Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80's through and through
Top grounbreaking album from the era of extravagance. Hazel is on top form in what is possibly her best album. You can forgive the quirky production and immature lyrics because this album is top drawer early electro pop. The drums and sax transform a basic synth album into a great cult album that sounds as fresh today as the day it was recorded. Teenagers of the day...
Published on 11 Dec 2006 by Ian Kelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
Must say, not as good as I remember. guess it will end up at the back of cd box .
Published 11 months ago by angela hodson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80's through and through, 11 Dec 2006
By 
Ian Kelly "ian24287" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
Top grounbreaking album from the era of extravagance. Hazel is on top form in what is possibly her best album. You can forgive the quirky production and immature lyrics because this album is top drawer early electro pop. The drums and sax transform a basic synth album into a great cult album that sounds as fresh today as the day it was recorded. Teenagers of the day loved Hazel and Phil Daniels portrayals in the film. We only wish the film would come available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still fantastic, 26 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
I'm giving this CD 5 stars as it is an excellent time capsule, apart from Will You there probably isn't another song in here that would be a hit today but is an excellent example of poppy punk/new wave music from 1980. I remember seeing the film in the mid 80's and buying the album the very next day, loved it and still do today. For 3 pounds you can't go wrong (the sax solo on Will You is worth that on its own)

It's a shame that there is no current DVD of the film as it creates a good feel for the environment in which this album was written. There is an angst in the more punky songs like Big Brother and Blackman which for me make these stand out tracks and the change of tempo in Who Needs It still excites me 20 years on as the song winds itself up into a crescendo for the second half.

I only know the first three Hazel O'Connor albums and although I like the others but this is a stand out, I highly recommend it to anyone even if it has dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless...sax it out!, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
Breaking Glass - one truly superb album/soundtrack for the film of the same name/1980/Total playing time 41.57

Track 6 : the 4.49 minute Will You?, in particular is another of those tracks that makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end and whisks me back in time.

What a lady...what a voice!

'.....it's getting kind of late now
I wonder if you'll stay now, stay now, stay now, stay now
Or will you just politely say goodnight...'

And as the sax plays out...we wonder on?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories!, 21 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
I bought this with the memory of sneaking into the cinema to see the film when I was underage!
The soundtrack has aged a bit since then but still holds some powerful tunes, with a couple of classics in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds good today!, 29 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
Who can forget Hazel O'Connor's fabulous performances of: 'Eighth Day', 'D-Days' and 'Will You' which were all Top Ten smashes! She's a great Performer with a voice instantly recognisable, sounds like no-one else I can think of, and so versatile! She can sound like anything; from 'punky' to 'ballardy'!

You'll find two of these great Songs included here on this classic Album from 1980 - along with some pretty good material to go with them.

This Album still sounds great after all these years!

A truly modest lady who doesn't believe she had such an impact on the eighties - oh but how wrong she is...

Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How one forgets, 28 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Breaking Glass (MP3 Download)
Hazel O'Connor is one of the most underestimated singers and writers ever produced in this country. Sadly she was boxed in the same pigeonhole as Toyah, who had infinately less talent but broader appeal because she was a bit like the girl next door. Hazel always looked like the girl from the other (bad) side of town. Her debut album "Breaking Glass" contains classic track after classic track and has not aged with time - in fact it sounds better now than I can remember. Raunchy anarchistic songs sit comfortably alongside touching ballards and futuristic themes.

Go and listen - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eighth Day, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
Oh how I love this album and Hazel O'Connor's voice and the wonderful ballad Will You. A beautiful classic from the 80s film of the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
fantastic album, took me back forgot just how much I liked this album she is a very under rated artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Glass (Audio CD)
a soundtrack to a cult film this does what it says on the tin....and more...I urge people to see the film first though...otherwise the tracks may lose their power..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Glass
Breaking Glass by Hazel O'Connor (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews