Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply one of the greatest metal albums ever!
This album was the last of the great five maiden albums before the more suicidal albums like "No Prayer for the dying" and "Virtual XI". Thankfully before the transtition to poor albums they ended their eighties existence with their best album to date! This album was a concept album based on an ancient legend about "the seventh son of a seventh...
Published on 14 Oct 2001 by Peter M.

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Great
This isn't a review of seventh son the album as plenty of praise has been heaped on it and indeed all of Maidens 80's output over the years,and rightly so,they're in a league of their own.This is about the 2012/2013 gatefold picture discs as stand alone items.

I didn't "need" these,is what i tried to tell myself.Being a fan of the band for over 25 years,I had...
Published 19 months ago by L. Murray


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply one of the greatest metal albums ever!, 14 Oct 2001
This album was the last of the great five maiden albums before the more suicidal albums like "No Prayer for the dying" and "Virtual XI". Thankfully before the transtition to poor albums they ended their eighties existence with their best album to date! This album was a concept album based on an ancient legend about "the seventh son of a seventh son" and the songs were reflections on the legend. Talking about whether the child would use his psychic powers for the good of others and to aid healing, or whether he would use them for his own ends which could be evil. A cool idea for an album by all means and proved a good base for what was to become a memorable album. Here is my song by song breakdown: -
Track 1) - Moonchild
This track is quite fast paced and seems like a good opener to the album, not a classic track but certainly not weak!
rating - 8/10
Track 2) - Infinite dreams
This track is one of the four singles that was released from it and it is obvious why. The song is very melodic and quite slow in places, however the lyrics talking about visions of past, present and future do grab you and all in all is a worthy song.
Rating - 9/10
Track 3) - Can I play with madness?
This song is the one song on the album that doesn't fit the style of music. While the others are dark, grim and philosophical. This song is fast, upbeat and insane! However that isn't a fault and the fact it charted at number three backs that theory up.
Rating - 9/10
Track 4) - The evil that men do
This is one of Maiden's strongest ever songs. It has flash guitar, great vocals, fantastic lyrics and mass appeal. What is good about this song is the level of variation contained within it, at the start it is very slow solo guitar then later comes out all guns blazing. A storming track.
Rating - 10/10
Track 5) - Seventh son of a seventh son
The title track of the album and one that is not easily forgotten! This song is one of their epics lasting roughly 9 and a half minutes! The pace is also scattered from slow to quick. The lyrics seem to be talking about the main point of the album, the child becoming good or evil. Backing up this point is the chilling verse where Bruce Dickinson slowly talks out the prophecy. This song may well be long but do not hold that against it, this is proper metal and the best song on the album.
Rating - 10/10
Track 6) - The prophecy
This song is this albums weakest link. It is a very slow song and while it argues a good point about a person faking a claim to be the seventh son and abusing it it is let down by weak guitar and quite poor vocals. The song isn't bad, it just sticks out on this album!
Rating - 7/10
Track 7) - The clairvoyant
This track another strong song. What appeals about this song is the awesome use of the keyboards! Odd for a heavy metal outfit to use as music keyboard on a song like this but then again if it comes out like this do not complain! The lyrics talk of how the clairvoyant can predict anything except his own downfall. Powerful lyrics backed by powerful vocals and strong instruments. A very worthy song.
Rating - 9/10
Track 8) - Only the good die young
This song is very remniscent of the first song "moonchild" (the use of the opening verse proves this!). However unlike its opening counterpart this song is heavier and focuses more on the music than the vocals. It is a good song and the quote at the end of the song gives it a very continuous feel to it. Quite clever and a good way to close and awesome album.
Rating 9/10
So there you have it the album broken down so you can understand it. Be warned this is like "Somewhere in time" for how it fits in previous albums, this is not their heaviest album and therefore people may find it hardest to get into. However stick with it and you should have this is in your music player alot throughout your lifetime. I thorughly recommend it and having heard all of the albums I can safely say it is their best, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Great, 3 Mar 2013
By 
L. Murray "H.M.P." (Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't a review of seventh son the album as plenty of praise has been heaped on it and indeed all of Maidens 80's output over the years,and rightly so,they're in a league of their own.This is about the 2012/2013 gatefold picture discs as stand alone items.

I didn't "need" these,is what i tried to tell myself.Being a fan of the band for over 25 years,I had several copies of each album already,so i hemmed and hawed about getting them and missed out on getting the box.But as those of us of a certain age know, all logic tends to go out the window where Iron Maiden are concerned and browsing through my local record store a short time later, I saw the piece of mind disc calling to me,so I bought it, just to see what they were like, and BOOM I was reeled in,had to get the rest!

On a positive note,and there are a good few to be found here,namely the richer colour of the sublime album artwork,the gate fold with band pics inside,some new,some slight variations on what we've seen before,all excellent.Then there's the discs themselves...Derek Riggs genius brought to life on a glossy heavy duty vinyl, speaks for itself really,lovely stuff,visually you can't fault 'em.

Admittedly I've always been a sucker for a picture disc,despite the often inferior sound quality,and it's with the sound and quality of the pressing that sadly we have to knock off a few points.
As anyone who's been around vinyl will attest to picture discs are a hit and miss affair.I have some that sound pretty good and some that are unplayable they're that poor.These Maiden ones sound ok to me as it goes,some might even say good, again considering they're pic discs,and i'd have been more than happy with them if it weren't for the fact that on certain tracks on certain albums there are skips.Skips are what put a stick in the spokes here for me,we're not talking about alot, but for brand new vinyl, one is one too many in my book and i have to admit it's a letdown.Just to reiterate, these weren't bought to be played really,but it's nice to have the choice,and know that if you decided to play them, that they'd play through ok.Sadly this ain't the case here,and in 2013 as legit Maiden releases it should be.To wind it up,Make your own choice folks,most of the diehards have them already anyway.For those in two minds i'd say,awesome to look at,should have been better on the turntable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's finest!, 1 Jun 2004
Slated by fans and critics alike for using keyboards on the record, this album proved that Iron Maiden did exactly what they wanted. For a band at their commercial peak no fan expected what amounted to a heavy prog' rock album. Swirling keyboards on the title track to the accapella harmonies on "Can I Play With Madness" this lp has them all. Adrian Smith's lead guitar is outstanding on what was to be his (temporarily) swansong recording with the band. Quite simply the best Iron Maiden Studio album. It came out in 1988 - buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece slaughtered by the "loudness war", 2 Sep 2008
By 
Pedro Corbett (Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All Iron Maiden albums from "The Number Of The Beast" to "Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son" are absolute classics and timeless masterpieces. I grew up listening to these records, and I know every lyric, every pause, every guitar tone and every tempo change by heart. So, more than sad, I'm really angry to have to say that all the "enhanced" 1998 releases are complete sonic disasters, "loudness war" productions with the audio dynamic range slaughtered by whoever was responsible for doing the remastering. It seems that the idea was to turn all the way up the sound of every single instrument and vocal line with no regard to the equilibrium between them within the music's context. I almost cried in anger when I heard those guitar chords at the start of the song "Moonchild", with the originally carefully distorted tone turned into a mass of just plain annoying, pointless distortion, and all the feeling lost.

Every time I get to write about a dear album destroyed by a "loudness war" remaster, I ask people to go to a search engine like Google and look up the expression (between quotes for an exact match). There are over 47,000 results for it on Google alone. The "loudness war" refers to a trend which started in the late nineties in the music industry to record CD's at increasingly higher volume levels, in an attempt to lure buyers into believing that they were getting a better product because it's a "remaster" and it sounds louder. What happens most of the time is the exact opposite - masterpieces like this album are sonically cannibalized, and often (although not the case here) the audio volume is pushed beyond the limits of the CD format's specitications, which causes parts of the sound to get "clipped" (cut off, lost) because they don't "fit" within the available range. I specially recommend that people at least read an online article called "The Death Of Dynamic Range" and watch to a very popular video available on YouTube called "The Loudness War", both of which explain in an easily understandable way what this thing is all about. Things have reached such an extreme point that you can find people on P2P networks sharing lossless files with digitized versions of the original vinyl recordings of entire discographies of seminal bands like Iron Maiden because the CD's currently available are just unbearable to listen to.

As always, it's hard to tell if the band had any say in these releases, but anyway, they are an unacceptable insult to the band's musical legacy and their fans. If you want to hear Iron Maiden closer to how the original records used to sound, look for the first "non-remastered-nor-enhanced" CD releases of their albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden at their best, 4 Aug 2003
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh So (Audio CD)
This album is sheer class and it's no wonder Maiden released more singles off this than any other album. Can I Play With Madness, The Evil That Men Do, The Clairvoyant and a live version of Infinite Dreams were all released as singles and they all hit the Top 10. The album itself was no.1. Crrucial to this success is that it's a concept album. Play the 8 songs in order and they tell a story. This meant that no songs were fillers, as they all had a part to play and weren't added in to fill 5 minutes. Despite this, the songs can be listened to on their own and still sound great, they don't have to be part of the main album, especially the singles. My favourite tracks are the singles, but Moonchild and the title track are great too. Even my least favourite tracks are still great. I recommend this album to all Maiden fans. This is their best album, and should be one of the first you get. To anybody who is interested in Maiden but doesn't have any of their albums, i would recommend buying the Number of the Beast then this. After that you'll want them all I'm sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am he, the bornless one, the fallen angel watching you!, 14 April 2003
"Seventh Son..." soars above the rest. The story-telling quality of the songs is vast, as the whole 'concept' album tells the epic story of the Seventh Son of a Seventh Son, which is considered in many cultures to bring good luck and prophetic vision. It's not as though you need to hear the whole album to like it though; each song is a masterpiece of epic heavy metal, as illustrated by the 4 hit singles released from it. The introduction of keyboards is another development from the synthesisers first used on "Somewhere in Time", and add a great depth to songs like "Infinite Dreams" and the 10 minute long title track. The whole album is about 45 minutes, which is about as long as most of the 80s Maiden albums. The artwork is stunning, with a sleeve only beaten so far by "Live After Death".
The minstrel verses close the album the same way it starts. Only one thing to do then... push the repeat button!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden hit top gear, 9 Aug 2007
There are plenty to choose from, but this is a strong contender for the accolade of Best Iron Maiden Album. At first glance, occult-influenced lyrics may seem a somewhat unimaginative step for a metal band, but the stories told in this selection of tracks are better than most bands can dream of. Nor is this the only Maiden release to dabble in synths, but it is definitely the album in which they are deployed to greatest effect, adding something to the tracks without overwhelming them. In other ways, of course, it's business as usual, with that unmistakeable guitar sound and Dickinson's soaring vocals. It is difficult to pick stand-out tracks - this album is definitely designed to be listened to in its entirety - but if forced to choose, opening track Moonchild is a perfect example of how to grab the listener's attention and make them want to persevere with all ten tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece!, 2 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This album is fantastic! Killer guitar riffs, excellent vocals, and Epic songs all make up the classic Maiden Album! 'Seventh Son' is, in my opinion, among the best four Maiden albums!
The album opens up with 'Moonchild'. Perhaps one of Maidens heaviest tracks, Moonchild is just brilliant! 'The best song, in my opinion, on the album is 'The Evil That Men Do'. This song is a soppy love song turned hard, uncomprimising, and Wicked! I think that this song alone is one of Maiden's all time greats! The album is based on an ancient myth about the Seventh Son of a Seventh Son beingone of the luckiest blokes on earth!
This album gels together and just works better than any past Maiden album! Unfortunately this was to mark the end of an era with Adrian Smith leaving shortly after the completion of the album! But he's back now together with Janick Gers (the man who replaced him) and Dave Murray on the latest masterpiece 'Brave New World'!
Album Highlights are: 'The Evil That Men Do', 'Moonchild', 'Only The Good Die Young', 'The Clairvoyant' and the epic title track 'Seventh Son of a Seventh Son'!
This album is a definate buy if you want a hard rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Maidens Best., 14 Oct 2006
This is beyond any doubt one of Maidens finest moments. The band utilies`s keyboards well here, they enhance not overide the music. The playing here is spot on by all band members. There`s plenty of those twin rythm riffs & leads here, giving that distinct Maiden trademark sound.

The first 4 tracks here are simply brilliant. [Moonchild, Infinite Dreams, Can I Play With Madness, & The Evil That Men Do ] As has been said "Moonchild" is a great opener that`ll have you walking away singing the chorus for weeks afterward. In fact its not untill track 5, "7th Son...." that maiden start to employe more intricate passages & Mood changes. "Clairvoyant" & "Only The Good Die Young" close this fine album. At a touch under a fiver how can you go wrong ? This is a fantastic Metal album, making the likes of Korn, Soad, Slipknot etc look woefully inferior. Buy Now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Energetic but a bit of a mish-mash in places, 15 May 2012
I always found this album to be Iron Maiden’s: “They’ve gone crazy and done different things” sort of album. It’s not really all that experimental, nor is it a huge departure from earlier works of theirs in the 1980’s. It is very synth/keyboard heavy, and the introduction of this instrument yielded quite an atmospheric deviation in the bands music. I always felt the synthesisers gave this album an almost hazy/dreamy kind of a feel.

The guitar work is top notch. There are a lot of crazy solos and lead passages, and the shred work that ensues in the title track is worthy of note. There are some smoking riffs scattered here and there, namely “Moonchild” and “The evil that men do”. Riff-wise there isn’t any particular punchy hooks from the previous albums, the guitars tend to sweep and gallop, light and crisp speed riffing weaves and meanders through the intervals and choruses. “The prophecy” has quite a infectious vocal line over the chorus, Bruce using his siren-like vocal abilities to proficient standards.

Just off the bat, I feel (in my opinion) the real crackers are “Infinite dreams”, “Moonchild”, “Can I play with madness” and my favourite track “Only the good die young”. The latter mixes speeding guitars and the eery synthesisers, creating an almost out-of-sorts and downcast mood, mixed with a sense of nostalgia and scattered hope. A great coda for the album.

Overall I feel the album worked in the bands favour, and while I may be one of the few, I wouldn’t mind if Iron Maiden used keyboards or electronic equipment again. Some say it makes the album sound dated to a degree. I guess that is down for the listener to decide, that’s a matter of opinion...but what is a matter of fact was the 80’s were drawing to a close, bands like Guns N Roses and Bon Jovi were putting sleaze and joy back into rock, instead of darkness and dungeons. Electronic experimentation with keyboards and synthesisers were not new to rock as a whole, but it was certainly a first for Iron Maiden, and still the most debated focal point of the entire album. Times were changing, and with the so called New Wave Of British Heavy metal having ended, Iron Maiden were taking risks and possibly trying to put themselves in good stead ready for the next decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seventh Son of a Seventh So
Seventh Son of a Seventh So by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews