY TO GO FOR SOME PEOPLE. I MYSELF BOUGHT THE DELUXE VERSION AND THEN JUST DOWNLOADED THE MISSING DEMO TRACKS PLUS SOME OF THE GIG.I still have to say as a fan i don't appreciate the sly way they held back the best demo tracks for the outrageously expensive super-deluxe version and padded out a so-called deluxe version with a bunch of inconsequential instrumentals,and already-released stuff which just leaves fans feeling cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stop Dreaming of a Quiet Life! The Gift - 2012, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
A good album gets the deluxe edition treatment. I remember buying this album in Clapham, as a young kid I strutted through the high street with the album clad in its lilac and white candy striped bag, singing 'A Town Called Malice' - those were the days. Never a classic album in my mind though, but one that helped shape my youth. My point in writing this review is this, in comparision to the remastered single version from 1997 this sounds a little less punchy and less vibrant. I'm slightly disappointed with the sound quality. However, the various demo's on the second disc make this a good purchase though - an early version of 'Absolute Beginners' ('Skirt')is very good as is the demo for 'A Solid Bond In Your Heart'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patchy - but containing the very best of the Jam, 15 Dec 2001
By 
P. L. EVANS "Blogger" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
A lot of Jam fans haven't really listened to this album. Shame really - people always pick out the singles as the highlights (Malice, Carnation, etc) but this album has a track that is, for me, the quintessential Jam track - it distils the best of their power-pop arrangements with the best of Weller's lyrics: It's called 'Happy Together'. Sing it in the bath a few times, and you'll see. Especially the lines ..."I never let my feelings fool you...." and later the "...thought I was an angel with no wings". Sing it and hear the 'lift' that the best songs on Sound Effects or All Mod Cons gave you.
Nothing captures the essence of seeing the Jam quite as much as Happy Together. Worth the purchase on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even the Jam's weakest is still great..., 17 Feb 2001
By 
J. Taylor (Harrisburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
Here in the US the Jam's albums are out of print. There are some compilations discs, but the individual albums are gone. I was delighted to find that they're still available in the UK and that I could get them here. This may not be the Jam's best, but it's still a great record and I'm glad I picked it up. I also got "All Mod Cons," which is certainly better, but the gift if still pretty strong. I'm going to get the rest of them....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
By 
Mr. Jl Hurst - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
a gif it is! class music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars they are gifted., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
I brought this album back in the day when on vinyl then i was looking at albums i had bought mainly the jam when i saw the gift on cd so i purchased it.The surreal song GHOSTS is sublime and TOWN CALLED MALICE what a tune,great album,great price and quick delivery.Well done amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A matter of choice, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
Again bought for friend who was delighted to be able to obtain it without leaving home. He wears earphones so he can enjoy without annoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Gift by The Jam., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
I did hear this album back in the eighties when it was originally released and thought it was quite good at the time, however having recently purchased it for the first time I was very disappointed with it. I found it to be an unfocused piece of work, containing elements of funk, calypso and soul. A few tracks benefit from that, such as Precious, which is one of the strongest tracks on the album. The planner's dream goes wrong is the calypson influenced track is really quite bad. Town called malice is also a very good track, but the rest of it is poor and on the strength of this work it is just as well that The Jam split up. The evidnence provided on this album suggests that Paul Weller was running out of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
Bought for my son, a massive fan of The Jam and Paul Weller, he was very pleased with it as although he has lots of their recordings this has some tracks he hadn't got .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was it a Gift, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Kangie (Humberside, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Audio CD)
The album was ok, but not as good as people said. I prefer Sound Affects and All Mod Cons. Glad there was a De Luxe alum, as someitmes demo are better than the ones released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gift
The Gift by The Jam (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews