Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A box of treats..., 7 Feb 2007
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
While deft sequencing and above average live production lend the illusion that it's one 'gold' set, this expanded CD reissue of a '70s double LP showcase of the popular pastoral proggers is actually culled from sundry live performances. It's a box of treats - you can't keep down a good song and BJH, which had fine-tuned its road act (simulating the expansive and expensive symphonic soundscapes of the studio to near perfection) wrote plenty. Bonuses in 'The World Goes On', previously-unreleased 'Hymn For The Children' and a truly stonking rendition of 'Medicine Man' complement crown-pleasers including 'Mockingbird', 'Suicide', 'Rock 'n Roll Star', encoring as ever with the lovely 'Hymn'. Couple quality performance to a song catalogue at its peak and share in the rapture a seminal rock act held its audiences at the height of its powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive, 16 Nov 2008
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
One of (if not the best) prog rock band of all time performing live where they were always at their peak. This album comes with everything that is
grand about the Barclays and from the first track on explodes into life. Full of all the emotions and soul stirring compositions that make this band so special. I saw them several times in the late seventies and early eighties and everytime I was left totally stunned. This is by far the best double album to recapture those fantastic memories and be left feeling just as I did then. Pure brilliance from an amazing band. Ten stars if I could, go enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic live album, 13 Mar 2010
By 
D. Mccombe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
Already had the vinyl version and had forgotten how great BJH were. On hearing them recently I decided to buy the CD version with the additional tracks. This has to be one of the greatest live albums recorded without studio overdubs.
Classic BJH songs takes you back to a time when music actually meant hard work and touring rather than X factor style fame.
BJH were a hard working band who had many obstacles thrown in their way yet carried on producing some of the finest melodic progressive tracks ever.
I would regard this as probably one of their finest albums. Not a poor track on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-produced live recordings, 2 Jan 2006
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
This is an album that I have returned to on many occasions, as I feel it represents a 'showcase' for the band. It contains many well-known BJH compositions, that are give a greater 'out of the studio' vitality. Not only is the music appealing, but the texts carry 'weight' through their engagement with real life. All in all, a classy performance by a group of highly competent musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Master Piece of Music - something that made me like music, 23 Dec 2001
By 
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
I am 45 now, some records belong to my past as well as to my present and, I hope to my future. Barclay James Harvest taught me to love music. Live Tapes represents the true contact of their marvelous work with their fans. The songs from this record remind me those years, remind me the struggle of Balclay James Hervest to make the world better for all, specially for the childreen. Much more than earning money and getting famous, Barclay James did what they loved: they play music for the real people, for the world. They will always be remembered by that.
As I began a master piece for all ages, a record that everyone should collect and listen once in a while.
A review from PORTUGAL. A better world for all. Much peace and understanding. Adeus!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live album ever?, 14 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hulme (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
Listen is the key word to this album. Everything that is good about Barclay James Harvest is on this album, Not a bum track. Enuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars note this isnt the expanded version, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
I ordered this thinking it was the expanded version from BJH`s own site.
Sadly it isnt.
The track listing above is accurate, but there is a 2009 issue with more tracks.
Doesnt take away from what is a brilliant album, but be aware before you order that the version from the BJH store has 3 more tracks.

There are two listed on Amazon - make sure to order the remastered version with extra tracks.
The on that I received from an amazon seller was the ancient polydor version in old fashioned twin cd boxes...not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live recording, 28 Dec 2009
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
For fans new and old BJH at their best playing live. Hard to quibble about the track selection which will have most peoples favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Seller, 10 July 2014
By 
Richard Marsden "bronteboy" (Oxenhope, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Tapes (MP3 Download)
Great item. Just as destined. Well packaged and quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Tapes (Audio CD)
Satisfeito
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Tapes
Live Tapes by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews