Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific - what there is of it, 15 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
I would love to give this 5 stars (for having possibly the greatest album cover ever, for one thing); but I just can't. Why? Well, this album has 8 tracks. Take away this first one, which is a prison official making a speech, and the second, which is not much more than a brief musical intro, and the 4th, which is mainly BB rapping with the audience, and the 5th, which is a medley with a fair bit more talking, and you basically have 4 solid tracks. They're great performances - but it's not what I'd call a coherent album, and I find myself wanting to edit some of it out.

The whole things weighs in about 37 minutes, including all the intros and chat. About 20 minutes of uninterrupted music.

Now, some people will tell you that's all a part of BB's show - and if this CD were an hour long, I'd agree. As it is, it's really enjoyable, but you should know what you're getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE B B King CD to Have, 7 Jan. 2005
By 
N. Bournat "(Nic)" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
BB plays an unlikely concert to prisoners at Cook County Jail. A captive audience in no doubt and B B sounds a little nervous at first - probably thinking of what might happen if they don't like him. Recorded some time ago - I guess early 70's and he is probably at his best. After the normal set of his favouties and introductions - he launches into into the best he has ever sounded on live record. He cooks at the county jail and his guitar gains a power normally heard from his namesake Freddie King. The highest point has to be 'The Thrill Has Gone' - not stricly a 12 bar blues but it has to be one of modern music's must hear tracks, much better than the studio version. He adds a 'chucka chucka' beat building up to a explosive finish. If you buy only one BB King CD - this is the one. I've had LP's, tapes and now my last CD is scratched - so here I am again buying it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It had to be good, 24 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
Followers of any particular artist or genre, will often have several albums of a particular Artist. I am no exception when it comes to the blues and BB King. This is no doubt one of his best performances. Think about it, it had to be ........... it must have been do or die facing an audience made up of prisoners.
BB King plays and sings like I have never heard before. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BB at his best...recorded in the 70's and brilliant yet again...., 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
Love B.B.? Then you need this album...somehow the Chicago prison and its inhabitants add to the 'blue' part of the blues, and even though B does virtually all his famed numbers, there is a certain bittersweet nature to them, which is all part of the venue....I rarely buy 'live' recordings, but from an audio standpoint, this one is worth it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest and Most Influential Bluesman of His Generation, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
"Live in Cook County Jail," by the legendary American blues master B.B. King, was indeed recorded live on September 10, 1970, before the 2117 prisoners then held in that formerly-troubled facility. Cook County is, of course, Chicago: seems like King, like most other blues masters coming out of Mississippi, the Indianola area, in the river's delta, to be precise, traveled up river. To Memphis, St. Louis, Chicago. King, a blues songwriter/vocalist and guitarist, was quite likely the greatest bluesman of his generation: he was/is certainly the most influential. Rolling Stone magazine ranked him at No. 6 on its list of the 100 greatest guitarists of all time; he was ranked No. 17 in Gibson's Top 50 Guitarists of All Time. According to Edward M. Komara, King "introduced a sophisticated style of soloing based on fluid string bending and shimmering vibrato that would influence virtually every electric blues guitarist that followed."

Over the years, King developed one of the world's most individual guitar sounds: he mixed traditional blues, jazz, swing, mainstream pop and jump into his vocabulary, while he borrowed from Blind Lemon Jefferson, T-Bone Walker and others. He integrated his precise, complex vocal-like string bends and his left hand vibrato: both techniques have become important tools in any rock guitarist's vocabulary. His economy and phrasing have been models for thousands of players, from Jimi Hendrix to Eric Clapton and George Harrison to Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page and Duane Allman. The performer won a Grammy Award for a tune called "The Thrill Is Gone;" his version became a hit on both the pop and R&B charts, which was rare during that time for an R&B artist. It also gained the number 183 spot in Rolling Stone magazine's 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

King was inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame in 1980 and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987. He is known for performing tirelessly throughout his musical career; having begun his touring on the segregated all-black Chitlin Circuit, he continued to appear at 250-300 concerts per year until his seventies. In 1956 it was noted that he had appeared at 342 shows; at the age of 87 King still appears at 100 shows a year. However, he is probably best known today for the nationwide American string of blues clubs that bear his name, and his work as an American television pitchman for a diabetes product.

"Live at Cook County Jail" is one of the albums that I like so much I first bought it on vinyl. On it he gives a whooping, appreciative audience "Every Day I Have the Blues," "How Blue Can You Get," "Worry Worry, Worry," and his signature tune "The Thrill is Gone." Also "Sweet Sixteen" and "Please Accept my Love," both of which he had a hand in writing. He is backed by John Browning on trumpet, Louis Hubert on tenor saxophone, Booker Walker on alto sax, Ron Levy on piano, Wilbert Freeman on bass, and Sonny Freeman on drums. The album was produced by Bill Szymczyk. You can hear the guitarist doing a fine call and response with his joyous audience. Also those famous lines from "How Blue Can You Get:""I bought you a new Mustang; you said you wanted a Cadillac. I bought you a steak dinner; you said thanks for the snack. I bought you a new penthouse; you said thanks for the shack. I gave you seven children, and now you want to give them back."

In my not that glamorous days way back when as a rock chick, I did get to hang with King's entourage a bit, enough to know that, on top of the performer's technical mastery of his art, the wit and humor displayed on this record are genuinely his. Love it, just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A VISIT FROM THE DOCTOR......, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
A HARD Gig...A Troubled Jail...The Prison Staff Get Heckled And Booed...B.B. Straps it on...And Cuts Loose...With Axe And That Sublime Voice...'SOMEDAY BAYEEEEEBY...SOMEDAY BAYYYEEBYYY...When The Blind Man Calls Your Name. TROUBLE OVER, Everybody gets CURED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want to know why BB King is a legend?, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
If all you have seen of BB King is an old man appearing as a respected guest with modern musicians this classic album from the 70s will show you why he is so respected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mythic !, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
CHAVAUDRA Brigitte "taxila" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
Very good and mythic live in cook country jail record ! impossible to find now in France. To recommand for the new generations of people who don`t know this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 5 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
Simply the best Chicago blues live concert ever recorded! If you like blues - you will love it - if not, you will still be moved!
A must have CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BB King live, and on impressive form..., 19 Feb. 2008
By 
Ben (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail (Audio CD)
Read any article or book about blues music, and mention will quickly be made to what's considered the finest live blues album around - namely, BB King's "Live At The Regal". I'd say it's a fair comment, but the impact of that album is that I think it now slightly overshadows this one; and if you've not heard "Live in Cook County Jail" before then I recommend you do - as it's a fine record.

You've only got to look at Johnny Cash to know how live albums recorded in prisons can somehow bring out the best in a musician, and with BB it's no different. Perhaps it's the thought of playing to a group of prisoners, but he pulls out all the stops on this album. The guitar playing is exemplary of course (his licks here have a real sting in the tail) but it's BB King acting as his own compere that really shines.

Vocally he's on fine form, but there's a lot of humour on this record that I'd not heard before. He's skits during "Worry Worry" are worth the cost of the album alone - and the charm in which he chats to the audience about songs he's selected. Which is to say nothing of the wonderfully funky version of "The Thrill Is Gone" (which, without the string section sounds brilliant) or the blistering "Every Day I Have The Blues", which opens his set.

If I would be allowed one complaint, it's that it's perhaps not long enough!

This is a wonderfully raw and impassioned BB performance - so you can easily buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail
B. B. King Live In Cook County Jail by B.B. King (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews