Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
45
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.69+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2005
I don't know how I missed this band back in the 80's, maybe then my music taste was different (New Order, Dep Mode) but having heard a colleague at work enthuse about this group last month I thought it was worth the money in buying a copy.
Well, i'm glad I did. Each track has a quality not often found on albums these days (Keane aside), it is an ideal album to play in the car on a long journey. There is a certain feel good factor to be had in this album, not dreary electro pop associated with some 80's bands but more of a pop rock anthem theme. Yes, Broken Land is the star track, but all of the songs are worthy items.
The band are not U2 or Simple Minds material, but add this album to your collection. I think you'll be pleased you did. I know I am.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
I've never forgotten how I first heard of this band. In 1985, I was on my way to visit a friend, and had stopped mid-journey in a very rainy Gloucester for lunch. I heard this amazing drum-based track coming out of an independent record shop, and it drew me in. I now know this track to be "Another Silent Day" (from Theodore and Friends). The whole album played, and I stayed in the shop throughout, sheltering from the downpour and utterly captivated. As it finished, I asked for a copy of whatever it was that had just been playing. Three other evident rain-dodgers did the same. A few weeks later, I was at the (then) Hammersmith Odeon to see Tears for Fears... and to my delight, the Adventures were billed as the support (the tickets hadn't specified). By the end of their second number, they had cleared the foyer and filled the auditorium; all those who usually take delight in missing the support act were rushing in to witness this exciting, brilliant assault on our eardrums. TFF were good too that night, but the added surprise of seeing the Adventures made the night really special. I couldn't wait for the next album - The Sea Of Love - and it surpassed my already-high expectations. If you've missed this extraordinary band thus far, buy this. (Loses one star only because I still feel it was a tad over-produced; nevertheless, the songwriting, musicality and utterly gorgeous harmonies are top-notch.)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
Because this is probably the only CD in the music World not to have at least one weak, unchartable track on it.
This is an absolute MUST for every record collection in the land.
Personal favorite is 'Broken Land'.
If you love this and want more of the same try getting hold of 'Theodore and friends'. Another sublime collection of tracks from the same band.
And for something completely different but none-the-less great in it's own right, purchase 'Trading secrets with the moon'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Well, when I sat and listened to this album I was amazed that I knew most of the songs,they must have been hidden in a recess in the back of my mind! I can't believe how brilliant this band are! I was a teenager in the 80's, how come I cannot recall who thus band are? If they were touring I would be going to watch them. This album is absolutely fantastic! You must buy it and play it at least once a week!
Similar sound to Simple Minds, U2 and Talk Talk, amazing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2007
Big into my 80's (most dodgy as you like)tunes as a teenager I really missed out on 'The Adventures' as a young lad. I first heard their music, more by chance, when they were on their way out in the late 80's. I only caught them at the tail end of their success, and mostly after their records and albums had long left the charts. Few groups from that era have stayed with me (now aged 37), but 'The Adventures' have been one of the groups which have stood the test of time. Their best known album called 'Drowning in the Sea of Love' promotes some classic and delivers their most sucessful chart tracks (especially 'One step from Heaven', which is a personal gem of mine) but to be honest the most influencial album for me and the first one I lisented too, was the lesser known album named 'Trading Secrets with the Moon'. To this day this album remains one of my all time most inspirational collection of songs. In my opinion both albums should be a must in any music lovers collection, but if you had to pick one you must trade secrets with the moon. XXX
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2000
THIS ALBUM FOR ME ,SIGNIFIES THE ARRIVAL OF IRISH POP MUSIC ON TO THE WORLD STAGE.PRIOR TO THE ADVENTURES,IRISH MUSIC HAD BEEN ASSOCIATED WITH ROCK MUSIC ( U2,THIN LIZZY) OR THE "RAGGLE TAGGLE" MOVEMENT (HOTHOUSE FLOWERS,WATERBOYS).IRISH POP MUSIC WAS BOOMING ON IT'S OWN SOIL WITH BANDS LIKE "IN TUA NUA","CACTUS WORLD NEWS","LIGHT A BIG FIRE" AND"ASLAN" BUT ALAS INTERNATIONAL STARDOM NEVER BECKONED. "THE SEA OF LOVE" WAS THE FIRST COMMERCIAL SUCCESS FOR AN IRISH POP BAND OUTSIDE OF IRELAND.CLOCKING IN AT 45 MINUTES APPROX IT IS A FINELY CRAFTED MIX OF TRADITIONAL IRISH MELODIES AND EIGHTIES POP MUSIC.SONGS LIKE "DROWNING IN THE SEA OF LOVE" AND "ONE STEP FROM HEAVEN" (BOTH SINGLES) ARE GOOD EXAMPLES OF THE NEW DIRECTIONS BEING TAKEN BY IRSH MUSIC.NOT FORGETTING THE CLASSIC ANTHEM "BROKEN LAND",(THEIR BIGGEST HIT) WHICH ADDRESSES THE POLITICAL SITUATION IN THEIR NORTHERN HOME.A TRULLY GREAT ALBUM WHCH SHOULD HAVE MADE "THE ADVENTURES", IRELANDS POP KINGS AND FOR A WHILE, THEY WERE.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2002
I just recently acquired this CD,what a revelation.It has never been off my CD player,it starts off with the 2 hit singles,after that it gets better,track 4,the trip to bountiful,is superb,female choir vocals,then Terry Sharpes lead vocals,with a fantastic guitar solo from Pat Gribben.Track 6,Hold me now is also highly recommended.If you enjoy the feel and style of U2 and Simple Minds,you will definitely enjoy this.There is talk of a best of Adventures coming out,I can't wait
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2000
This was the Adventures most commercial album. Pop with some folk roots before folk roots was trendy ie pre-Corrs and Beth Orton. However their best stuff is to be found on Theodore and Friends and Trading Secrets, two amazing pop albums.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2007
I discovered The Adventures in the 80's and bought this album on cassette and absolutely loved it. Amongst so much throwaway pop of the 80's, The Adventures stood out a mile for their huge talent and amazing melodies. I have no idea what happened to them but they fully deserved to be hugely successful. This album is one brilliant, sparkling song after another, from beginning to end. Unlike so many albums, there are no mediocre songs which you might skip to get to a better one .. all the songs on here are as good as the next one. What also makes this album stand out is the brilliant musicianship, the soaring vocals and the craftsmanship of every song. The songs are all classics which it would be impossible to get bored of. It really is a breathtaking album, full of beautiful songs, and I can't recommend it highly enough. This album, and group, are way off the Star-Ometer and deserve a hell of a lot more than 5 stars!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2003
I remember the first time that I heard the Adventures; they were supporting Fleetwood Mac at Wembley Arena in 1987 (I think), and the lead singer (who I now know was Terry Sharpe) came on stage and said "You'd better stay here and listen to us, because we're f***ing great". And off they went. And they were.
I bought a cassette copy of this album as I left the Arena, and as I commuted up and down to London for the next few months, this was the tape that was always in my Walkman; I wore out two copies!
Every track is magic; uplifting, soaring, but also heart-rending. Now I own it on CD, and it often accompanies me on long car journeys, and still gives me goose-bumps. It seems Terry was right; this really is f***ing great......
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£23.75

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)