Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Important page in the history of Camel
Camel is first and foremost a Progressive Rock band having released many superb themed albums. This is not one of them. That said, I do however feel that this album is a must for any dedicated fan of Camel as it forms an important part of Camels history.Some of the tracks have a sort of commercially pop(ish) feel to them particularly, 'Wing and a Prayer', 'Down on the...
Published on 20 Jun 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caramel is sweet
Post-punk Camel is a mixed bag but 1979's "Breathless" is one of their better efforts when it has every reason not to be, with pressure from label Decca to come up with a hit single while keyboardist Peter Bardens worked the sessions in the knowledge he was shortly leaving the band. 'Poppier' and more song-based, it reveals the continued influence of bassist/vocalist...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by Rob Brook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Important page in the history of Camel, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
Camel is first and foremost a Progressive Rock band having released many superb themed albums. This is not one of them. That said, I do however feel that this album is a must for any dedicated fan of Camel as it forms an important part of Camels history.Some of the tracks have a sort of commercially pop(ish) feel to them particularly, 'Wing and a Prayer', 'Down on the Farm', 'You make me smile'. However, these do still retain that familiar Camel feel. On the other hand, 'Echoes', 'Breathless', 'Sleeper', 'Starlight Ride', and my favourite 'Summer Lightning', these are all typical Camel Masterpieces combining superb instrumental sections (Echoes), Andy Latimers ace guitar solos (Summer Lightning is super!), great bass and keyboards, and the heartfelt melodies that are typical of Camel. 'Rainbows End' in its quiet reverie finishes the album off well. I love this album, it's that little bit different, but I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last album with Peter Bardens., 29 Dec 2003
By 
Koloyarski Avraham "Murple" (Tel- aviv) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
This '78 album was the last with founder member Peter Bardens.I read some bad reviews about this album, but when I'd heard it, I very much liked it. There's plenty of beautiful songs like Rainbows' end, Summer lightning, Echoes. The Whole album was made in slight rock-jazzy style ,like Rain Dances.Here you can hear signs of pop, more commercial sounds.But still it's great CAMEL with their unique sound and style.Brethless is great album for everyone who likes music of CAMEL!Try it and you won't be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When it's good, it's very, very good!, 21 Nov 2002
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
'Patchy' is probably the best word to describe this follow-up to 'Rain Dances', with which it has much in common. Among Camel fans, this is probably the album about which opinions are most divided, with some loving it, and others loathing it. The second and last studio album to feature the voice and bass-playing of Richard Sinclair, this was made at an unhappy time for the band, with guitarist Andy Latimer and keyboardist Peter Bardens pulling apart rather than working together, and Bardens left the band before the promotional tour. Taking that into account, it is remarkable how upbeat and happy this album sounds! Certainly more 'poppy' in style than previous releases, there are undoubtedly some weak songs here ('Down on the Farm', written by Richard Sinclair, is pretty awful, and 'Wing and a Prayer' is not much better), but the good stuff is very good indeed. I would particularly single out the beautiful title track, 'Echoes', one of Camel's best songs, ‘The Sleeper' which continues the jazz-rock feel of their previous album, and 'Summer Lightning' (although hated by some for its disco-leanings), which features an Andy Latimer guitar solo of sheer melodic brilliance. If you love early 70s Camel, you probably won't like this at all, but if 'Rain Dances' or 'I can See Your House From Here' are more your style, you will find this very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well I really like it, 8 Mar 2003
By 
C. A. R. Croft (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
I know it's a bit happy compared to the bloody snow goose, but I think it's a cracking album. Especially that guitar solo in Summer Lightning. Up there with Steely Dan, Roy Buchanan, and Year of the Cat. Oh yes, and that guitar solo on the end of Baker Street that's even better than the sax. It's as good as that! Get on your boots and join us...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a superb album,and what dynamic quality!!!!!, 16 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
Ive only just recently got into camel,and this and rain are my first purchases.
I went for these latter albums because from what i'd heard i loved the direction the band were going in.
From the moment i put the cd on and breathless began i knew i was in for a treat.
Then i heard one of the greatest intros ever....echoes, What a start and what a song.
I was in heaven right the way through the album.
One thing which must be bought to attention is the sheer brilliance of the sound quality on this cd,this was made before the loudness war began and you can tell.
Huge dynamic range,superb depth and clarity to each single instrument and vocals which ring out so sweetly it bought a tear to my eye.
Why all new music cannot sound this good is beyond me but i know that this cd in terms of sound is light years ahead of many heavily compressed and loud cds released these days that it makes me yearn for a return to those days.
Anyway enough talk,if you enjoy progressive rock with a jazzy poppy feel then go for it, it's just amazing,i shall definitely be expanding my camel collection.
Just amazing these guys were geniuses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An evolving, but still wondrous Camel, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
Camel had started to lighten their sound with this album. The concept album was beginning to be unfashionable and the band adapted accordingly. This was the middle of 3 albums that moved to a slightly poppier sound, before they returned to the concept album (albeit a lighter version of one) with 'Nude'. In my opinion, all the Camel albums from their eponymous debut to Nude are classics.
'Breathless' is undoubtedly less seamless than it's predecessors; however, there are enough 5 star songs here for me to rate it thus. Breathless, Echoes, Summer Lightning, Sleeper, and Rainbow's End are all wonderful. Starlight Ride and You Make Me Smile are both 4 star tracks, as is Down on the Farm, which is querky and silly, but charming and fun. Wing and a Prayer is the weakest song, but is pleasant enough.
Camel is the only band that I've enjoyed listening to, without interruption, for 28 years. All 8 of their initial studio albums are 4.5 to 5 star material: Breathless is one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caramel is sweet, 6 Jan 2010
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
Post-punk Camel is a mixed bag but 1979's "Breathless" is one of their better efforts when it has every reason not to be, with pressure from label Decca to come up with a hit single while keyboardist Peter Bardens worked the sessions in the knowledge he was shortly leaving the band. 'Poppier' and more song-based, it reveals the continued influence of bassist/vocalist Richard Sinclair, a fellow Canterbury scene mainstay, his time with Hatfield & the North and more pertinently Caravan bears fresh fruit here, notably on the plaintive title track and album opener (with pretty wind instrumentation from Mel Collins) and Sinclair's own whimsically British `Down on the Farm' while guitarist Andrew Latimer, drummer Andy Ward and Bardens' lengthy `Echoes' would have a found a heyday fit on any of their band's former glories. That said, the album drifts in places and the single B side bonus cut of closer `Rainbows End' is superfluous. Sinclair himself would be on the move shortly but for now, as Caramel, all benefitted from this sweet Canterbury coupling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Commercial suicide?, 25 Sep 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
Having built up an audience who enjoyed their lengthy instrumental workouts, Camel proceeded to risk alienating them by coming up with albums of shorter, more mainstream-oriented tracks. "Rain Dances" started this trend but didn't convince me. This album did but I've often wondered why the band thought such an odd mixture would work. Only a couple of tracks, "Echoes" and the long "Sleeper" instrumental, hark back to their earlier work, but even the former is more tightly structured.
Elsewhere, we have straightforward pop, humour, disco and tiny ballads. Yet Camel are meticulous, their technique immaculate and there are some lovely melodies and moods. There's no reason why it shouldn't charm anyone but it's a far cry from their first four albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remastered?, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Dan Glaser "danglase" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
I should start by saying I love this album and everything about it, although it would seem that it's not as highly rated by many fans as some of the others in the Camel canon. I won't bother reviewing the album as such but suffice it to say that for me, Echoes is one of the greatest prog rock tracks ever written. The problem for me is that the sound quality is really no improvement over the original. The booklet is a big improvement however. Am I the only one that feels this way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another interesting Camel offering, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathless (Audio CD)
Despite the unsettling line-up changes and deterioration in the working relationship of Latimer and Bardens, 'Breathless' offers a further dollop of jazzy intrigue that began with their previous LP 'Rain Dances'. This album sees Richard Sinclair's influence spreading in all areas - excellent bass work, lovely vocals and a crazy slice of Caravan style whimsy on 'Down On The Farm. Otherwise, much of the material is mainstream Camel with several superb tracks. 'Echoes' is certainly one of the highlights, 'Summer Lightning' marries Sinclair vocal passages to a searing Latimer guitar solo whilst the jazzy instrumental 'The Sleeper' allows Peter Bardens (who left the group before the band's next tour) to produce another of his classy keyboard solos. Ignore the critics - this is worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

Breathless
Breathless by Camel (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews