Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First true supergroup formed in 1965 split in 1967., 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
'Live Cream' Volume 1 was the first LP I bought myself back in 1968 for 37/-; shortly afterwards I bought Volume 2 with my hard-earned pocket money of 2/6 a week. Each of the three group members (Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker) was acknowledged as virtuosos on their particular instruments. At times on these live recordings each band member seems intent on 'outdoing' the other, but somehow even after a ten+ minute improvisation session they all come back together at exactly the same moment. A particular example of this phenomenon is 'Sweet Wine' and 'N.S.U.' on Volume 1 and the almost anthemic 'Sunshine Of Your Love' and 'Steppin' Out' on Volume 2. They're still amongst my favourite bands but the cover of the old LPs are a bit tatty and frayed round the edges (bit like me, really).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce is God, 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
The finest 'Power Trio' of all time at their very best and for sheer raw intensity this has never been surpassed. It's fitting that Jack Bruce is the main figure on the front cover photograph as he was the real brains in this group, providing a solid songwriting/virtuoso bass technique foundation for Clapton's soaring guitar. However, can everyone get over the 'Bruce versus Clapton' debate as they were actually very different musicians as their subsequent work shows and they could only ever work together in a group like Cream. However, I've given it 4 stars because of the mediocre 'Lawdy Mama'. What's a studio track doing on a 'Live' album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cream Live and Dangerous, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
All the live songs contained on this album are from the first Cream album Fresh Cream but the actual songs are just used in the beginning and end as most of the songs contain extensive jams showing the talents of Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cream that hasn't curdled, 13 Mar 2011
By 
H. Llewelyn "Hugh Llewelyn the Welshman" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
Vol I is arguably the best of the two Live Cream volumes as NSU, Sweet Wine and Rollin' & Tumblin' are just so exiting - and still are all these years later. They represent some of Cream's best live work (only Steppin' Out on Vol II and, of course, Spoonful and Crossroads on "Wheels of Fire Live at the Filmore" are better) - but what on earth is "Hey Lawdy Mama" doing here? Thankfully, this is a very short track. This album shows what an amazingly exiting guitar player Clapton was - never replicated when he left Cream, unfortunately. Best listened too slightly inebriated so you won't be too embarressed when you pogo with your zimmer in front of your daughters' boyfriends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In those days Clapton could play with subtle refinement or great intensity, 1 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
I was never quite happy with 'Sweet Wine' from the start. When I got the record in 1971 I was just a bit disappointed that it didn't have the concentration or contrapuntal tension of 'Spoonful' another improvisation in the long stretched-out mode that only Cream have ever pulled off. I felt the reason it didn't completely work was that in many passages the bass was too dominant so that the balance of tension with the guitar was lost, and subtlety too was lost because of the sound and volume of the bass. The new mix which is included on the 4 disc set 'THOSE WERE THE DAYS' has rectified this showing that this improvisation was one of their finest, although it is in many ways an alternative version of the famous 16min Spoonful improvisation on 'Live at the Filmore'. The drums have been brought forward and the bass now makes just the right, subtle, sometimes almost subliminal contribution allowing Clapton's very nuanced, flexible but above all expressive playing in this performance to delight the listener. It's a significant transformation of this very important track, the only one that can be put alongside 'Spoonful' in terms of the length of the improvisation. These are the longest tracks we have on disc and they are the performances that demanded the most sustained invention, putting to the test the limits of the genre they invented.
This mix, however, and on the other hand, CAN work if the bass can be made to sound really big and 'bossed'(that is to say, big in the boss) so that it isn't so easy sometimes to hear the actual NOTES but one is aware of the counter-rhythmic punctuations of the note values which disturb the too easy attention to the other two. In other pieces by Cream it is essential to hear the notes clearly as counterpoint but here the bass should contribute a different role. What this all amounts to is that you shouldn't assume that that you've heard all there is until you've heard some of the alternative ways of hearing it. It may be your equipment that will make the difference or it may be which of the discs you use.
Also to be found on 'Those Were The Days' is an alternative 12min performance of 'NSU', wrongly decribed on the packaging as an unedited extended version of the performance found on this original 'Live Cream'.

So the reason I have only given this 4 stars is that what we have here is only the numbers on the original album without any extra live tracks that the CD playing time would allow, and also because brilliant performances let down somewhat by the balance on the original release and in the so-called 'Cream Remasters'.
But, as explained above, it is possible to get very good results with these recordings on certain equipment if you can get the right sound for the bass. But there is little likelyhood of you hitting on the right combinations without a lot of experiment.
The first two performances on this album are utterly magnificent, as long as one way or another, you can get the right sound balance. Rock hasn't got anything better to offer than this, except that is for the performances on the other live Cream albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crackling Cream, 12 Jan 2005
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
Excellent album of Cream doing what they did. Powerhouse trio rock improvisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cream of the crop, 28 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
Time to replace my much loved, well used Vinyl copy. N.S.U. and Sweet Wine are absolute classics. Driving has never been so much fun. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First true supergroup formed in 1965 split in 1967., 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
'Live Cream' Volume 1 was the first LP I bought myself back in 1968 for 37/-; shortly afterwards I bought Volume 2 with my hard-earned pocket money of 2/6 a week. Each of the three group members (Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker) was acknowledged as virtuosos on their particular instruments. At times on these live recordings each band member seems intent on 'outdoing' the other, but somehow even after a ten+ minute improvisation session they all come back together at exactly the same moment. A particular example of this phenomenon is 'Sweet Wine' and 'N.S.U.' on Volume 1 and the almost anthemic 'Sunshine Of Your Love' and 'Steppin' Out' on Volume 2. At 7.99 for each CD you won't go far wrong if you're into, or just curious, about Cream. They're still amongst my favourite bands but the cover of the old LPs are a bit tatty and frayed round the edges (bit like me, really).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN!!, 6 Feb 2004
By 
J E Hall (margate, kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
WHAT CAN YOU SAY(OR WRITE) ABOUT CREAM THAT HASN'T ALREADY BEEN STATED. TAKE NO NOTICE OF DETRACTORS AND FALSE PROPHETS OF TODAY. THIS BAND WERE "IT"!!! THEY INVENTED ROCK AND THIS ALBUM SHOWS YOU HOW. ALRIGHT THE TIMING ON "NSU" IS A BIT OUT IN PLACES, SO WHAT, THEY KICKED ASS BIG TIME. THREE MAESTROS STRUTTING THEIR STUFF. BEWARE OF CHEAP IMITATORS. CREAM CREATE A WALL OF SOUND ON THIS ALBUM THAT HAS NEVER BEEN BETTERED. LONG SOLOS AND IMPROVISATION ARE WHAT THIS LIVE ALBUM IS ALL ABOUT....GOOD..'COS THEY WERE GOOD!!
BUY IT, GET A BOTTLE OF "JD", STICK YOUR HEADPHONES ON, CRANK IT UP AND DRIFT AWAY. THERE AIN'T NOTHING OR NO ONE LIKE THEM TODAY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREAM CAPTURED LIVE AND NO THRILLS BLUES, GREAT MUSIC, 16 April 2013
By 
Mr. S. Palmer "stephen8081" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Cream (Audio CD)
This is simply awsome music from Cream, I remember seeing the film of this concert at the local cinema and it blew me away I just rushed straight out and bought the album, it is classic Eric/Jack and Bruce from the start of NSU to the last track and the album captures the rawness of the original shows at the Royal Albert Hall, the album still does it for me after all these years. Superb music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Cream
Live Cream by Cream (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews