Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding introduction for new Bowie fans!
This compilation is a definate buy for the new generation of Bowie fans + old alike. This double album contains nearly all of his uk single releases (the better ones) and some album tracks too! I can't fault this album in any way- you definately can listen to it time and time again without tiring of certain tracks. The cd covers everything from Bowie's Major Tom period...
Published on 20 Oct 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good selection, poor sound quality
In terms of the number of singles presented this is a good compilation, but compilations often use poor masters in a poor pressing. This Dutch pressing is splashy and thin. Compared to a UK pressed Ziggy Stardust original it has a very poor overall sound quality and loses much of its musicality. I would probably still buy it for the selection as it was cheap, but please...
Published 1 month ago by phil


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding introduction for new Bowie fans!, 20 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
This compilation is a definate buy for the new generation of Bowie fans + old alike. This double album contains nearly all of his uk single releases (the better ones) and some album tracks too! I can't fault this album in any way- you definately can listen to it time and time again without tiring of certain tracks. The cd covers everything from Bowie's Major Tom period through to the Ziggy Stardust and Thin White Duke phase and all of his 80's hits. I found this album a great inspiration to go and buy the original albums afterwards, but this compilation is definately sufficient enough. Buy it now and get The Video Collection to go with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Inspirational, Genius !!, 28 Jun 2002
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Forget ChangesBowie, this is the best of all the Bowie Compilation CD's. A thorough insight for the fanatical fan like me or the occasional Bowie listener.
It covers most of his best work and I'm so glad to see songs such as "Under Pressure, This Is Not America and Dancing In The Street " which are rare to find on Bowie compilations.
Even my personal favourite "Wild Is The Wind" is on there, a beautiful and melancholy song but I am disappointed that "Loving The Alien" didn't get a look in.
Overall I would recommend this to anyone with musical taste, whether old or new fan alike. Great Music from a Genius.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great introduction to one of the 20th centuries greatest musical geniuses, 25 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
This is a great introduction to one of the 20th centuries greatest musical geniuses- David Bowie.
The first disc contains David Bowie's Greatest Hits from 1969 to 1977 .I apologize to anyone who may say that this or that hit is not included as I know Bowie brought out a lot of other great songs during this period .
But I think it would be fair to say that this album epitomizes David Bowies genius The poetry of the lyrics is brilliant-and the music astronomical .
It begins with that wonderful space fantasy Space Oddity (1969). Remember this was the year that Neil Armstrong became the first man on the moon!
Changes (1972) outlines the strain of rapid change while pointing out its inevitability.
One can only hope change starts to take place in the right direction more often than the wrong direction!
We are then treated to another two extra terrestrial fantasies with the wonderful and sad story Starman (1972) and the funky tunes of Ziggy Stardust (1972) .
The wonderful disco funk of Suffragette City (1976) , and John , I'm Only Dancing (1972).
I just love the following three beautiful ballads: 'Drive In Saturday (1973),'Life on Mars' (1973) which is an incredible indictment of cardboard Hollywood culture and Sorrow (1973). Then there is the smashing hard rock hits: Rebel Rebel (1974), Rock & Roll Suicide (1974), Diamond Dogs (1974) and Knock on Wood (1974) which matches the Rolling Stones at their best. After that Bowie seems to have smoothly mad a slight transition from hard rock to cool funk with Young Americans (1975) (another social commentary), Fame (1975), Golden Years (1975), TVC 15 (1976) and one of my favourite favourites Sound & Vision (1977).

The second CD complements The Singles Collection 1 and consists of David Bowie's biggest hits from 1977 to 1987
It opens with the rhythmic Heroes (1977) which is classic Bowie and continues with the funky Beauty & the Beat (1978) followed by Boys Keep Swinging (1979) and DJ (1979).The haunting melody of The Alabama Song (1980) begins us on a trip with Bowie into the 80's
One of my alltime, favourites is Ashes to Ashes (1980) a type of reminiscence of Bowies career and life up to then with the central theme a major one of the 80's:A wake up to reality and a resolve to turn ones back on the drugs and decadence of the preceding years.
The disco beat of Fashion (1980) contains a powerful social commentary
Then comes Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps) (1981) , the famous and successful collaboration between Bowie and Queen....Under Pressure (1981) and the beautiful melody Wild Is The Wind (1981)
The 80's disco of Lets Dance (1983) ,China Girl(1983) and another favourite of mine Modern Love (1983) shows how Bowie adapted to new eras in music without losing any of his talent
What follows is the superb Blue Jean (1984) ,This Is Not America (1985),the collaboration with Mick Jagger Dancing In The Street (1985) .Absolute Beginners (1986) is a beautiful contemplative song in the style of Wild Is The Wind and Life on Mars? The album is rounded off with Day In Day Out (1987)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics galore, in many styles, 15 Mar 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Although this 2-disc set is not a completely comprehensive collection of Bowie's singles (the novelty UK hit The Laughing Gnome is missing, for example), the album does contain the crème de la crème of his early work, from 1969's Space Oddity to Day-in Day-out from the late 1980s. Disc One covers draws on albums like Ziggy Stardust, Hunky Dory, Aladdin Sane, Pin Ups, Diamond Dogs, Young Americans, Station To Station and Low. The song Wild Is The Wind on the second disc properly belongs here, next to Golden Years.
Disc Two opens with the magnificent and stirring Heroes and includes material from the Lodger, Scary Monsters, Let's Dance and other albums, plus collaborations like Under Pressure, the funk masterpiece with Queen, This is not America with Pat Metheny and Dancing In The Street with Mick Jagger. My other favourites on this disc are Ashes To Ashes, Fashion and Wild Is The Wind, but I find the res somewhat bland.
The first disc is proof that the early Bowie was best, with lots more variety, enthusiasm and versatility. There's everything: from proto-punk in the form of Jean Genie, catchy pop like Space Oddity and Sorrow, powerful rock lke Rebel Rebel and Diamond Dogs, proto-disco like Young Americans and Fame, soulful soft rock like Golden Years and atmospheric electronica like Sound And Vision. This impressive set contains most of the highlights of Bowie's career highlights up to the late 80s. The chronological sequence of the songs make this album particularly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bowie Collection, 22 July 2013
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
I've become heavily obsessed with David Bowie, I've not stopped listening to him for the past 4/5 weeks.

This compilation CD is definitely worth buying, and in my opinion, I think it's the best Bowie collection, it has pretty much all of his most famous hits. I personally prefer his earlier stuff from CD 1, from 1969 to 1973. Songs like Space Oddity, Changes, Starman, Jean Genie, Ziggy Stardust, John, I'm Only Dancing etc. And of course Heroes. Although I'm not mad keen on the stuff he did in the 1980's from CD 2, there is some good stuff, I do like Ashes To Ashes, Dancing In The Street and Absolute Beginners.

For someone, who's maybe just started listening to Bowie, this CD has got everything you need to get you started. And for someone, who's already Bowie fan, and doesn't want all the studio albums and just wants a CD of his most iconic tracks he did throughout the years, I would definitely recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 23 May 2001
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is the greatest 'greatest hits' package of all time, even better than '1'. My only complaint is that we are offered the original edited version of 'Hereos' which doesn't do the song any justice. For an introduction to Bowie's career this will do the job nicely! Sit back and listen to some of the greatest rock/pop music of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Ideal for first-timers or die-hards alike!, 30 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Bowie's hits from 1969 to 1987 are covered on this 2-CD set - as the title states this is a Singles Collection rather than a Best Of so no LP tracks are featured (other than those issued as singles of course). This is really the definitive Bowie hits package (vastly superior to the 1990 ChangesBowie compilation) but it doesn't really represent the full picture. Having said that, to try and represent the best of Bowie's entire career on 2 CD's would prove nigh on impossible. This is a really really good CD to listen to, whether you're a die-hard or new to Bowie. This makes a really sensible first purchase - assuming you like this then I would check out some of the great Bowie albums from the 70s - Ziggy Stardust (of course!), Hunky Dory, Heroes, Low. The 70s was Bowie's finest period agreed but I disagree with fans and critics who felt he went into a coma somewhere around 1980. The 80s tunes represented here, whilst admittedly not Bowie's finest work, demonstrate that Bowie could still cut it (Ashes To Ashes, China Girl, This Is Not America, Absolute Beginners, Under Pressure). This CD really should be part of any decent collection - along with the albums I've listed above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good selection, poor sound quality, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
In terms of the number of singles presented this is a good compilation, but compilations often use poor masters in a poor pressing. This Dutch pressing is splashy and thin. Compared to a UK pressed Ziggy Stardust original it has a very poor overall sound quality and loses much of its musicality. I would probably still buy it for the selection as it was cheap, but please don’t buy it full price or for anything else except convenience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Singles Collection, 20 Sep 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
For me this is still the definitive Bowie collection. On two discs you get 37 songs spanning his career up to 1993. Presented in a chronological way this collection allows you to move with Bowie as he developed his style with experience and trends of the time. With such gems as 'Space Oddity', 'Starman', 'Ashes to Ashes', 'China Girl' and one of my personal favourites 'Modern Love' and more besides, this album has so many outstanding tracks to whet your appetite. Bowie always was and is an innovative artist, with a flair for songwriting and performance and this album is the best place to go for your first introduction to what he has to offer. Superb for those new to Bowie and still invaluable for those who have some of his albums. Highly recommended.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit misleading..but fantastic, 24 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
A fantastic collection..and nice to see them in chronological order but the title is a bit misleading, as the majority of tracks are the album version, some clocking in at around six and a half minutes. This is a shame as there would have been room for a few more tracks others (e.g. Laughing Gnome, etc) if they had just stuck to the single versions.

Gripe aside though, a briliant collection and 9 out of 10, the one star being dropped for the above reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles Collection
The Singles Collection by David Bowie (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews