Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine old-style country music
This excellent compilation includes a substantial number of Dolly's greatest hits and memorable album tracks, although it excludes the duets with Porter Wagoner, some of her lesser hits and her later bluegrass excursions. It demonstrates her versatility in its great variety of styles, from wonderful weepy ballads like We Used To and I Will Always Love You to uptempo...
Published on 31 Aug. 2003 by Peter Uys

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars like from "Working 9-5" and joline
This CD is OK. Apart from a few songs that are well known, like from "Working 9-5" and joline, it's a "run-of-the-mill" Dolly Parton CD.
Nothing Special, but not worth the extra money.
Published 6 months ago by Dougal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine old-style country music, 31 Aug. 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
This excellent compilation includes a substantial number of Dolly's greatest hits and memorable album tracks, although it excludes the duets with Porter Wagoner, some of her lesser hits and her later bluegrass excursions. It demonstrates her versatility in its great variety of styles, from wonderful weepy ballads like We Used To and I Will Always Love You to uptempo tracks like Jolene, the hit from the movie 9 to 5 and her 1978 nod to disco, Baby I'm Burnin'. My favourites include the lovely Love Is Like A Butterfly and the classics made famous by others: Harper Valley P.T.A and D-I-V-O-R-CE, both of them great story songs. Parton has made such a spectacular contribution to country music that no Best Of can easily claim to contain her greatest work, but this album does a fair job of displaying her soulful voice and some of her timeless songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic.....easy to listern too what ever your mood, 22 Sept. 2000
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
I have never really been into country music,as a 25 year old i dont suppose i was ever interested,but that was untill i heard this cd,whatever mood you are in,it fits your mood to a tee.Its a nice cd to play in the car and i put it on before going out..fantastic...all the songs have an emotional attachment in one way or another...a lot of the songs are from the heart for each person to interpert to their own tales. dolly's songs are mainly in a story format,leaving them the perfect songs to listern to when on your own........Well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dolly, 30 Sept. 2003
By 
BD (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
Dolly does it again! A great album that includes all her best hits, such as Jolene (why do all her albums have this as the first song?), Harper Valley PTA, Here you come again etc. This album is another credit to Dolly's talent and her longevity as the leading lady of Country Music. Long may she reign!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly Parton CD, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
Great CD, even my daughter loves it. A marvellous singer with a great voice with all her best known songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly Parton, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
What can you say about this CD amazing, Dolly is fabulous as is expected she can't go wrong at all!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
Love the style of Dolly , good collection of her music, good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
Gotta love a bit of Dolly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
Yes, I am pleased with The Best of Dolly Parton CD. No CD has all the songs the buyer wishes was on the CD, or the ones that he/she especially likes. It is something we have to accept--tastes are individual. And many times the CD you buy--depending on when it was produced--will have some of the hits, but perhaps not the later hits. The ideal situation would be for the producers to really, and honestly, include the 18 or 20 top hits of the performer, based on total worldwide sales, without padding the CD with songs that were not so popular; but, that is not going to happen--it wouldn't be as profitable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
A. Woodham "bookworm" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
great cd loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars like from "Working 9-5" and joline, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: the best of dolly parton (Audio CD)
This CD is OK. Apart from a few songs that are well known, like from "Working 9-5" and joline, it's a "run-of-the-mill" Dolly Parton CD.
Nothing Special, but not worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

the best of dolly parton
the best of dolly parton by Dolly Parton (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews