Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1.5 BILLION PEOPLE CANT BE WRONG
This historic 1973 concert, that was seen live worldwide by 1.5 billion people never ceases to amaze and entertain me.
From the one two punch of See See Rider and Burning Love to huge ballads and rock classics; Aloha from Hawaii remains a standout in a brilliant career.
Elvis was surely nervous before and during the show, yet this is the most laid back concert...
Published on 11 May 2002

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aloha-no
I first purchased this album in '73 when I first started work. I was disappointed then and I still am now! Throughout Elvis seems in very weak voice with very much tremble in his notes. OK Welcome to my World is good but much of the material is very much thrown away. I know other fans rave about the version of American Trilogy here but for me the '72 version at...
Published on 14 Dec 2004 by Mr. N. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1.5 BILLION PEOPLE CANT BE WRONG, 11 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
This historic 1973 concert, that was seen live worldwide by 1.5 billion people never ceases to amaze and entertain me.
From the one two punch of See See Rider and Burning Love to huge ballads and rock classics; Aloha from Hawaii remains a standout in a brilliant career.
Elvis was surely nervous before and during the show, yet this is the most laid back concert he ever gave.
The gyrations and leg shaking that he is famous for, takes a back seat in favour of him just singing. And what a voice, check out the high notes on American Trilogy or What Now My Love.
And in stark contrast he dusts off some of the old rockers, with ecxellent performances of Long Tall Sally, Whole Lotta Shakin Goin On and A Big Hunk O Love.
Really, few events, especially in the entertainment field are truly legendary and unique; this is one, own it and be captivated and entertained by the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satellite Smash!, 29 Mar 2007
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
The first complete Elvis concert that I ever owned back in the late '70s, and it's great to have it in this modern format along with the extra tracks recorded specially for the US version of the show.

"Aloha From Hawaii" is a wonderful listen, and a fascinating insight into the production of a polished performer as he attempts to shake off his obvious nervous streak whilst singing for the majority of the whole world.

Elvis plays it cool and doesn't pull any fast punches, but his performances of "Something", "You Gave Me A Mountain", "Steamroller Blues", "My Way", "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry", "What Now My Love" and "Welcome To My World" are First Class. There are also some great rockin' renditions of "Johnny B. Goode", "A Big Hunk O' Love" and a medley of "Long Tall Sally"/"Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On" to savour.

The ultimate show-stopper comes in the form of "An American Trilogy" which is a total mind-blower, and the beautiful "I'll Remember You" reminds us what this concert was all about.

A classic No.1 album in it's time and a classic No.1 concert forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is why he is the one of the best, 20 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
Great Album, Great Man, Great Singer.
Elvis opens carefully with 'See See Rider', 'Burning Love' shows us he is brilliant. 'Something' a complete new interpretation.
Wonderful version of 'What Now My Love'. Nice version of the James Taylor track 'Steamroller' he makes it is own and really brings out the blues feel to the song. He goes on sometimes with humor singing his early hits in a fun way. Then delivers a power house version of 'American Trilogy' - A triumph.
There's no one to touch him as a performer and singer he is just the total business as this great album proves - buy the DVD too and see Elvis deliver a fantastic concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The artist of the century, the event of a lifetime, 28 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
This was the single biggest event of Elvis` career. A benefit concert to be viewed by an estimated 1.5 billion people around the world. Elvis is obviously nervous right through the concert but in true fashion, his performance reamins outstanding. Noteable examples being Suspicious Minds and the dramatic overexuberance of An American Trilogy. there`s something for most musical tastes contained herein, from James Taylor`s Steamroller blues to the beautiful I`ll remember you. All the additional songs come from his 1961 film Blue hawaii with the exception of Early Morning Rain. Elvis is noticeably tired in the additional tracks, recorded as they were about 1 hour after the show ended. This is the performance that piqued my interest in Elvis and is a good introduction to the power of his voice in the later years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS MUSIC..., 7 April 2011
By 
Can Balkan (istanbul Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
Timeless Elvis from his most famous concert of all time. Voice is MAGNIFICENT,songs are great and he is in a good mood. If someone wants to discover Elvis, he/she HAS to buy this album and it's DVD for sure. BUY IT. IT IS HISTORY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aloha !! From Elvis...Deluxe....., 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
I love this edition and on seeing it when I went to the M.E.N. Arena Manchester, earlier this year, to see the actual "Elvis in Concert"with the original band members and the singers...What a fantastic tribute to most talented artist there has ever been and ever will be.This particular concert from Hawaii was used to portray some of his most beautiful songs and this album brings it all back.!! Thank you to all those who help create this in original form...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aloha Live Extended Edition, 25 Jan 2010
By 
J. Trueman "John T" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
Even During This Concert ELVIS was nervous, but He stills gives an amazing performance he certainly was enjoying himself interacting with the audience on some occasions (you have to see dvd to watch that} the extra tracks are a bonus on this cd, if you are a elvis fan you`ll add this for your collection anyway , but it is a good live album even if you just want to start your cd collection....
Also added dvd to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aloha From Hawaii [LIVE] [EXTRA TRACKS], 31 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
It doesn't matter how old you are, Elvis the legend/the music still appeals to people the world over. There are Elvis fans all over the world from age 6 - 60 plus, (I'm only 20 something)! Whatever your musical taste, it doesn't matter;If you've never really listened to any of Elvis's albums and don't know what all the fuss is about...listen to 'Aloha From Hawaii'. Which artist could attract over a billion people with their music now, let alone when there wasn't even the Internet and todays media hype!?
There's tracks on here that have been remixed by many artists over the years; 'Blue Suede Shoes', 'Fever', 'Hound Dog' and more. Elvis was nervous during this concert but once he sang he captured the world.
Theres so much that can be said about this album and his others, instead I'd say just let Elvis's music speak for its self. Listen to this album and I am sure you'll want to go out and buy all the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aloha-no, 14 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
I first purchased this album in '73 when I first started work. I was disappointed then and I still am now! Throughout Elvis seems in very weak voice with very much tremble in his notes. OK Welcome to my World is good but much of the material is very much thrown away. I know other fans rave about the version of American Trilogy here but for me the '72 version at Madison Square Garden is far superior. Elvis was only just 38 when he performed here but he sounds more like a 55 year old. Thankfully the '74 Memphis record showed it was not quite the beginning of the end. Neillo "lost in the 50's tonite" Essex, UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (Audio CD)
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite
Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews