Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut album
As debut albums go and released at the time it was, it's hard to imagine how this one could be any better. 1977 was a period of conflicting musical styles. The impact of the 60s goliaths The Beatles and The Who could still be felt, there was the arrival of disco and the explosion of punk. This album is a great reflection of these uncertain musical times.

To...
Published on 6 Aug 2009 by Nostromo

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow Down
'In The City', The Jam's pounding, caveman first album should be viewed as a statement of intent, rather than an initial explosion of creativity.
It has it's moments - the amazing 'Away From the Numbers' is one of the best things they ever recorded - but generally it has a horrible rushed feeling about it.

Evil magnate villains Polydor Records take the...
Published on 19 Dec 2008 by Paul Ess.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut album, 6 Aug 2009
This review is from: In The City (Audio CD)
As debut albums go and released at the time it was, it's hard to imagine how this one could be any better. 1977 was a period of conflicting musical styles. The impact of the 60s goliaths The Beatles and The Who could still be felt, there was the arrival of disco and the explosion of punk. This album is a great reflection of these uncertain musical times.

To hear the songs, you immediately think of punk. The angry twang of Weller's Rickenbacker and Foxton's pounding bass coupled with the angst in Weller's voice make the band stand out from the meaningless punk mediocrity that was around at the same time. However, a deeper study will reveal much more complexity. How many punk groups sang about wanting to be away from the numbers, non-stop dancing and had songs with love in the title? No, The Jam were, even here at this early stage, so much more than a punk band. Visually the band in their black suits are a throwback to the early Beatles and Who era. Sounds From The Street was Weller's answer to the American beach craze spearheaded by The Beach Boys, Non-Stop Dancing makes reference to James Brown and the soul music which was to influence Weller so much in his career, Slow Down is a Larry Williams Rythym and Blues cover whilst In The City, a title borrowed from The Who's "A Quick One" album and the Batman Theme which again appears on the same Who album clearly show Weller's mod influences. Running through the album however is the beginning of the social concern and urban realism that feature so heavily in The Jam's output and which became a core part of their overall importance.

This is a raw and powerful sound and lacks the refinement of the band's output from All Mod Cons but The Jam announced their arrival with full power and force with this debut and the multi layerd 18 year old lead singer sows the seeds for what was to come later. Brilliant stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic debut album, 26 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: In The City (Audio CD)
if you are young and into todays punk bands, then you will like this album. I bought this when it came out, and its still good now. Musically its probably not The Jams best, but it has that immediacy of youth, that Weller had in abundance in his early work. It pays homage to the who, motown, put into a 1977 woking punk scene. You can tell even at this stage that weller was going to have a long and outstanding career. 'In the city' was the opening single for the band, and it got a lot of people to buy the album. If you've heard 'in the city' and like it, then buy it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance, 23 July 2013
By 
Scott Fraser (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The City (Audio CD)
This is my second copy of this cd as my first one died! A great amalgamation of punk/power pop and rocking soul dance tunes. The youthful energy is amazing as were the band live (I saw them on the All Mod Cons, Setting Sons tours). Whilst Weller would go on to write better songs in The Jam - as a period in time this is my favourite Weller moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Debut, 3 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. C. W. Smith "karyobin@hotmail.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The City (Audio CD)
In The City was the Woking boys powerful angst ridden opening shot and was seen by many as the LP that jump started the Mod revival in the UK.
Weller's emotive political lyrics were yet to fully take form but there are flashes of what was to come in the songs 'In The City' and the pithy 'Bricks and Mortar'
The Jam's music at this time owed a lot to the harmonies of Motown, the energy of the early Who and the anger of the current Punk scene.
Along with 'Bricks & Mortar', and 'In The City' the powerfully assured 'Art School' and the venomous 'I've changed my address' are the best tracks although the energetic cover of 'Slow Down' and the poignant 'Away From The Numbers' are also worthy of mention.
This was a stunning debut and a rallying flag for the coming Mod revival.
Vital Stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars (Still) Totally Intoxicating, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In The City (Audio CD)
'The Jam, what sort of ridiculous name is that?' - these were the words (or something similar) with which I remember greeting my schoolmate after he'd returned from a 1977 gig at London's Marquee to see France's Little Bob Story supported by Weller's boys (no doubt, something of a hybrid of Townshend's mob and The Marmalade?). Listening again to this magnificent debut album from that same year (on which I can certainly hear Townshend's influence on Weller's guitar - not so sure about a discernible 'Wilko Johnson influence' though) it stick packs a major punch and (in my book) stands up well against anything Woking's finest did thereafter.

One thing that surprised me (either I'd forgotten or never read the lyrics in the first place!) was just how 'political' Weller's lyrics are (at times) here. Of course, Weller (as he later admitted) was rather 'mixed-up' in his political thinking at this point (stating, perhaps in jest, he would be voting Tory at the 'next election' and then writing Eton Rifles two years later!), but on the brilliant Time For Truth he rails against (admittedly Labour-led) authority ('You're just another red balloon with a lot of hot gas'), whilst Bricks And Mortar takes up the cause of the homeless. Boredom with Surrey suburbia is (of course) to the fore on the pulsating album title song and its soulful counterpart Sounds From The Street, whilst Weller is in more perceptive, thoughtful territory (the transitoriness of relationships) on each of I've Changed My Address and the innovative, soul-infused little gem, I Got By In Time.

This debut album also brilliantly captures (thanks to Vic Smith and Chris Parry's raw, vibrant production) the band's live energy - nowhere more so than on album opener, the rebellious Art School ('Don't need permission for everything that you want') and on the superb, pulsating cover of Larry Williams' Slow Down (OK, there is a 'Wilko sound' here). Exuberance continues to be the order of the day on Non-Stop Dancing, Taking My Love and (following The Who's lead) the 'throwaway' Batman Theme. At the other end of the 'songwriting spectrum', though, is a Weller masterpiece, Away From The Numbers, something of a 'personal treatise' of philosophical ambition, on which the man's Rickenbacker sounds truly resplendent, giving rise to a song to rate with Weller's very best.

For me, therefore, although Weller's band was obviously headed in a different direction, this debut sits alongside the debut albums by The Clash, Sex Pistols and The Damned as one of the definitive records from the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A flaming good album!, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The City (MP3 Download)
I'd quite forgotten just what a flaming good album this is. Buy it, and enjoy an energetic trip down Memory Lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps I should change my address?, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: In The City (Audio CD)
A bit corny I know but I attempted to use a few words from the title of one of the songs for this review. Not too sure if it works though, but I supopose my neighbours wish I would after a few airings of this CD played loud! Without much doubt The Jam were one of the tightest bands of the too short punk era, but to this day I feel that they were a little misplaced. Either way there is no shortgage of sheer power even if it is over all too quickly. Before he got distracted Paul Weller wrote some extremely adept and observational songs. Like the Damned's 1st album running time is barely more than 30 minutes. To have seen them live in '77 is still classed as a privilege.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked it then you'll like it now but in cleaned up digital format, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The City (Audio CD)
The time for truth - nothing special, just a good digital version of a 'must have' album.
If you loved the Jam you've probably already got this and if you didn't then you are not going to buy it now.
Worth every penny to re-visit this album and my youth! Its actually even better than I remembered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The City [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Delivery time was long, though kept informed of this
Quality product in excellent condition. It will join the rest of my original Jam albums from the 70-80's framed on my wall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the City - The Jam, 17 April 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen G. Payne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The City (MP3 Download)
A great first album full of passion and no doubt influenced by the Who, in fact they do the Batman theme which the Who also covered years before. Well, everyone has influences and the songs are really racey and make you want to dance and flies the flag for the mod revival aswell as being part of the new wave of bands in 1977. Politicially it was a time of change and speaking your mind. Buy this album !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The City
In The City by The Jam (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews