Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2000
The Charlatans exploded into the UK music scene near the death throes of the "baggy" scene with this excellent debut album. Although not everybody's cup of tea this album contains the classic "The Only One I Know" as well as the fantastic "Then" and "Sproston Green". The dark and addictive bass line of "Flower" is yet another excellent track, along with the strange Hammond influenced tracks of "polar bear", "Believe you me" and the racier "White shirt". Worth buying for the classics alone, you may also find these "baggy" tracks equally enjoyable.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2001
The Charlatans as heard on this, their debut album, are a different proposition from the Charlatans of 'Tellin' Stories' fame. Along with 'the Stone Roses' and 'Pills 'N' Thrills and Bellyaches', this album epitomises the Madchester scene of the early nineties. And, although it does not flow with the same genius as the Roses' album, or reverberate with the raw energy of the Mondays', it is a very good album. 'The only one I know' is a classic, and the album would be worth buying for that song alone. However, there is more to this album than just one song. It is impossible to sit still to tracks like 'you're not very well' and 'white shirt' - they have a real vibe about them. Although the album lulls very slightly in the middle, if there is a better ending to an album than the fantastic 'Sproston Green' I am yet to hear it. It is a good enough song for the band to have finished their live shows with it, even after 'Tellin' Stories'. Not an album that defines its era, as 'The Stone Roses' does, but still an album packed with good tunes, and sprinkled with a couple of great ones.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
This is definitely one of the albums you definitely must own if you are or were in to Madchester music of the late 80's, early 90's. One of the best songs of the era, 'The Only One I Know' is on there along with some excellent psychedelic tracks like 'Opportunity', 'Flower' & '109 Pt2' (Pt1 is on the b side to 'The Only One I Know' single). If you like Stone Roses, Inspiral Carpets then this is a must have. I especially love the Hammond Organ sound, which I think The Charlatans miss in some of their later albums, due to the untimely death of keyboard player, Rob Collins, in 1996.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 January 2015
Wonderful album, and my personal best song is 'Opportunity' brings back great memories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2009
There is something very euphoric about this album and takes me back to the sound of the sixties. Perhaps it is the use of the keyboards.
I first bought it twenty years ago on cassette and enjoyed it then. I have long since done away with the cassette players but the cassette remains unused in a box.
It was time to repeat the performance on CD and I did not regret it.
Was the vocalist not a son of Mick Jaggar? Perhaps I am wrong, but there was something that ilk about one of the band anyway.
Nice album - I love it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Classic debut album, brings back some great memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
being new to the band. see in them on tv music show. doing an acoustic set. i brought cd on inpulse. and oh boy was i surprized. this is well worth buying for anybody new to the band. well ths or melting pot.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
It was a good purchase and came as described. It came within the delivery estimate. I am really pleased with my purchase. I would certainly buy from the same seller again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Here 60s psychedelia returned with a vengeance in the early 90s, combined with the manic rhythms of dancefloor grooving. A times, the sound resembles that of Pink Floyd, as on Opportunity where the persistent drum and Rob Collins' groovy organ build to a cresendo overlapped by harsh electric guitar riffs. Then there's Then, an electronic cornucopia with a raving rhythm. Best of all is Believe You Me, a glide-and-fly-with-me rhythm that showcases frontman Tim Burgess' unique, tranquil and soothing vocals. Some Friendly follows the rave-on trend of the early nineties but brims with originality.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Great collection of songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)