Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funk masterclass with Scofield, Medeski, Martin and Wood
I read the reviews below, and I can agree with almost everything said, but I just have to give this one 5 stars. I will agree that Bump is a better album overall, and showcases a more varied set of grooves, but this album is a certified classic too, and deserves 5 stars any day! It is the first recording produced by the legendary John Scofield with the amazing Medeski,...
Published on 2 April 2007 by Mr. Dominic L. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, but....
I chanced across "out louder" and gave it a spin, excellent. One of the reviewers said that out louder was an upgrade of this cd. They are right, out louder is way better than this cd, much more polished and together. I much prefer the integration and overall groove of out louder to this. It is a promising start, but all you need is the later cd and it trounces this, if...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by 70s


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funk masterclass with Scofield, Medeski, Martin and Wood, 2 April 2007
By 
Mr. Dominic L. Brown (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Go Go (Audio CD)
I read the reviews below, and I can agree with almost everything said, but I just have to give this one 5 stars. I will agree that Bump is a better album overall, and showcases a more varied set of grooves, but this album is a certified classic too, and deserves 5 stars any day! It is the first recording produced by the legendary John Scofield with the amazing Medeski, Martin and Wood, and these four musicians were born to play together!

Medeski, Martin and Wood should be listed as artists on this album too! Together for about 12 years, they are the finest players in their admittedly small genre, and fans of out-there funk will love this - MMW demonstrate an demonstrate an infinite capacity to swing their asses off while also being able to lay down thick, hypnotic grooves. They are a real working band, touring solidly for at least 5 years, and it shows in the almost telepathic musical link they seem to share. All the compositions here are Scofield's, but this is perhaps the first true Scofield funk album - and that could not have been achieved without MMW.

The first time you listen to this album it will blow you away - truly superb musicians having a great time, and playing interesting music with an amazing groove! The best thing is that after the 100th listen you'll still be grooving! Buy it, buy "Bump" and most of all, buy the latest fruit of this wonderful collaberation "Out Louder"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent diaplay of Scofield's jazz evolution, 10 Sep 2000
By 
J. Best "Goph" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Go Go (Audio CD)
You can tell from the first note, that it's Scofield. The funk style of the album is brilliant. Just by listening to the CD you can tell that they had a really good time creating the work, and this makes it even more pleasurable. As ever, the tone is unique, something fresh. Highlights include A go go and chank but the whole CD is a masterpiece. I reccommend this CD to every one - it is definatly one of his most accessible pieces making it ideal for newcomers to scofield's sound to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but not Bump, 12 Feb 2004
By 
M. de-layen Vian "M5dlv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Go Go (Audio CD)
Anyone who plays or enjoys the guitar as a solo instrument that is still in contact with rhythm and groove should check out Scofield. A go go is pretty hot. But Bump it is not. Check out this title and then buy a go go. It puts this title into context as part of the journey..
In its own right A go go is worth the cash, but if you are looking for an intro or are tight on cash there are other Scofield titles to check out first..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb playing all around., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Go Go (Audio CD)
This is a masterpiece. Cool, funky and playful. My only reservation is that these Scofield-only compositions start off magnificently, but seem to lose steam a bit as we go along. A couple of standards thrown in wouldn't have done any harm at all. Still - there's plenty to be happy about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Go Go (Audio CD)
excellent stuff. Scofield at his best. Fine to blast it loudly with the windows wide open in the car.Higly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, but...., 7 Sep 2011
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Go Go (Audio CD)
I chanced across "out louder" and gave it a spin, excellent. One of the reviewers said that out louder was an upgrade of this cd. They are right, out louder is way better than this cd, much more polished and together. I much prefer the integration and overall groove of out louder to this. It is a promising start, but all you need is the later cd and it trounces this, if you only buy one, buy out louder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Go Go
A Go Go by John Scofield (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews