Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, aggressive, organic, simple: unique
For me, no-one before or since has unleashed the force of analogue synthesizers quite so effectively as Numan. On "The Pleasure Principle" Numan deploys them very aggressively, but at the same time combines this force exquisitely with "real" drums, bass, piano and melancholic melodies to produce what is actually a very organic soundscape. The simplicity of the...
Published on 2 Feb 2006

versus
8 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the Pain Principle
In the mighty history of rock music and all its joys and glories, there has never been any-one as completely out of touch and hapless as Gary Numan.
Fat and futile, Numan represents in a single human form, everything that's wrong, and ever has been wrong, with popular music. Clunk-headed and entirely cretinous (whether crashing his plane in India and getting arrested...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by Paul Ess.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The machines rock, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Having set a dark, broody yet musical tone with Tubeway army & 'Replicas' Mr. Webb goes it alone for the 1st time and produces his finest work. Stripped of absolutely anything superfluous and with the paranoia turned up to 11 'The pleasure principle' still stuns, entertains and repays repeated listening. It may be that 'Cars' is the only track you recognize but amongst this company even that classic single is not the best on offer here. For someone who's signature was to be his voice it was a brave move to open his first solo effort with an instrumental but 'Airlane' sets the tone nicely. Track 2 'Metal' is my favourite of all Numan's work. A relentless electrobeat insinuates it's way into your brain as the already used theme of the non-human's wish to feel & live is straight from sci-fi guru Cordwainer Smith's legendary short story 'Scanners live in vain'. The tone builds to a final crescendo and nearly 30 years later still sounds like a cry from the future.
Other highlights include the huge 'Films' who's massive surge of white noise even outdoes 'cars'. 'Conversation' continues the bleak theme of alienation started in 'Replicas' and echoes the insecurity & slide into insanity sung about in 'complex'. In truth there is little here to criticize and although an easy target for the crowd of critics at the time Numans influence is now both recognized and appreciated. The odd thing is that 'the pleasure principle' both launched him and forever damned him. With 'cars' being such a big hit it set him up as yet another pop peddler but his his refusal to join the mainstream confused then angered the critics who simply slated everything he released thereafter.
Those with a mind of their own however and who too feel the not-quite belonging Numan sings of recognise not only this albums importance but continue to enjoy it for the class piece of music making that it is.
This comes with some extra tracks which is nice but frankly detracts from the austere atmosphere created.
Numan still refuses to sit still and both live & in his releases he's pushing boundaries but this is his magnum opus as wave after wave of analogue synth. transport the listener to a bleak and fearful future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHEN THE MACHINES ROCK !!!!!!, 28 May 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pleasure Principle (Audio CD)
My least favourite of the first 4 albums but a great listen nonetheless.

This album is very acomplished from a musical standpoint retaining the minimalism but lacking the agression of the 1st two (maybe it?s the total lack of guitars in it) .Anyway,some of the keyboards are distorted through guitar pedals and this creates a very unusual effect for that time.

The bonus tracks are 3 nice but somewhat pointless instrumentals and 4 live tracks from the LO79 live album (which any fan owns) that serve the purpose of teasing newcomers into buying that CD and nothing else.The remastered sound is GORGEOUS and a far cry from that of the lp and even the early CD versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Electric..., 3 Mar 2005
By 
DBT "dt" (God's Own County) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
I first bought this album, horror of horrors, in 1979, was blown away, pouted, glared and eventually ended up being made of glass. It was with intrepidation that I rebought it - due partly to the dirth of decent music around these days - it's not always wise going backwards...
But this. It sounds as fantastic as ever. Ignore Q who ignored Numan in their latest trite series of lists, this is electronic music at its best being what electronic music should be - cold, alienating, compelling. And it hasn't aged, it still sounds fresh and exciting, cinematic, insistent, instant, clear.
Historically, I can understandand his downfall. After the similarly inspirational 'Telekon', his misdirected forays into the funk/dance/mishmash of 'I, Assassin' etc. tarnished his mirrors and it is only recently with 'Pure' that he is reaping what he has sown. If you only buy one Numan album, make it this one, you won't regret it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer listening pleasure, 12 Oct 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
The music is sparser and colder on this follow-up to Replicas, but still melodic and engaging. My favorites include the lovely Airplane - one of his best instrumentals, the catchy Cars (perhaps influenced by Bowie's Low album?) and the gripping Complex, as well as the live version of Me, I Disconnect From You. His live version of the classic On Broadway is interesting indeed! Numan took the sound of Kraftwerk, Bowie and Synth-Disco and created something unique, a legacy that has improved with age. It's a pity that his work is relatively obscure, especially these brilliant early albums. It gets that fifth star because of the 7 added tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most important album of the late 1970s, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
This is probably the most influential album after Kraftwerk's Autobahn. Would hip-hop and such like have existed today in their present form without this album. It proved a pop album could be produced without guitars. Anyone who's into techo or hip-hop should have this just for the bassline on 'Films' alone. It's a must for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brings back very happy memories!!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
G. J. Lancaster "Gerry L" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Ive still got the vinyl version somewhere, but this is so more detail and good sound quality.
After reading his biography it meant so much more to me.

He is the same age as me, and lived very near to me when me.he was young!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
I already have this on vinyl and have tried everywhere to get it on CD. Excellent quality, I am most impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at work, 22 Jan 2014
Buy this album

This was released when synths were the new thing and although they are commonplace now this cd should give a new slant and still sound fresh. I play the demos more than the actual cd now

Quick word about the couple of one star reviews ( why review a piece of music that's 35 years old that you know you hate?) if you click on their other reviews one is a Rick Asley fan the other seems to like Alisha Dickson. You like your music and I'll like mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Of The Best Electronic Albums Ever., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle (Audio CD)
The Pleasure Principle gets the 30th Anniversary treatment, and what a great job they have done with a fantastic album, this version is now a double CD that has been remastered and sounds great, Disc 2 is a demo version of the album which gives it a different touch, also you get 7 bonus tracks 5 of which are instrumentals, plus the inside booklet is now full of new and original pictures,for those of you out there that manly only know Gary Numan for his number 1 hit Cars then buy this album and this version you won't be disappointed, electronic music at it's best, for big time fans there's not much to say that hasn't been said already over the years but i'll say it again absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Lost mine recently (Think the missus threw them in the bin...haha..) But Great to have it back again.. A cracker of an album..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks
The Pleasure Principle + 7 Bonus Tracks by Gary Numan (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews