Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value 10cc compilation
At last - an excellent compilation of much of the very best work from one of Britain's most original and innovative pop/rock bands. The crystal clear remastered sound does full justice to the complex and innovative production techniques which, along with their idiosyncratic songwriting, were a hallmark of the band.
For those who only know the band's big hits, there...
Published on 2 Mar. 2001

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite hitting the spot.
The thing with 10cc is that they made great singles and great albums. So a greatest hits should work. Strangely it didn't really. The tracks didn't really flow together and it all seemed a bit disjointed to be honest. 10cc albums always seemed so well crafted and thought through. Each track is in the right place on the individual album. Whilst each track was different in...
Published on 29 Oct. 2010 by T. Marchant


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value 10cc compilation, 2 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
At last - an excellent compilation of much of the very best work from one of Britain's most original and innovative pop/rock bands. The crystal clear remastered sound does full justice to the complex and innovative production techniques which, along with their idiosyncratic songwriting, were a hallmark of the band.
For those who only know the band's big hits, there will be some interesting surprises here, most notably 'One night in Paris', the nearly 9 minute piano-driven epic in which the band sing the parts of numerous fictional Parisienne low-life characters. This was never a single, but is a classic example of 10cc at their best. It is good, and indeed only right, that the full-length album versions of 'I'm not in love' and 'I'm Mandy fly me' are included. And having been unavailable for a long time, the minimalist classic 'Neanderthal man', from the pre-10cc days before Graham Gouldman officially joined, is very welcome.
There are however a few slight disappointments, such as the editing out of the freak-out slide guitar ending of 'Silly love', and the inclusion of the single version of 'Art for art's sake' rather than the full album version with its extended instrumental passages. Although the presence of a rather forgotten minor hit from 1977, the orchestrated ballad 'People in love', is very welcome, it's a shame that the memorable 'Worst band in the world' (the band's unlucky 1974 flop single after a run of hits) is omitted. Perhaps it would have been better to stick just to the group 10cc, rather than including 3 tracks from Godley and Creme, which are of very different character and seem somewhat out of place in this collection. Even Kevin and Lol's excellent first single '3 o'clock in the morning' doesn't appear.
But at least now that most of 10cc's back catalogue from the 70s is available on CD, die-hard fans can get what they want. For everyone else, this is a perfectly adequate collection of the band's best known tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It almost makes me produce my 10cc of you know what!, 25 Aug. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
It's amazing that a band named after the volume of semen that a human male produces in one ejaculation could go on to so much success, especially as bands were still being banned for pretty innocuous things at the time. However it happened, I'm glad it did.
This best of covers the whole career of 10cc and other projects, from the dreadful 'Neanderthal Man' by Hotlegs (why on earth it is on this album I don't know!), through the first real hit, the cod doo-wop of 'Donna', through to the best songs recorded by Godley and Creme.
Their 3 UK number ones are here, amazingly each one with a different member of the band on lead vocals - 'Rubber Bullets' (Lol Creme), 'I'm Not In Love' (Eric Stewart), and 'Dreadlock Holiday' (Graham Gouldman). Also there are all the other hits they had - you just don't realise how many until you listen to this.
In addition you get a couple of album tracks. I wish there were more, but every song here has one of those tunes that sticks in your head after very few listens. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 star album, 8 May 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
Daft, jaunty, emotive but mot mawkish; 10CC were a criminally underrated group in the mid to late 70s. With classic hits such as 'I'm not in Love' and 'Good Morning Judge', they were a great antidote to the glam-rock goons and poe-faced songsmiths of the 70s. This CD is a definitive collection of their best songs and is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality seventies pop rock, 14 Oct. 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
This contains all the essential songs from 10cc whose distinctive and diverse songs gave them plenty of success in Britain and around the world. Some of their song exist in both single and album versions, but this compilation sometimes includes the single versions (as on Art for art's sake) and sometimes the album version (as on I'm Mandy fly me).
Perhaps their most famous song is I'm not in love, a classic love song. On this set, you get the album version. There are many other classics here including Donna, Rubber bullets, Wall Street shuffle, Things we do for love and Dreadlock Holiday, together with a few obscure gems. The compilation is completed by tracks from Godley and Crème (formed after the break-up of 10cc) and Hotlegs (the precursor of 10cc). These tracks have their appeal but are somewhat different in style.
This is a great collection of music by one of the best pop rock groups to emerge from Britain in the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great band, 5 May 2009
By 
M. Waterfield "mandycw2" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
I have been trying to find a 10cc cd for a while now. I haven't listened to their music for a long time since the only stuff of theirs I had was on vinyl and tape.
I really enjoyed this cd and it has some of the best stuff of theirs.
It took me right back to the 70's and early 80's. They are a great band.
I remember all the songs, its definately worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 10cc, 11 April 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
Im not inlove ,is such a classic song and a good assortment of therir other work also , go back in time , or listen for the first time its a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A 'QUALITY' OUTFIT', 13 Mar. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
'10cc' were in my view one of the 'Top' outfits of the 70's era, vocally brilliant,
superb instrumentally, along with some great 'penned' numbers, some of which
would figure in my all-time favourite top 100 tracks of all time if I cared to make
a list.
The group had an impressive string of hits between 1972-1978 which included
eleven 'Top-Ten' hits, three of which topped the pile, those being ..'Rubber Bullets'
'I'm Not In Love' ...and...'Dreadlock Holliday'
'I'm Not in Love' (would almost obviously be one of my all-time top 100) ...along
with...'I'm Mandy Fly Me' (Everybody will have their favourites, those two are mine
from this quality group) ....some of the other memorable tracks on board include..
'Donna' (Their first hit way back in 72') 'The Dean and I' .... 'Life is a Minestrone'
'Art for Art's Sake'....'The Things we do For Love'....'Good Morning Judge' ....and
'The Wall Street Shuffle'
It's always nice to see a complete hit list on a 'Greatest Hits' album.
Great Group......Great memories from the seventies.
(an essential album for collector's of 70's era)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 27 Mar. 2003
This review is from: The Very Best Of 10cc (Audio CD)
Some people debated whether 10cc were pop or rock. It really doesn't matter how you categorise them, but having heard the album today for the first time in a little while, I would say that they were the champions of witty lyrics ... "twopays and threepays" for example.
Just great music from very talented people. As we know, Eric Stewart could sing and play a bit, Lol Cream and Kevin Godley were inventors of the Gizmo and went into producing extremely clever videos ("Reet Petite" and "Age of Confusion" to name but two. As for Graham Gouldman, he was the ace in the hole as the songwriter, who started out writing for the legendary Yardbirds.
Particular favourites of mine are "Under My Thumb" and "Cry", but not a duff song to be seen. All these are all class tracks by a class act - whether rock or pop! Who cares about a category?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great band that need to be re-evaluated, 29 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of 10CC (Audio CD)
I was never very interested in 10cc when i was a kid,it has
only been since 2000 that ive discovered them, so theyre
not really a 70's band for me. I loathe
this way of describing music'60's music 70's music,etc' as if it
belongs to the decade it was made in and stays there.Its pretty obvious that
music that is any good has a life,it can fall asleep and wake up 30 years later
and this usually is the sign its going to be music of quality, beginning its long journey/life.I read a statement in NME(i think or MELODY MAKER )not long ago that
was very insulting to 10cc saying how relevant are they in the noughties,well
i beg to differ very strongly,its simply GREAT
CREATIVE MUSIC!buy this cd because it gives a snapshot of what they are about,
this is mainly the singles but very inventive and hopefully will lead buyers
into checking out the albums!A VERY IMPORTANT AND UNDERATED BAND WHOSE MUSIC IS
WAKING UP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best compilation album ever!!, 18 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of 10cc (Audio CD)
Ten CC were, in my opinion, the greatest group of all time. This compilation album reflects the ease with which they played their instruments and the wonderful sounds they generated. Literally from track one you are transported away to a wondrous place; from the awe inspiring track, "Rubber Bullets" which as a melody hits new heights, to the sombre and melancholic classic, "Dreadlock Holiday". Other high points on this faultless collection of mega-hits include "I'm Mandy, Fly me", which never ceases to confuse and amaze me. "Good Morning Judge" is a sophisticated and scary song which brings back all the memories, reminding me of how good music was in the early eighties. Finally, how can this review be completed without mentioning the wondrous and often slightly misinterpreted classic, "I'm Not In Love". This song still stirs raw feelings in me, and I often cry when it builds to the explosion of emotion at the end. A truly magnificent track that deserves to be immortalised with Gary Numan's "Cars" and Spandau Ballets' "True". Genius.
Raff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of 10CC
The Very Best of 10CC by 10cc (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews