Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars168
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£9.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 9 April 2005
this is the ac/dc album before the infamous 'back in black' album, but it's better in my opinion. i wasn't all that impressed with 'back in black' because it only really had SOME really good songs. this album has nothing but extremely good songs. this album also has singer bon scott whose vocals suit ac/dc's music alot better than his replacement.
but enough with comparisons
the album starts with the title track - an awesome song that you have to have heard. if you liked that song then you can get a feel for what to expect from the rest of the album (that's not to say it all sounds the same though!). other reviews might point out 'girls got rythm', 'touch too much' and 'shot down in flames' as the highlights. i would agree if not for the fact that this might be ignoring some of the other songs. this is one of those few albums that is, from start to finish, brilliant. 'if you want blood' has a great sing along chorus, 'love hungry man' is a slower track but no less fun, 'get it hot' is short sweet and great fun while 'night prowler' finishes the album with the longest song and some great guitar work. the other tracks though are just as memorable and this whole album sums up the spirit of rock n roll. you probably won't ever hear another album of this genre that beats it.
so if you thought 'back in black' was good, if you like rock music, or if you just like a good fun listen then you should hear this - you won't be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 September 2011
Bon Scott for better or worse lived the life he sang about and sang about the life he lived. Was he the finest front man in rock? If he wasn't, name me someone better! Who else had his bare knuckled sense of fun and sheer gusto? And who else has his vocal presence? - he is that deranged stalker, rejected Lothario or passion crazed idiot that he sings about. And of course, he is not to be tangled with, unless the prospect of hospital food seems appealing. For Bon is a party animal and all he wants is for us to join the party - as long of course as we don't spill his beer or eye up his girlfriend.

Sadly, without Bon, AC/DC lost something of their spark and creatively, for he is undoubtedly an inspired lyricist. Listen to any track on this album and you'll either be chuckling at Bon's amorous musings or wondering should if he should have been getting medical attention for some of his more deranged wailing's. The band are tight- never tighter in fact and the arrangements are as stripped down and rock 'n' roll as could be. The songs for the most part are top notch. There is never a moment when the fun or exhilaration lets up-from the classic opening chords of 'Highway to Hell' to the paranoia inducing intensity of 'Night Prowler', this is one great album. Recommended.

PS: Superb re-mastering and packaging job.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 20 December 2008
This classic album is probably one of AC/DC's most commercial offerings and possibly the most loved. From the hugely popular Highway to Hell to the grungy Night Prowler. Every track is a classic. If I had to pick my 10 favourite albums of all time this would have to be in the top 3. It is by a fair margin the best album AC/DC has ever produced. Bon Scott's voice is at its peak and the whole band just rocks. It's a shame that Bon died so young as he had the finest voice in rock and even to this day I can't think of anyone who comes close. If you only buy one AC/DC album then make it this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 28 May 2009
Highway To Hell is one of the best if not the best album AC/DC have ever done there are no fillers here. For me Bon Scott had a better voice then Brian Johnson and it's a real shame Bon died befor his time. Brian did a excellent job in replacing Bon and AC/DC carried on doing great rock music afterwards. My favourite tracks on this album are Highway To Hell, Walk All Over You, Beating Around The Bush, If You Want Blood ( You've Got It ) and Night Prowler. AC/DC are what I would call the ultimate riff band and every true rock fan should have this cd in their collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 12 August 2004
What an album! You'll need at least a week to recover after hearing this. This was AC/DC's last album with tragic vocalist Bon Scott, who died not long after HTH was released, and this is a reminder of just how great a singer Scottish born Scott was.
The record kicks off with one of the greatest rock songs of all time, Highway to Hell, full of powerful riffing courtesy of the Young brothers. It then launches into classics such as Girls got Rythem, If You Want Blood (You Got It), Touch to Much, Beating around the Bush (which takes its riff from Greenys Oh Well), and the dark, bluesy Night Prowler.
All in all, this a powerful, epic album that will blow you away. Buy it now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2006
Bands have a tendency to start out raw and smarten up the sound as they develop. AC/DC are no different, although the change from "Powerage" to this album isn't so great that you could say they've gone soft. Nevertheless, the guitars are more refined, the lead vocals clearer and backing vocals more prominent. The result is a generally impressive set of songs performed with the usual raunch but a little less of their trademark musical violence. Instead, there are times here when AC/DC sound a bit close to Free and Bad Company for comfort, albeit with more energy, "Get It Hot" being a prime example.

There are plenty of great songs though: the title track, "Girls Got Rhythm", "A Touch Too Much" and "If You Want Blood" being personal favourites, while "Beating Around The Bush" contains some of their old gusto. It's a question of taste of course. If this is the first AC/DC album you hear it sets a different kind of benchmark to the earlier albums. Though just as valid, where the songs aren't as good, "Walk All Over You" for instance, there's no all-out attack to rescue it. An entertaning album, this, but I prefer "Let There Be Rock" and "Powerage".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2004
This Album is one of DC's best.
Bon Scott's voice is very good, and the guitar work from A Young is terrific, especially in "Highway to Hell" one of the best songs of all time.
Other highlights on the CD are "Girls Got Rythm" and "If You Want Blood (You've Got It)."
"Touch Too Much" and "Shot Down In Flames" are also excellent songs.
The other three songs are still good, and if you're looking for a short-vintage example of early AC/DC then "Get It Hot" is your ticket!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 1 November 2005
This album had a big impact on me 25 years ago and I am pleased to say it still does. Although we could argue over one album either side of this, 'Powerage' (1978) or 'Back In Black In Black' (1980) I think this is probably their finest hour. And it was vocalist Bon Scott's finale. He and the band performed 'Touch Too Much' on Top Of The Pops just a few weeks before his untimely death. For while Brian Johnstone was a creditable replacement, particularly on the first two albums after Scott, it is Bon Scott whose tenure as lead vocalist produced thir most ground breaking work. All the way from the superb 'Jailbreak' single (1976) through to this classic album.
The title track was the afficionado's least favourite track at the time I seem to remember but at the end of the day it remains a bona fide AC/DC classic. Lines such as 'I'm on my way to the promised land' are just timeless. He seemed to know that he was destined to take his place in Hell, and he even made it sound as if it was the preferred option! 'Girls Gotta Rhythm' is about the best album track they ever recorded. Sexist lyric, superb vocal and powerhouse rhythm guitars. It has such incredible energy. As does 'Walk Over You', with its incredible build up. Great guitar, bass and drums, with a mean lyric which gave comfort to blighted men everywhere. 'Touch Too Much' is a fine single and 'Beating Around The Bush' is a great closer to Side 1 (vinyl). No messing here. Or should I say No Beating Around the Bush?!
Side 2 (vinyl) opens with perhaps AC/DC's greatest ever moment. 'Shot Down In Flames' needs to be played Loud, it is a Tour de Force and one inevitably wonders on hearing this what the Scott Young Young team might have achieved in another five years. It's not that post Scott AC/DC didn't sound's just the pure majesty of this track which makes one angry. Because unlike with, say Jim Morrison, this vocalist died when he was at the Top of his game. No doubt about that. Maybe he and Satan planned it that way. 'Get It Hot' is the weak link here, more. The next 'If You Want Blood' is quite superb, rarely has the juggernaught guitar of the Young brothers sounded so impulsive and infectious. 'Love Hungry Man' is good although a little too similar to 'Cold Hearted Man' from the previous album. 'Night Prowler' is a creepy closer. Not bad, although not a classic by any means.
But all in all this album contains four or five of their best ever tracks. It seemed at the time: God what can this band do to better this? Unfortunately, fate prevented this original AC/DC line up from producing anything more...for better or for worse. So we have just five albums to remember Bon Scott by. And this album is the album when he and the band were at an absolute peak. Hence Bon Scott will not be remembered for Fading Away. Much as I hate Neil Young's line 'better to burn out than fade away' it seems at least semi-appropriate here. We won't forget you Bon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 19 April 2012
I can't believe nobody has mentioned it yet on these reviews. We all know the album is a classic, brilliant music.
Anybody who has heard the Vinyl or previous 1994 remaster knows that this 2003 remaster sounds terrible! It has way too much treble and there is no slam/punch to the drums and bass. It sounds nothing like how this album sounded when it originally came out on Vinyl. If you love this album and care about good sound quality, do yourself a favour and buy either the 1994 remaster or UK Vinyl. You will see what i mean, this just sounds tinny.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 15 August 2009
To start off this is a fantastic album. Raw, loud and rude it may not be as refined as Back in Black but this is what gives this album its power and strength.
This is arguably ACDC's best. This classic album must be bought by any Rock fan.I LOVE IT!
Best tracks: Highway to Hell , Girls got rythm, Touch too much.
Thanks for reading and keep Rockin and Rollin!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Back In Black
Back In Black by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)

The Razor's Edge
The Razor's Edge by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)

Rock Or Bust
Rock Or Bust by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.