Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best
This is one of the "real" (as in Bon Scott) AC/DC's best. The price is justified alone for the wonderful blues of Ride On, surely the band's finest musical moment. Big Balls and Ain't No Fun just add to the pleasure of a great Rock'n'Roll experience; just a shame that they were never the same after Bon Scott left us. By the way why doesn't "Crabsody in...
Published on 31 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ACDC from the right era
If like me you still hark back to the old days then ACDC rocked in a way unmatched since when Bon Scott was doing his stuff. This is not the best example of Bon and the boys but its interesting and a must have if you want to be a bit geeky and to complete your Bon Scott ACDC collection! Where is that anorak?
Published 13 months ago by Mr S Macey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 31 May 2002
By A Customer
This is one of the "real" (as in Bon Scott) AC/DC's best. The price is justified alone for the wonderful blues of Ride On, surely the band's finest musical moment. Big Balls and Ain't No Fun just add to the pleasure of a great Rock'n'Roll experience; just a shame that they were never the same after Bon Scott left us. By the way why doesn't "Crabsody in Blue" appear on the CD versions of "Let There Be Rock"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would give this 10 stars, 18 Oct 2005
By 
A. Green "design guru" (Cardif UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I care not for those who claim this album is flawed. I have every AC/DC release, have seen them live numerous times, and have loved them for close to 20 odd years. I can say without a shadow of a doubt "Dirty Deeds" is my favorite. I don't care that it's purile (if you listen to AC/DC at all this is something you don't need to be too bothered about), I don't care that it's rough (in fact it more that adds to it's charm), I don't care that it's not quite as good as the Aussie version (R.I.P. is criminally absent on this release). This is the best, bar non, AC/DC album to date. The title track alone is worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC at their best, 8 Aug 2007
By 
J. McNally (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is quintessential AC/DC; simple pounding guitars, raspy vocals and clever lyrics. Dirty Deeds is a snapshot of AC/DC's best work with Bon Scott and it's a wonderful album.

The guitars in this album provide us with some of AC/DC's catchiest tunes. Songs like "Rocker" will stick in your head for days. It amazes me how a band can make such a great song off of what is actually a very very simple guitar riff.

Lyrically, this is some of AC/DC's greatest work. The title track sets the tone of the album, with its story about a guy offering various "dirty deeds" all for "dirt cheap" prices. Songs like "Big Balls" (a self-explanatory title) are just plain hilarious and show Bon Scott at his best as a songwriter; basing the entire song on one big innuendo. I've listened to the song hundreds of times and I still laugh out loud every time I hear it.

All in all, this is quintessential AC/DC. This is how their unique sound evolved and grew into their bigger albums. In a nutshell, it's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic ACDC, 21 Oct 2009
My favourite album of the early Bon Scott ACDC years.

I started to type which tracks were the stand outs but theres not a weak track on this album.
Favourites are Love at first feel, Ride on and Aint no fun...

A must for any ACDC fans collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, 26 July 2003
Well, I've always considered DC to be the best rock band ever. I have had a number of albums, and enjoyed them live but for some reason I missed this album.
BUY IT.
Ok it is 'raw' - none of the clean produced Back in Black (still one of my favourites) but it is fantastic.
Dry, powerful and oozing quality - Bon at his best - as good as his fantastic Highway to Hell.
The band play in an 'older' rock and roll style but the DC drive is there. Angus may not shine through as he does later but that lets the tracks be balanced.
Above all, this just shows what a quality act AC-DC is and is a fitting tribute to Bon Scott - I hope he is down there, beer in one hand, women in another with this playing at full blast in the background.
I am not worthy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from One Of The Best Rock/Metal Bands Ever, 15 Sep 2006
This is a great album. It`s different & yet the same as There debut High Voltage. There`s more of the Rock`n`Roll style playing & there`s some really good tracks here as well. It`s maybe not as instant as High Voltage but its still showing some good moments. "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" is a typical example of AC/DC`s early years. "Love At First Feel" continues the mood with a great singable chorus & a great pounding beat. "Big Balls" has Bons famous sense of humour all over it. You`ll laugh as you singalong to it !

"Rocker" is a very one dimensional number. Full on balls to the wall rocker. "Problem Child" has one of the bands best known riffs. The forunner to Bad Boy Boogie off of there Let There Be Rock Album."Theres Gonna Be Some Rockin" takes the band back to simple style R`n`R playing. "Aint No Fun" is a longer track starting slowly then picking up the pace halfway through. "Ride On" is a great slow tune with a lazy type of feel to it before "Squealer" rounds things of. Again this albums 30 odd years old & sounds better & more fun than any of the modern Metal scene does. If your going to put a few [ & you should do ]AC/DC albums in your collection then this is highly recommended. I`ve owned a copy of this album in one form or another for over 20years & i still pull it out to play it which kinda says it all really doesn`t it ! Go Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge pods., 19 April 2003
It has been said that this sounds more-or-less like every other Ac Dc album. While this is true in terms of style (but when it ain't broke then why...) the album is very much an example of the earlier -Bon Scott-era- incarnation of the band. The guitar sound is that typical simple, bare bones, overdriven valve amp tone. In fact it sounds like it was recorded in a garden shed. Not that it is lacking in sound quality, but the volume really comes over on the recording - a good thing. Massive.
The edges here are left rough - it sounds as if the entire album was recorded in one evening of drunken frivolity, with Bon Scott in playful mood. The live feeling is supported by Angus' soloing which is considerably less arranged than it can be (e.g. on Black in Black).
Every Ac Dc album generally has a couple of peurile numbers. In this case they are 'Big Balls', a finely crafted excuse for a song about having emormous pods "...my balls are always bouncing, to the left and to the right, its my belief that my big balls should be held every night.", and 'Squealer', which is presumably about breaking in a virgin (or something).
'There's Gonna Be Some Rockin...' and (on the Australian release) 'RIP (Rock in Peace)' are breakneck 12-bar R'n'R performed a la Ac Dc, a style that really works well and sums up the album - good, meat-and-potatoes rock and roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars check this even if you already love AC/DC. It's worth, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Guys,
check this even if you already love AC/DC.
It's worth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lesser Bon Scott era album - still got some clsssics, 8 July 2014
By 
Grr "Gumbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a decent album by AC/DC, the second to receive an international release- though not in the states, more on that later - but it is also, in my opinion, the weakest Album featuring Bon Scott.

The reason this album is so well know, disproportionately so against others in the catalogue, is that the label initially refused to release this album in the USA. They only did so as a cash in after BIB became such a monster hit, as a result it was snapped up by fans wanting more. This has led to this album being more revered than many of their better records.

Now, all this said, it is absolutely not a bad album. There are some cracking tracks on this and I do think anyone who has a decent interest in AC/DC need to snap this one up, but not as one of the first purchases.

Track by track:

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap - Rightly considered a classic. Dark, catchy, dangerous and tongue-in-cheek. (10)

Love at First Feel - Solidly okay track, Stripped down bluesy rock (7)

Big Balls - Your reaction to this song depends n your own viewpoint. If you can just let yourself go with the single-entendre nonsense and campery, it's a good chuckle of a track. If not, its base humour at its worst. I should hate it, but I don't. (7)

Rocker - It does what it says on the tin. A rock n' roll song about being a rocker. Dumb, fun and a good 'un. (8)

Problem Child - About as close to social commentary as AC/DC ever got - thankfully! Bon Scott has a great time on this, warning people to stay away cause he's so dangerous. (7)

There's Gonna Be Some Rockin' - More Status Quo than AC/DC in my opinion. It's fine but unspectacular. (6)

Ain't No Fun (Waiting Round To Be A Millionaire) - A great 3 minute rocker, dragged out for twice as long. Becoming deathly dull in the process (5)

Ride On - I like this track, I really do. I don't think Bon Scott sounds genuinely 'Lonely' at all but, heck, I'll go with it. A slow, proper bluesy number. (9)

Squealer - Decent riff but a weaker track that I seem to instantly forget straight after hearing it. (5)

A fine album, worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is at Amazons prices :), 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent album showing the band's lighter side. Lot's of naughtiness & innuendo (some more blatant than others) especially on the track "Big Balls".
Superb stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty Deeds Done Cheap
Dirty Deeds Done Cheap by AC/DC (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews