Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime album,ignored by everyone including Mr Coverdale
This is a superb album,the best he's done since 'Ready And Willin',the big hair,superstar band all gone,its not an upbeat album,look at the song titles its sadness,sorrow,heartbreak ,regrets,its all there,its probably his most honest album since his first solo disc 'Whitesnake',only Adrian Vandenberg around from the Snake days,that its titled David Coverdale &...
Published on 21 July 2010 by Mr Blackwell

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars give it a go!
Restless Heart has generally received luke warm to poor reviews from most Whitesnake fans and even David Coverdale himself. David's appraisal of the songs contained on Restless Heart in Classic Rock was less than flattering.
But, it's not too bad. I have only listened to this album a couple of times but David's vocals, as usual, are top notch and the...
Published on 7 Feb. 2006 by John Cashion


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime album,ignored by everyone including Mr Coverdale, 21 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
This is a superb album,the best he's done since 'Ready And Willin',the big hair,superstar band all gone,its not an upbeat album,look at the song titles its sadness,sorrow,heartbreak ,regrets,its all there,its probably his most honest album since his first solo disc 'Whitesnake',only Adrian Vandenberg around from the Snake days,that its titled David Coverdale & Whitesnake,leads me to believe he viewed it as a solo album,given that Whitesnake had unravelled,Coverdale/Page never took off and his personal life in tatters,its hardly surprising the man is scathing and doesnt look back with any fondness but its a damn fine album with as another reviewer pointed out 'Chocolate' vocals,indeed i dont believe he ever sung better.

From the opening moments of 'Dont Fade Away' with its plaintive vocal the mood is set and continues through the similarly performed 'All In The Name Of Love',two sorrowful songs with some beautiful female background vocals,certainly the title track rallies slighty to former Whitesnake glories before the fabulous single 'Too Many Tears',a hit it should have been,'Cryin' returns with the fire in the belly strutting of old before 'Stay With Me' a superb cover of tales of woe and an incredible vocal from D.C,taut emotion dripping from the speakers.So it continues 'Cant Go On' another mournful vocal leading into 'Your So Fine' which lifts the mood with a typical Snake extolation of the greatness of women(ie he's after some!),next up is 'Your Precious Love' smooth vocals wringing every ounce of feeling from the listener,should have been a hit in the vein of 'Now Your Gone/Deeper The Love',the album concludes with two excellent songs,'Take Me Back Again' sticking to the overall theme before finishing with a thumping comeback,'Women Trouble Blues',Coverdale rising to the challenge and fighting back with a slice of classic hard rock n blues which could have come from the Coverdale/Page sessions,a stunning end to the disc.

I cant praise this album high enough,if the hair metal is all that you want,then move on this wont be to your liking but if you want a true insight into how great a singer David Coverdale is,then buy this now,simply superb,special mention should also be given to Adrian Vandenberg's performance,understated yes but absolutely what was required(it would never have happened if Vai had still been around),magnificent stuff,chocolate vocals indeed,from a WISPA to another GALAXY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chocolate vocals, 1 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
This is David coverdale back to his bluesy best. Still got a brilliant voice and is in my opinion under-rated as a lyricist. If you are a whitesnake fan or just a blues lover you'll enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to basics final Whitesnake album, 1 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Restless Heart is a curious mix of old and new, a collission of Northwinds, Ready An Willing, 1987 and Coverdale/Page. Produced entirely by david Coverdale the stand out tracks are the soulful Too Many Tears, the pounding title track and the exceptional cover version of Lorraine Ellisons Stay With Me. This track stretches Coverdales voice to the limit, demonstrating his powerful range and ability. The best Whitesnake album since Ready an Willing and a glimpse at Coverdales solo future. If you're a fan of blues based rock with a heavy dose of sole...BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow.......Coverdale still has what it takes, and more., 20 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Having read the reviews of this and other later works by Coverdale and Whitesnake, I decided to buy my first Whitesnake album since 'Saints and Sinners' way back in......! I had forgotten just how powerful and soulful this guy's voice is, and even without some of the old names (Moody, Marsden et al) this album hits the spot.
The range of Coverdale's voice is astounding on 'Stay With Me',whilst the power of the title track and 'You're So Fine' have meant this album has hardly left my cd player in three weeks.
I must buy some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars give it a go!, 7 Feb. 2006
By 
John Cashion (New Norfolk, Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Restless Heart has generally received luke warm to poor reviews from most Whitesnake fans and even David Coverdale himself. David's appraisal of the songs contained on Restless Heart in Classic Rock was less than flattering.
But, it's not too bad. I have only listened to this album a couple of times but David's vocals, as usual, are top notch and the tracks are heartfelt. Give it a go. The song, Restless Heart, really grows on you. The last reviewer described David's voice as "chocolate vocals". Very accurate indeed.
This album is nowhere near as heavy or catchy as 1987/Slip Of The Tongue but is a lot bluesier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff - the snake in the style DC can more than deliver in, 7 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Coverdale in 2010 does not work in the rock sense- Poor lad has done well and gave us some great music but screaming rock songs out now Dave = No not really. However. This is a very good blues rock album the stuff that the snake were very good at upto 1987. Instead of the manhood thumping out to get you stuff we've heard in the 90's from snake DC has concentrated on the more sensitive side of his writing and it works very well. This album seems to be very cheap and the viewer could be tricked to thinking because its a poor album. It is a great album and testament to how good DC vocals and songwriting are when he stays in the genre that now suits his range.
I'll be spinning the early stuff again now based on this.
Well done DC good stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Simply stunning. Great variety, the vocals and music, can't be faulted!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Fantastic Album, I love every song on it.

Great words in any song, David Coverdale always Poetic feeling with his music.

Luca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Any white snake worth their salt should purchase this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heart stopper, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Restless Heart (Audio CD)
Boring - don't buy it if you like Whitesnake with a bit of bite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Restless Heart
Restless Heart by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews