Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is 2000 Leaves going to be this year's lp?
I disagree w/ the other reviewer, this is a very enjoyable album, I played it yesterday, it is sort of quiet-ish generally, except The Ineffable Me which is Kim being hardcore as per usual. I got to see them live on that tour, it was good although they concentrated mostly on ATL & only about 3 songs from the rest of their career which a lot of the audience didn't...
Published on 3 April 2000

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good effort
not the best album i have ever heard from sonic youth but a good effort all the same.its probably hard to hit form every time,especially when you've released albums like daydream nation,goo,dirt,experimental jet set,but like washing machine its a grower and i find the more its on the more i like it.not bad for a group of 40 somethings.i hope i'm half as cool at that age.
Published on 9 Dec 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is 2000 Leaves going to be this year's lp?, 3 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves (Audio CD)
I disagree w/ the other reviewer, this is a very enjoyable album, I played it yesterday, it is sort of quiet-ish generally, except The Ineffable Me which is Kim being hardcore as per usual. I got to see them live on that tour, it was good although they concentrated mostly on ATL & only about 3 songs from the rest of their career which a lot of the audience didn't appreciate but it was fine w/ me. Wildflower Soul & Hits of Sunshine are or should be anthems. Heather Angel, the last track is particularly stunning. Lee's 2 tunes here are sort of a lot less powerful than what he's done before but nice. Goes well w/ Washing Machine, SYR1-2. I hope it's not their last great album [SYR4 isn't worthy of the worship they usually create from their fans]....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF MY FAV SONIC ALBUMS, 5 Nov 2002
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves (Audio CD)
Well it's gotta be one of my fav sonic youth albums,its up there with daydream nation and nyc ghosts and flowers.It's a grower though,the more you play it the more it grows on you,It has beauty - sunday and a few really art'y tracks like Hoarfrost,hits of sunshine,Snare girl,and that great Heather angle.I think all those song were inspired to write the follow up album nyc ghost's and flowers.But then there is noise to - Female mechanic now on duty,My fav song FRENCH TICKLER,And that really weird/Kool song the ineffable me.
Overall a great album witch has a touch of everything.
ENDLESS LISTENING,
MORE GREAT MUSIC FROM THE MOST INFLUENCIAL AVANT GARDE/NOISE/UNDERGROUND BAND IN THE WORLD..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great alternative record, 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves [VINYL] (Vinyl)
"A Thousand Leaves" is unbelievably Sonic Youth's fourteenth album and is as brilliant as their previous work, generally the album has a very hard sound, (with the beautiful ballads "Snare Girl" and "Hoarfrost", being notable exceptions) as is highlighted on all the tracks, generally the tracks are very long and guitar based such as the eleven minute epic "Hits Of Sunshine" a tribute to poet Allen Ginsburg, the undoubted highlight of the album is the track "Sunday" which starts off as a slow atmospheric rock song but builds into a cacophony of noise. The album is really a cacophony of noise and the band throw together many different sounds to achieve this. Other highlights this great album include the tracks "Female Mechanic Now On Duty", "Karen Koltrane", "Wildflower Soul" and "Heather Angel". Overall its a great "alternative rock" album as the album features a rock style that is different to anything else that out there and is really a mixture of rock styles as opposed to the straight up hard rock the bands like Nirvana and Metallica released during the nineties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sonic youth+sunshine=1000 leaves, 19 Sep 2001
By 
brucybonus89@hotmail.com (Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I like interesting, intelegent music. Sonic youth have evolved through from their avant-guard roots to what most people know them as, an alternative rock/grunge act inspiring bands like Nirvana. I'm not so sure that can be said about this album. "6 hits of sunshine" is a playground on which lee and thurston (guitarists) literaly play over kim gorden's bass. The sounds created are like no other...along with a voice that could calm a storm. "Karen's moving out, out into the sky,Karen trips on a cloud, sets down , the stars in her eyes". Then there are songs with kim singing too which I never really got."ineffable me" is more of the old sonic youth style-great but out of place among the others. to me it's an album about beautiful memories and visions-to be honest I think her's (apart from "contre le sexisme", which is a highlight) detract from the mood stuff like "Snare girl", "Sunday" and "Karen Koltrane" create. Don't let that put you off tough, you may love all of it...If you like alternative interesting music, try it. I know its really predictable to give a review 5/5 but just hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good effort, 9 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves (Audio CD)
not the best album i have ever heard from sonic youth but a good effort all the same.its probably hard to hit form every time,especially when you've released albums like daydream nation,goo,dirt,experimental jet set,but like washing machine its a grower and i find the more its on the more i like it.not bad for a group of 40 somethings.i hope i'm half as cool at that age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mille Feuille, 23 Sep 2013
By 
A. R. Forbes "gforbes" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves (Audio CD)
'A Thousand Leaves' is commonly regarded as part of Sonic Youth's return to experimentalism after the band touched on commercial success with a major record company and with shorter, more typical rock song forms. This experimental approach is related partly to their new approach to the studio (this time using their own Echo Canyon during the creative process) and partly to the idiosyncratic song and album structures. As a result, 'A Thousand Leaves' is perhaps difficult to comprehend at first, but it certainly rewards through-listening instead of cherry-picking the favourite tracks as one might with 'Goo' or 'Dirty'.

Kim Gordon's presence is very notable here, from the disturbing miniature psychodrama 'Contre le sexisme' which opens the album to some of her most aggressive creations, in the form of 'Female Mechanic Now on Duty', 'French Tickler' and 'The Ineffable Me'. These last three songs are opportunities for Kim to explore her own feminist slant on sex and on sexism in the workplace and she does this through monologues by various adopted personae. They are all abrasive and exhilarating songs which break up the otherwise pensive mood of the album.

But it is a sense of things not seeming as they are that is the all-pervading quality of 'A Thousand Leaves'. The cover and sleeve design is among the most interesting of any Sonic Youth album - on the front is a collage featuring an apprehensive girl sitting up in bed with stuck-on animal ears, juxtaposed with a child's hand and finger tentatively stroking a mouse. Inside, there are photographs of Kim holding flowers or sitting behind plants or with head bowed; there are also legs walking in a garden, some pillows disguising an unlikely body shape, and a pineapple. And finally, a Sally Mann-esque black and white photo of near-naked children. These summery images of youth, innocence and beauty have a complex relationship with some of the actual music.

Lee Ranaldo's 'Hoarfrost' is a highlight - a wintry song which stimulates this listener's sense of space, place and time. Thurston's 'Sunday' is the stand-out single and it alone exemplifies this paradigm of uncanniness with its major-key melody over bare chords, not to mention the intriguing lyrics: "Sunday comes along again / A perfect day for a quiet friend / And you - you will set it free". The rhapsodic forms of 'Wild Flower Soul' and 'Karen Koltrane' emphasise their shared reflective mood. 'Heather Angel' is the closing track with more enigmatic vocal grumblings from Kim, first breaking down into noise and then picking up again with a propulsive beat.

'A Thousand Leaves' is the most mysterious Sonic Youth album; it is unsettling, but underpinned by a strong conceptual premise and is rarely short of fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I preferred their earlier stuff (you could hear the words and it had a good beat, etc., etc.), 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves (Audio CD)
Okay, so picture the scene. Your small child is playing with her toys when a baby cat wanders over. Small child starts crying because it doesn't like baby cat. So you say "Its okay, Alice. It's just a kitten". And then you think, "Hang on, that would make a brilliant subject for a song by my celebrated New York art-rock group". And so it is that the once mighty Sonic Youth are reduced to making songs where Kim Gordon (God bless her) solemnly intones the words "Alice, it's just a kitten. IT'S JUST A KITTEN", as if she's passing a sentence of death (passing something, anyway). It's a shame because Sonic Youth are one of my favourite groups (Sister and Daydream Nation being my personal faves)(I guess it doesn't help that I was never that keen on Ms. Gordon's compositions and that she seemed to usurp Thurston as the main songwriter in their latter years).
If you like Arty B*ll*cks (who, coincidentally, is also one of my favourite jazz musicians), then buy this album. Otherwise, er, don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's all this about then?, 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Thousand Leaves (Audio CD)
I have ever single album they have ever done, so must be a fan whowould like anything that they would do right! Well I've listened to this album several times but still can't tell if it's adventurous or just plain rubbish. Maybe I just cant get my head around it but what seems to be the only descent song are 'Hits of Sunshine' and 'Snare Girl' but even these songs don't rate high on my chart of songs. Kim does most of the singing on this record some might say they are dynamic but they are also bordering on falling from a great height.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Thousand Leaves [VINYL]
A Thousand Leaves [VINYL] by Sonic Youth (Vinyl - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews