Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably His Best Single Collection
It's tough to imagine, but this is the best collection of Lennon's best songs to date. Don't be fooled by that Box Set. That contains an odd collection of outtakes, redubs, early studio Beatles works and interviews.
These are the single edits of the hits that made the charts and some that didn't. If there was any one album that covers Lennon and his magic (it's...
Published on 8 Jan 2003 by Martin A Hogan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars power to the people
Had this cd before, and left it in the cd player of my old car when I got it scrapped! This was a replacement. Very good condition, was pleased
Published 6 months ago by callie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably His Best Single Collection, 8 Jan 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
It's tough to imagine, but this is the best collection of Lennon's best songs to date. Don't be fooled by that Box Set. That contains an odd collection of outtakes, redubs, early studio Beatles works and interviews.
These are the single edits of the hits that made the charts and some that didn't. If there was any one album that covers Lennon and his magic (it's impossible), this is as close as one gets.
If you are a marginal Lennon fan, this is your CD. If you are a completist, you already have all these songs. It is nice, however, to have them all one disc - even if there are only twenty masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seventies classics from former Beatle, 7 Sep 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Ultimately, John's reputation rests primarily on the songs he wrote and the music he recorded as a member of the Beatles, but he also recorded some great music after the Beatles split up and this collection includes the best of it.
Of the tracks here, the most famous of all is the truly brilliant song Imagine, but the lyrics demonstrate the difficulty of achieving world peace. John asks us to imagine there's no countries, no religion, no possessions - of course, these are the things that are the cause of all the wars.
There are several other well-known songs here, including Power to the people, Just like starting over, Woman, Give peace a chance (this song was recorded and released as a single while John was still with the Beatles) and the Christmas classic Happy Xmas War is over. All these songs were big hits from John in Britain and elsewhere.
Also included here is John's original version of Jealous guy, a song that he wrote but which eventually became a British number one hit for Bryan Ferry. John showed that he could also record other people's songs - his version of Ben E King's sixties classic is included here.
Even though the overall standard does not match what he did as a Beatle, there is plenty of great music here - easily enough to justify five stars. All fans of seventies pop and rock should have some of John's solo music and this collection provides all the essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend is right!, 12 Mar 2004
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
How often are we barraged with words like legend, genius, brilliant, and a whole bunch of completely over the top and unrealistic praises heaped upon bands and artists? I even once read the word genius used in reference to the music of Steps! Steps for God's sake!!!! No one seems to care or understand that the use of hyperbole diminishes the gulf between huge talent like that of John Lennon and the miniscule talent of bands like Steps, but the use of the word Legend with respect to John Lennon is wholehartedly deserved.
OK, rant over, I'll get to the important thing - the music. As far as John Lennon compilations go, this is probably the best one, as it has pretty much all of the great songs. There is room for more, but this is John Lennon we're talking about, so there would always be room for more.
The best thing about this album is that songs aren't missing that can make uncomfortable listening (for example 'Mother' from the first solo album), and there are other great songs of the kind that made that big paranoid icon of American hypocrisy, the FBI, investigate him as a subversive, like 'Working Class Hero', spitting venom at society for it's oppressive values.
The love that he felt for his wife and son is evident too. Long gone are the early Beatles lyrics about teen angst, and a deeper love become the subject matter. 'Woman' and 'Beautiful Boy' sit next to each other wonderfully, John wearing his heart on his sleeve for these songs.
I could go on and on, but the best thing would be just to listen to the CD and lets the songs speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest 'very best of' ever!, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Simply a stunning album. Even though I own all oh John Lennon's solo albums this is still an essential part of my collection. To hear twenty songs of this quality on one album is just stunning. Surely 'Jealous Guy' is the greatest song of all time? If you've not heard John Lennon beyond 'Imagine' BUY THIS ALBUM TODAY!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get any better than this!!!, 20 Jun 2001
By 
peter_marshall2001@yahoo.co.uk (Keighley, West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
The title 'Lennon Legend' sums this up perfectly. This album is surely the best anyone has ever put together and it gives the listener an insight into the mind of a genius. There is not one song on the album that I couldn't listen to over and over again and for anyone who has simply heard 'Imagine' and thinks that's all there is to John Lennon, you MUST listen to this. 'Jealous Guy' must go down in history as the greatest song of all time and with songs like 'Mind Games', 'Woman' and 'Watching The Wheels', it is a must for anyone who wants to know what real music is. John Lennon is a legend and this compilation of his greatest hits proves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true great, 3 Sep 2001
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Jealous Guy, Imagine just two of the greatest songs of all time, both on this really rather good CD.
The politics, the essence of the man shines through, his romantic view of the working class shines through on several songs - he was a real artist, buy this CD you wont be disappointed - I wasn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lennon Legend , this album is up there with the legends, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Let me tell you a story , I have bought lennon legend three times , why you may ask , well the first time I bought it i brought it on holiday with me , I played it all time before we would go out and when we came back , when we got up and when you just felt listening to some VERY CREATIVE MUSIC and when just felt like listening to music , Unfortunately it went missing in cyprus , So when I came home I bought it again , this time I left it in the car stereo all the time , it was great listening to it in the car while going to work and imagine would come on and you even make up your own lines like "Imagine if the city traffic would drift like clouds across the sky" well something like that , well eventually I sold that car and forgot about John who was sitting in my car stereo , So again back down to the record store and bought it again and I brought it home and keep playing it like it's a brand new cd that I never heard before . As I type this I am currently listening to "woman" and ......Hold on a message is just after comming up on the screen "cd error ,cd unrecognised file format " ah well back down the record store to buy LENNON LEGEND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lennon Legend , this album is up there with the legends, 5 Oct 2000
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
Let me tell you a story , I have bought lennon legend three times , why you may ask , well the first time I bought it i brought it on holiday with me , I played it all time before we would go out and when we came back , when we got up and when you just felt listening to some VERY CREATIVE MUSIC and when just felt like listening to music , Unfortunately it went missing in cyprus , So when I came home I bought it again , this time I left it in the car stereo all the time , it was great listening to it in the car while going to work and imagine would come on and you even make up your own lines like "Imagine if the city traffic would drift like clouds across the sky" well something like that , well eventually I sold that car and forgot about John who was sitting in my car stereo , So again back down to the record store and bought it again and I brought it home and keep playing it like it's a brand new cd that I never heard before . As I type this I am currently listening to "woman" and ......Hold on a message is just after comming up on the screen "cd error ,cd unrecognised file format " ah well back down the record store to buy LENNON LEGEND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lennon legend: A Review, 21 Jun 2003
By 
Sean (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
It's important to summarise his career and decide just how representative this Greatest Hits set is...
Firstly Lennon had 2 masterpiece's. The dark John Lennon-Plastic Ono Band (70) and it's slightly more commercial follow-up Imagine (71), there would be a heavy argument for these both being better then The Beatles, there genius. As well as that you have the singles around the time (instant karma, cold turkey) which were equally great.
There was Sometime In New York (72) which showed him failing (and badly at it) to become a outright protest singer in the vain of Dylan, though it did produce the great Women is the Nigger Of The World.
His early-mid-70's work Mind Games (73), Walls and Bridges (74) and Rock N' Roll (75) are often described as his 'Macca phase', because he made music just for the sake of 'making music' (unlike healing his pain, politics etc..). These years are commercial, got the 'hits' rolling in but extremely average, Lennon's weakest point in songwriting.
He then made a comeback with Double Fantasy (80), Yoko tracks aside the material was commercial, uplifting and reflected his new found love of life.
Unfortunately we all know what happened soon after.
This isn't the 1st hits set around, shaved fish (75), The Lennon Collection (82) being others but on 1st glance it makes a solid intro to this great mans Back Catalogue.
It lacks 3 songs from 1982's Lennon Collection (Dear Yoko, Move over Ms L, I'm Losing You) and gains two (Nobody told Me and Working Class Hero), The raw I'm Losing You is a sad omission. Nobody Told Me is a decent song but it doesn't equal this, but Working Class hero is a essential track so the trade off makes both sets pretty equal, both are much better then 75's Shaved Fish (though that had 'Women is the Nigger Of The World').
Ultimately you can debate over a pub table for hours what to put or leave on, despite Imagine, Jealous Guy being amazing tunes these hits albums are always going to lack so many terrific songs, especially from the 1st 2 albums God, Gimme Some Truth spring to mind. The record Co. has strike a balance of giving the listener enough without giving too much a way, and he hasn't got that many solo albums.
The tracks on there are amazing...
The early phase is there in abundance as is the pre-Beatles split singles Instant Karma and Give Peace a chance.
The raw Cold Turkey, with Clapton on guitar.
What more can be said for Imagine? as well as Jealous Guy, Mother, Working Class Hero. Lennon at his peak.
The hit singles from the middle years (Mind Games, Whatever gets you though the night, #9 Dream and stand by me) are there.
Double Fantasy gets a healthy airing. The inclusion of 2 songs from the posthumous album Milk And Honey (84) is perhaps the most suprise move, this is a good move as the album wasn't that great to begin with and this offers the creme de la creme off a otherwise patchy album.
The only real faults are the non-appearance of Women Is The Nigger Of The World. Though his outright protest days were unsuccessful both in quality and success that period was certainly interesting and does deserve a airing of this great track.
Also the edited Single version of Mother is here instead of the album version. This is a glaring fault as it misses the primal screams at the end.
Perhaps God wouldn't have gone amiss though maybe that's the big Plastic Ono Band fan talking in me.
Those minor niggles aside this makes a great introduction to his work for those who don't already own anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A well-rounded and enjoyable compilation, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lennon Legend: The Very Best Of John Lennon (Audio CD)
This is a decent compilation of John Lennon's solo output from the late 1960s to the early 1980s. All the major singles are included with the classic 'Imagine' and the gorgeous '#9 Dream' prominent amongst the early 1970s material; the latter hits such as '(Just Like) Starting Over' and 'Woman' (which are both taken from the 1980 'Double Fantasy' LP) are superb testimonials to Lennon's songwriting abilities whilst tracks such as 'Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)' and 'Working Class Hero' are deservedly included as well.
Running Time: 77:30.
Verdict: Worth buying at a competitive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews