Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars39
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2002
This historic 1973 concert, that was seen live worldwide by 1.5 billion people never ceases to amaze and entertain me.
From the one two punch of See See Rider and Burning Love to huge ballads and rock classics; Aloha from Hawaii remains a standout in a brilliant career.
Elvis was surely nervous before and during the show, yet this is the most laid back concert he ever gave.
The gyrations and leg shaking that he is famous for, takes a back seat in favour of him just singing. And what a voice, check out the high notes on American Trilogy or What Now My Love.
And in stark contrast he dusts off some of the old rockers, with ecxellent performances of Long Tall Sally, Whole Lotta Shakin Goin On and A Big Hunk O Love.
Really, few events, especially in the entertainment field are truly legendary and unique; this is one, own it and be captivated and entertained by the master.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
Great Album, Great Man, Great Singer.
Elvis opens carefully with 'See See Rider', 'Burning Love' shows us he is brilliant. 'Something' a complete new interpretation.
Wonderful version of 'What Now My Love'. Nice version of the James Taylor track 'Steamroller' he makes it is own and really brings out the blues feel to the song. He goes on sometimes with humor singing his early hits in a fun way. Then delivers a power house version of 'American Trilogy' - A triumph.
There's no one to touch him as a performer and singer he is just the total business as this great album proves - buy the DVD too and see Elvis deliver a fantastic concert.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
The first complete Elvis concert that I ever owned back in the late '70s, and it's great to have it in this modern format along with the extra tracks recorded specially for the US version of the show.

"Aloha From Hawaii" is a wonderful listen, and a fascinating insight into the production of a polished performer as he attempts to shake off his obvious nervous streak whilst singing for the majority of the whole world.

Elvis plays it cool and doesn't pull any fast punches, but his performances of "Something", "You Gave Me A Mountain", "Steamroller Blues", "My Way", "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry", "What Now My Love" and "Welcome To My World" are First Class. There are also some great rockin' renditions of "Johnny B. Goode", "A Big Hunk O' Love" and a medley of "Long Tall Sally"/"Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On" to savour.

The ultimate show-stopper comes in the form of "An American Trilogy" which is a total mind-blower, and the beautiful "I'll Remember You" reminds us what this concert was all about.

A classic No.1 album in it's time and a classic No.1 concert forever!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
Timeless Elvis from his most famous concert of all time. Voice is MAGNIFICENT,songs are great and he is in a good mood. If someone wants to discover Elvis, he/she HAS to buy this album and it's DVD for sure. BUY IT. IT IS HISTORY.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2002
This was the single biggest event of Elvis` career. A benefit concert to be viewed by an estimated 1.5 billion people around the world. Elvis is obviously nervous right through the concert but in true fashion, his performance reamins outstanding. Noteable examples being Suspicious Minds and the dramatic overexuberance of An American Trilogy. there`s something for most musical tastes contained herein, from James Taylor`s Steamroller blues to the beautiful I`ll remember you. All the additional songs come from his 1961 film Blue hawaii with the exception of Early Morning Rain. Elvis is noticeably tired in the additional tracks, recorded as they were about 1 hour after the show ended. This is the performance that piqued my interest in Elvis and is a good introduction to the power of his voice in the later years.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
I love this edition and on seeing it when I went to the M.E.N. Arena Manchester, earlier this year, to see the actual "Elvis in Concert"with the original band members and the singers...What a fantastic tribute to most talented artist there has ever been and ever will be.This particular concert from Hawaii was used to portray some of his most beautiful songs and this album brings it all back.!! Thank you to all those who help create this in original form...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
Even During This Concert ELVIS was nervous, but He stills gives an amazing performance he certainly was enjoying himself interacting with the audience on some occasions (you have to see dvd to watch that} the extra tracks are a bonus on this cd, if you are a elvis fan you`ll add this for your collection anyway , but it is a good live album even if you just want to start your cd collection....
Also added dvd to my collection
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
It doesn't matter how old you are, Elvis the legend/the music still appeals to people the world over. There are Elvis fans all over the world from age 6 - 60 plus, (I'm only 20 something)! Whatever your musical taste, it doesn't matter;If you've never really listened to any of Elvis's albums and don't know what all the fuss is about...listen to 'Aloha From Hawaii'. Which artist could attract over a billion people with their music now, let alone when there wasn't even the Internet and todays media hype!?
There's tracks on here that have been remixed by many artists over the years; 'Blue Suede Shoes', 'Fever', 'Hound Dog' and more. Elvis was nervous during this concert but once he sang he captured the world.
Theres so much that can be said about this album and his others, instead I'd say just let Elvis's music speak for its self. Listen to this album and I am sure you'll want to go out and buy all the others.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
This concert was an historic event. It was also from a busy time in Evlis's career following on from the release of the rockumentary "Elvis On Tour" in the cinema two months earlier and following on from the Madison Square Garden appearances the previous summer which yielded a classic live album, Elvis had to do a concert that wasn't a repeat of the "Live From Madison Square Garden" album. This he achieve by focussing on dramatic ballads which some of which hadn't been exposed to record at the time of the concert, so for example "What now my love", "It's Over". Elvis came on strong in his usual style, performing his recent mega hit "Burning Love". So Elvis achieved the objective to display some new material, not repeat "Madison" and dressed in his most impressive "American Eagle" suit, gave a concert of pure Elvisness. Perhaps this was the picnacle of his career, delivering a live concer experience to his fans, a hughely rated TV show and a number 1 US album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2004
I first purchased this album in '73 when I first started work. I was disappointed then and I still am now! Throughout Elvis seems in very weak voice with very much tremble in his notes. OK Welcome to my World is good but much of the material is very much thrown away. I know other fans rave about the version of American Trilogy here but for me the '72 version at Madison Square Garden is far superior. Elvis was only just 38 when he performed here but he sounds more like a 55 year old. Thankfully the '74 Memphis record showed it was not quite the beginning of the end. Neillo "lost in the 50's tonite" Essex, UK
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)