Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable
First listened to this album when I was 15 (now 41). I have since listened to thousands of hours of music in other genres and wondered if this album would still have the same powerful effect on me that it did all those years ago. Needless to say it did. There are only a few records this statement applies to: you must have this in your music collection.
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by MR

versus
35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Six stars for the music and only two for this package
I simply could have not resist the temptation to buy yet another edition of Jimi Hendrix Experience first album, newly repackaged by Sony Music. What a disappointment. Not the music, of course.

Are You Experienced is no doubt one of the most important albums in rock history. In 1967 the music and sounds on LP might have as well come from another planet or...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by bing


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Experienced, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
If you are a lover of all things beautiful in JH music and have a sense of decent hearing turn up the volume and enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jimi Jimi, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. B. ASHTON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great package of a great album. It has everything you could possibly, want I imagine there will be version with five discs but this hits all the right buttons for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars N0T AGAIN!, 1 April 2010
By 
Martin Lane "smersh" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A POINTLESS REISSUE BY E.E.L. SORRY BUT DVD BREAKDOWN OF THE TRACKS JUST IS NOT ENOUGH TO JUSTIFY THIS AND THE OTHER ITEMS IN THE CATALOGUE, BUT I SUPPOSE UNVERSAL MUSIC WHO NOW HAVE DISTRIBUTION FOR THE HENDRIX ALBUMS HAVE TO TRY AND MAKE THEIR MONEY SOMEWHERE. COULD WE NOT HAVE HAD THE MONO VERSIONS INSTEAD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hendrix at his best, 15 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
This is the best Jimi Hendrix album there is in my opinion, it has some of the best songs he ever released, including "red house", "hey joe" & "purple haze", and the brilliant "manic depression" & "love or confusion", there are no better Hendrix albums than this, it is definately Hendix at his best, this album is a must for any Hendrix fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Must Have' Hendrix Album, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Arrived promptly. Good price. Good quality. If you are a Hendrix 'fan' then this really is a 'Must Have' album!! Great tracks that you don't necessarily find elsewhere. Really love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth to Hendrix: Come back, come back...., 14 Feb 2007
By 
Wilf (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Well, there's very little I can say that you haven't already heard from my fellow reviewers, but this bandwagon deserves jumping on.

What a smashing debut from a band with no history together. Having said that of course, musically speaking, Jimi had already walked a long hard road and arrived in England with many songs he was itching to give sound to. Much of this album reflects Jimi's experience and maturity, a couple of brilliant examples being Red House, which has become a blues standard, and Are You Experienced, which is an absolutely mesmerising number with one of his most beautiful (though fairly brief) solos.

If you are new to Jimi's music (is there anyone in the Western Hemisphere who hasn't heard Purple Haze?), or are an Experience fan already (congratulations), but haven't already got this album (how the hell have you missed it?), then I recommend that you buy it.

PS. Note to Experienced fans: if you haven't yet discovered Jimi's post-Experience work (when he hooked up again with an old army buddy -Billy Cox- on bass), then I URGENTLY suggest that you do. You're in for a treat - esp. Woodstock, Band Of Gypsys and Rainbow Bridge concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Experienced, 30 May 2003
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
The album that launched The Jimi Hendrix Experience in 1967. I think Axis Bold As Love and Electric Ladyland are much better but this is, in the main, fantastic nonetheless.
The highly slinky Foxy Lady and the rumbustious Manic Depression get things off to a great start leading to the excellent, power blues Red House.
Can You See Me is another excellent pop song with some fine drumming from Mitch Mitchell.
The following Love Or Confusion is not a favourite however, despite some fairly impressive guitar noodlings from The Man. I Dont Live Today too is not one of Jimi's best either, in fact its downright poor.
May This Be Love is basically a "trippy" ballad which almost comes off but there are a few uncomortable moments. Fire is a great early Hendrix rocker with punchy vocals and drumming. Third Stone From The Sun is a bit of a weird journey with some neat bits along the way. Clearly a forerunner of the brilliant 1983, A Merman I Shall Turn To Be on Electric Landlady.
The almost catchy Remember comes next but again is not one of the most memorable. The closing Are You Experienced opens with typical saw like guitar sounds but the music is let down by a rather poor, almost absent, vocal tune.
The six bonus tracks are all top quality. The guitar break on Highway Chile is just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Experienced Jimi Hendrix vinyl, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a completist I asked for this classic album for Xmas. I already had other formats on cd etc but wanted the one with the original cover. It arrived in 48 hours. Well packaged. I have not opened it yet as it is a present but I have every confidence that it is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trust me get experienced!!!!, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
What a classic pure and simple, red house( awesome blues) , foxy lady( heavy but funky), manic depression ( words fail me), wind cries mary and so on and so on.....

Jimi Hendrix and his band comprising Mitch Mitchell and Noel Redding are in amazing form on this release and all turn in a simply fantastic performances which has gone down in rock history.
The great man himself generates power, soul and passion from every note and every word.

Enough said!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Experienced yet? If not, hurry up and become so., 8 Dec 2006
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
In a year when the likes of Cream, The Beatles, Pink Floyd, The Velvet Underground and The Doors were all releasing legendary albums, The Jimi Hendrix Experience released their first album. And what an album it was. The guitar playing is awesome, still unmatched today, and the songs are equally superlative.

For me, this is the greatest debut album of all time, matched only by Pink Floyd's 'The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn'. Hendrix draws from a wide variety of moods; happy, sad, angry, joyful, brooding, uplifting, humurous etc and combines blues, r and b, psychedelia and flat out rock n'roll to create a unique sound and a magnificent album. Songs such as 'Purple Haze' and 'Highway Chile' are well-known and loved classics, but each song on here is amazing. The opener, 'Foxy Lady', is bursting with energy, and sets the tone for the album. Vastly underrated gems include the seminal blues track 'Red House', the brilliant 'Fire' and the title-track.

What helps make this album so great is the support the Hendrix had. Noel Redding (the bassist) was a solid platform for the band to function on, whilst Mitch Mitchell's drumming has only ever been surpassed by a select few drummers e.g. Keith Moon. Hendrix's lead guitar will (deservedly) take most of the plaudits, but due credit must go to Redding and Mitchell for doing what they did, and doing it so well.

Everyone knows who Jimi Hendrix is - he is the greatest guitarist of all time, after all. But far too many people will state that without having actually heard him play, or having only heard a couple of his songs. That can lead to an emporer's clothes effect; everyone sys it's great without thinking for themselves e.g Eric Clapton, who is rubbish. And whilst songs such as 'Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)' and 'All Along The Watchtower' are well-known for showcasing his astonishing virtuosity, there is plenty of that on 'Are You Experienced' too. This is as essential as any album out there, as many people will all too willingly testify. No-one has ever, or will ever, change/d guitar as much as Hendrix did. He was a true genius.

If you don't already own this album, then hurry up and buy it. It is on par with the greatest albums of all time. An unreserved TEN STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Are You Experienced
Are You Experienced by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews