Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rampant 60s subculture.
The Creation, what a group, never released an album, had a constantly changing line up and yet produced a collection of singles most other bands of the same period (bar the Beatles) would have been proud of. Making Time and How Does It Feel... are the real highlights of this compilation but there are plenty of others who compete closely, Painter Man and Biff Bang Pow...
Published on 28 July 2000

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Being Creative...
With its colourful title and arty, paint-splash cover, I was expecting this to be a psychedelic album, but it isn't. From what I can tell The Creation were a Mod pop combo, and a good one at that. For me, the stand out tracks are "Making Time", "Cool Jerk" and "How Does It Feel to Feel?". The last of these is best, especially the feedback-laden US version, and was later...
Published on 29 Jun 2006 by Mr T


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rampant 60s subculture., 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
The Creation, what a group, never released an album, had a constantly changing line up and yet produced a collection of singles most other bands of the same period (bar the Beatles) would have been proud of. Making Time and How Does It Feel... are the real highlights of this compilation but there are plenty of others who compete closely, Painter Man and Biff Bang Pow. Overall a wonderful, quirky sometimes vicious album in which all the songs (even the few slow, thoughtful ones) seem to be performed by a band with a twisted smile and a slightly manic view of the world. Compare with their Freakbeat competitors of the same period, The Who, and they come out more than favourably. Buy this album! Oh...., and try and hear the points where the guitar is played with a violin bow (a prototype Jimmy Page)>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Does It Feel To Not Know This Band....?, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
I haven't heard these songs for 25 years, when I was first introduced to The Creation by a huge Eddie Phillips fan. While recently updating my music collection I came across an old cassette by them. Although I hadn't completely forgotten them I had forgotten the impact some of these songs had on me then. Cool Jerk, How Does It Feel & Making Time especially, but also Painter Man, Ostrich Man, Life Is Just Beginning and Nightmares. I love their version of Bony Maronie which I'd never heard before.
Regardless of whatever was going on within the band these songs stand right up there with the best of the mid 60s.
This is a must have addition, not just to your 60s collection, but your whole music collection.
I now get Eddie Phillips....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Poppish Art, 20 Dec 2005
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
AAAAAGHHH!! The Creation come booming out of your speakers via this superbly compiled and value for cash CD. They looked cool, detested each other, experimented with all kinds of (for it's time) groundbreaking stuff, wrote instantly memorable 3 minute classics and....got absolutely nowhere for their bother!!
"Making Time" is the obvious hit here with it's clanging riff, violin bow solo (I wonder if anyone has tried to play the violin with a plectrum) and straight to the point lyrics. It is deservedly a recognised "mod classic" now and has stood the test of time with ease. Eddie Phillips has to go down as one of the sharpest dressed and underrated guitarists ever, executing his innovations on other classics here namely "Biff! Bang! Pow!" alongside the artschool disillusionment echoed in "Painterman", (which thanks to Boney M packs em' in at backstreet Karoke bars the length and breadth of the country)! "How Does It Feel" rattles your fillings and boasts one of the best intros and spontaneous guitar solos I have ever heard (Ride actually did a quite faithful cover of this a few years back which is proof enough that you can't kill a good song!) and not forgetting the simplicity of "Try and Stop Me", as elementary a lesson in the three minute pop song as "I Can't Explain" was for The Who. Uncomplicated, catchy and in the case of "Through My Eyes", malevolently beautiful. The Creation had so many facets.
The line up changed often and at one point included future Face and Stone Ronnie Wood. The single "Midway Down", which features the fuzzed up annihilation of the aforementioned Mr Wood, is a class tune telling the story of a Victorian style travelling circus whilst the surprisingly adept cover of "Hey Joe" portrays a musical capability often overlooked when under scrutiny by the trainspotters. There is of course the odd dud here. "Bonie Maronie" is simply nothing less than an awful choice of cover version, as is "Like A Rolling Stone" which I would class as being remembered predominantly as the moment Dylan went electric rather than for being a ground breaking tune...maybe you had to be there. Who cares?
The Creation have been classed as also rans, the band who perhaps "should have but never" and even Shel Talmy's replacements for The Who . Rubbish. If you like your bands in the classic four piece bass, guitar, drums and vocals style then this is a must for you. And thankfully at least a dozen of the selections here transcend the sour taste in the mouth left behind by a bunch of young mods who deserved so much more than the often tepid accolade they have been afforded in the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Being Creative..., 29 Jun 2006
By 
Mr T "meltcity" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
With its colourful title and arty, paint-splash cover, I was expecting this to be a psychedelic album, but it isn't. From what I can tell The Creation were a Mod pop combo, and a good one at that. For me, the stand out tracks are "Making Time", "Cool Jerk" and "How Does It Feel to Feel?". The last of these is best, especially the feedback-laden US version, and was later covered by Ride. All three contain great riffs and are pretty pacey. Overall, there's some quite experimental guitar work and the lyrics must've been fairly controversial at the time. Not bad at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creative brutality, 23 Nov 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
I don't know what became of the members of this band but it wouldn't surprise me to hear that they'd gone into the demolition business. Creation's music is the sound of a band trying to break down the walls of their studio. Think of early Who at their most destructive and apply a tad more brute force and you've just about got this band. Yet they still retained a sense of craft and discipline (harmonies, no less).
They wrote some very good songs that fell just short of the greatness needed to break into the first rank. Collectively though they amount to a substantial collection. The first half dozen songs are of uniformly high quality. "I Am The Walker" and "Can I Join Your Band" suggest a significant development in their writing. The later songs, while creditable, are not quite as wholehearted. It's the band's all-out attack that makes the earlier material that much more effective.
The compilation also contains a few covers, most of which are ill-judged. "Cool Jerk" is OK though a staple of many R&B bands of this era but "Bony Moronie" doesn't suit them. "Hey Joe" would also sound potent had Jimi Hendrix not also recorded it. Meanwhile, "Like A Rolling Stone" is a poor choice for a band of The Creation's style. I've heard many versions of this over-hyped song and have yet to come across one that lifted it above the ordinary.
Nevertheless, this twenty-four track compilation makes a worthwhile addition to any collection of 1960s R&B/pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration From The Gods, 9 Aug 2006
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
More than any other band of the 60's The Creation inspired me to form my own band. Their music was so punchy, simple, direct. Why were they never as big in the UK as Europe? Simple, they were too good to grace charts where novelty value was more important than music. The British Top 10 would have been much better for the likes of "Making Time", "Painter Man", "Nightmares", "How Do I Feel To Feel" and the rest. Those guys who fudge the charts to promote their own little goody-two-shoes outfits missed the whole point of Pop/Rock Music in the 60's. It was NOT about the singer looking good because they were really U G L Y!! It was NOT about the guitar-player miming to a track recorded by a session musician!! It was about THE CREATION (and other bands of the time). The guys who used to fill the clubs up and down the land who were kept out of the charts by those blokes in suits who don't know what Pop/Rock Music is all about.

This album has the best music that really represented The Sounds Of The Sixties. Hear "Making Time" c/w "Try And Stop Me" and "Painter Man" c/w "Biff Bang Pow", then you can appreciate why Peter Townshend asked Eddie Phillips to join The Who. Remember too that The Stones ASKED The Creation to PLEASE TOUR WITH US in Germany (April 1967). The Creation were the band living the sounds of the sixties and not just creating it. This Music is RED with PURPLE flashes.... and not PINK, Floyd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Mod Sounds, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
I'd heard of The Creation & had a few songs on some mod compilation albums for a while so was looking forward to hearing more....and after the first listen I was asking myself why I hadn't bought everything they ever released years ago!! Great album, great sound & fabulous songs..If you like early The Who, The Sonics...or just quality 60's music..buy this album..you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic band, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
Inspirational music with a hard edge. Great songs such as "Makin' Time" and "Through My Eyes". I would recommend this album to anyone that like sixties psychedelia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freakbeat at its best, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
The Creation were one of the most exciting and enduring of the great British Freakbeat bands. Great songs, great sound and they looked great too. These were the Mods that took R n' B into the experimental ground of Psychedelia. Powerful vocals and guitar sounds to send a shiver down your spine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60's guitar music at its best, 7 July 2006
This review is from: 'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' (Audio CD)
If you like the Kinks, Small Faces or the Who then you're bound to like this. Great pop music played with the passion and youthful vigour which most bands today can only dream of. Despite the obvious similarities to many of their contemporaries this isn't simply 'paint by numbers' music these guys are creating a sound which brings together the best bits of those other artists. The songs are all catchy but more importantly they are backed by an impressive rhythm section and some great vocals. Add to the equation some extremely original guitar playing and it creates an irresitable mix. While they are mainly seen as 'the' freakbeat band, they're music begins to veer towards psychedelic for the last few songs on this compilation, but importantly the songs are always energetic and well-paced. Also their version of Hey Joe is apparently the one that influenced Hendrix (despite being released later Hendrix would have seen this version as part of their live set.) We also have what is regarded by some mod enthusiasts as the definitive version of cool jerk (personally I think the song is overrated) but luckily there is enough original material here to warrant adding this to your collection (unlike on the Action, Spencer Davis Group, Pretty Things or Birds compilations)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes'
'our Music Is Red - With Purple Flashes' by Creation (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews