Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind-warping
following ok computer, this short compilation of mere B-Sides (except, of course, Airbag itself) served to prove that which hardly needed proving: radiohead were in a world of their own, far ahead of their peers...
its songs like "Pearly" and "Polyethelene" that reinforce that cool 21stCentury Pink-Floyd vibe, with the added twist that only radiohead can produce...
Published on 18 April 2002 by Thom Bishop

versus
16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this CD
I'd highly reccomend against purchasing this album.
You can find the unreleased tracks that are on this album on the two import singles below..
Paranoid Android [CD 1] [Single]
Paranoid Android - CD2 [Single]
Even with P&P they are cheaper than the ridiculous price people are asking for this mini-album.
Published on 12 Feb. 2006 by hieronymusbash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind-warping, 18 April 2002
By 
Thom Bishop (Accrington, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
following ok computer, this short compilation of mere B-Sides (except, of course, Airbag itself) served to prove that which hardly needed proving: radiohead were in a world of their own, far ahead of their peers...
its songs like "Pearly" and "Polyethelene" that reinforce that cool 21stCentury Pink-Floyd vibe, with the added twist that only radiohead can produce. Thom's vocals are heart-stopping - constantly to the fore and teasing your emotions - meanwhile, the guitars enjoy (suffer?) the studio effects mangling that made ok computer so unique.
"Meeting in the Aisle" is a standout, as a sleepy, dreamy groove with sampled beats, it's the 'head's first instrumental, and a direct indication of where they were aiming to go with kid a. But "Palo Alto" is the final track, in which Thom sings "I'm ok, how are you? Thanks for asking, thanks for asking..." in a typically cynical and sardonic comment on modern communication. The spiky guitars and warped sound effects, coupled with some 'real' guitar playing by Jonny Greenwood (before he got to grips with the Martenot, and shunned all use of the guitar) completes the Ok Computer chapter.
A stunning piece of work. Buy it. Play it, leave it on repeat and think back to 1997...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills the gap between OK Computer and Kid A, 29 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
This mini-album is really quite brilliant, moreso when you consider that it's made up of songs that were seen as not good enough to be on "OK Computer" (except Airbag, natch). The most surprising thing is that "How Am I Driving?" perfectly fills the gap between "OK Computer" and "Kid A"; tracks like Melatonin and instrumental Meeting in the Aisle would fit seamlessly onto either album.
There are some real gems to be found on this EP. Polyethylene was reportedly one of the band's favourites from the "OK Computer" sessions, but was left out of the final tracklisting. It's easy to see why they were fond of it - the guitars and melody are just perfect. It's almost "Bends"-like, except for the division into Parts 1 and 2 which gives it a unique twist.
A Reminder is a wonderful song with a tragic sentiment; Thom sings of his fear of losing his mind when he grows old, with this song being - just as it's name implies - a reminder of who he was when he was young.
Palo Alto was one of the first songs written for "OK Computer", and was originally known as OK Computer itself. According to Jonny, they hated the song and quickly dumped it, but kept the name. However, they then decided to overhaul it for a B-side release and came up with a delightful crunchy guitar-pop song, not dissimilar to Electioneering.
It may only be eight songs long and be a tad over-expensive, but it really is worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars available again, 3 April 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
Well this used to be a costly item for completists only, formerly only released in the US and deleted quite quickly. But now (March 2007) it is available again at a sensible price anyone who likes OK Computer should buy it. Great artwork and some good tunes including the haunting instrumental Meeting in the Aisle and the beautiful A Reminder. Of course, if you have the No Surprises EP you will have these already but will be missing out on Palo Alto (apparently its original title was OK Computer) and Polyethylene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead, 30 July 2007
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
This EP is a treat for Radiohead fans who feel The bends and Ok computer are the band's best albums.
Apart from Airbag the rest of the tracks are B sides and they feel more like OK computer than The bends. My favorute track is Reminder because of the electric guitars.
Slighty expensive but is worth every penny.
Go ahead and buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars b-sides compilation that is better than most bands albums!, 11 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
Not really sure how this e.p started off, believe it was for the American market as 'airbag' was never released as a uk single. Whatever it is, it is radiohead and therefore contains some of the best music youll ever hear!I often find that their most amazing songs never see the light of day. tracks like 'talk show host', 'follow me around' and 'true love waits' are all appreciated as lost classics. The same can be said of the songs on this mini compilation. 'meeting in the aisle' is absolutely amazing, the dreaminess of it stands you in good stead for what experimentation was to follow.
I think the pinacle for me was hearing these songs whilst watching 'meeting people is easy' (film about radiohead), seemed to fit with the black and white pictures under grant gee's direction.
'Palo Alto' could quite easily of being a commercial single. Catchy chorus, remember those radiohead fans? Its clear the 'Ok Computer' period was creatively brilliant and any one wishing to hear more like the 1997 classic should not hessitate to track this import down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bliss, 27 April 2007
By 
M. S. Flagg "Flaggy" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
At the top of the regrets list in my life is the fact that I read a review on Radiohead's the Bends , back years ago that said they were fake. I promptly ignored them.

Last year I decided to buy OK Computer, and was blown away, boy have I kicked my shins since.

So in an all consuming frenzy I have been lapping up Radiohead's full catalog.

I got this latest piece, and it's the icing on the cake.....

It's a nice little warm up for this year's anticipated new album....

which if it's as good as this mini album I will eat my Hail to the Thief CD. (well a representation made of rice paper at least)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 22 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Nay ""blochead555"" (Woking, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
If you like any radiohead, you'll love this. For me, this is an amazing mix between Ok Computer and Kid A - two of Radioheads finest albums.

There is a clear guitar influence here.... but some sampling and electronicness there, starting to signs of Kid A.

I dont think Radiohead could release anything bad if they tried. For me, the songs on this beat some songs on OK Computer, and that is no mean feat. Fantastic. Buy this, you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise but fantastic, 22 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
This mini album from Radiohead follows on in the style of OK Computer, but with a few refreshing suprises.

Tracks such as Pearly, Polyethylene and Palo Alto are more direct in style than much of OKC, with more prominant guitars and a fair bit of noise. However this does not take anything away from the quality of these tracks, which are all top notch.

Tracks like "Melatonin" and "Meeting in the Aisle" are of a very different style, pointing more towards later work: Kid A.

The stand out track is Palo Alto, which showcases a sound which is both retro and forward looking (Listen to it, you will see what I mean)

If you want to appreciate Radiohead this CD is almost as important as OKC and KID A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Right up there, 26 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
Only a band like Radiohead could afford to leave songs of this quality off a proper album release. A Reminder, Pearly and Polyethylene are 3 of the best songs they've ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars B-Sides from OK Computer, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbag/How Am I Driving? (Audio CD)
Mostly the b-sides from OK Computer, worth purchasing of you don't want to buy the singles individually. The tracks on there would easily fit within the original album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airbag/How Am I Driving?
Airbag/How Am I Driving? by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews