Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the premier debut albums of the fun filled Sixties
"If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears," the first album released by the Mamas and the Papas, is clearly the group's best album. "California Dreaming" was rocketing up the charts in the spring of 1966 when this album was released and introduced the crisp harmonies that John Phillips had developed through months of rehearsal in the Virgin Islands and hours of polishing the...
Published on 14 Jan 2004 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic masturbation
Monday Monday, California Dreaming = exception songs and arrangements - the rest of this album is tripe. Save your money and download the two songs mentioned. The rest of the album is sickly singing dirges - nothingness covers poorly performed and recorded. A complete waste of ear-space.
I managed to get my copy for 98p, thought there are some around for 01p. If you...
Published 3 months ago by Leo Fender was a genius says -


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the premier debut albums of the fun filled Sixties, 14 Jan 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears (Audio CD)
"If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears," the first album released by the Mamas and the Papas, is clearly the group's best album. "California Dreaming" was rocketing up the charts in the spring of 1966 when this album was released and introduced the crisp harmonies that John Phillips had developed through months of rehearsal in the Virgin Islands and hours of polishing the sound in the recording studio. It is hard to imagine what it must have been like when this sound was new and fresh. Of course, this is the group's best album (hits collections not included) since it has both of their greatest hits, "California Dreaming" and "Monday, Monday." Through into the mix the almost as good "Go Where You Wanna Go," the lovely "Got a Feelin'," and the awesome troch song cover of "I Call Your Name," and none of their other albums are even close to being this good. Actually, the covers of "Spanish Harlem" and "Do You Wanna Dance" are pretty good as well. Besides, pretty much as soon as this album was released the group started to implode from the interpersonal conflicts.
Still, "If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears" should be remembered as a Sixties album on the level of "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" and "Pet Sounds," in terms of the exquisite way in which the songs and album were crafted. My contention would be that obviously you want to have a hits collection of the Mamas and the Papas (and there are several decent ones out there), but that picking up this first album would be worth it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just My Feeling, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears (Audio CD)
In the spring of 1966, If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears represented a genuinely new sound, as fresh to listeners as the songs on Meet the Beatles had seemed two years earlier. Released just as "California Dreaming" was ascending the charts by leaps and bounds, it was the product of months of rehearsal in the Virgin Islands and John Phillips' discovery of what one could do to build a polished recorded sound in the studio ¡X it embraced folk-rock, pop/rock, pop, and soul, and also reflected the kind of care that acts like the Beatles were putting into their records at the time. "Monday, Monday" and "California Dreamin'" are familiar enough to anyone who's ever listened to the radio, and "Go Where You Wanna Go" isn't far behind, in this version or the very similar rendition by the Fifth Dimension. But the rest is mighty compelling even to casual listeners, including the ethereal "Got a Feelin'," the rocking "Straight Shooter" and "Somebody Groovy," the jaunty, torch song-style version of "I Call Your Name," and the prettiest versions of "Do You Wanna Dance" and "Spanish Harlem" that anyone ever recorded. If the material here has a certain glow that the Mamas & the Papas' subsequent LPs lacked, that may be due in part to the extensive rehearsal and the exhilaration of their first experience in the studio, but also a result of the fact that it was recorded before the members' personal conflicts began interfering with their ability to work together. The work was all spontaneous and unforced here, as opposed to the emotional complications that had to be overcome before their next sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears (Audio CD)
Back in the swinging 60s, you couldn't turn the radio on without hearing a Mamas and Papas song (at least Stateside). The songs were great and the harmonies silky smooth. Loved this album back then and, now that it's released on CD, I can enjoy it again. Nostalgia at its finest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but.........., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears (Audio CD)
The M & Ps are one of those bands whose Best Of album is possibly all you will ever need. Most of the best tracks on this fine album are on the compilation, plus obviously a lot more beside. As they mostly were in those days, this is a very short album, yet the band still manage to include two real stinkers ! Luckily they are the last two tracks, so easy to just eject the cd at track 11. Mama Cass has such a gorgeous, uplifting voice, that it is hard to imagine her coming up with a duffer, but sadly I reckon her version of "The In Crowd" is really off. Leave this one to the Ferryman. One star off for these two tracks. The other ten track are "groovy" though - simple enough songs, but all with the trademark complex background vocalising of Cass and Michelle. Uplifting after a stinking day at work !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Stefano Biggi (genoa (italy)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears (Audio CD)
every song is a classic,it epitomises the spirit of the 60's,do you wanna dance one of my favourite,monday monday reminds me of that dreadful day,it is depised all over the world,monday is the worst day of the week everywhere! apart from that there is great music and singing throughout the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mams & papas, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a great sixtes group takes me back, yes it is down to good music every time. every song on this album is verygood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 7 May 2013
By 
Linda Smith "50s fan" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Mamas and the Papas at their best. Have always liked them and this took me back to when I was young and free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mamas & Papas CD, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears (Audio CD)
What can I say about this product I love the Mamas & Papas a favorite group when I was a young lad, delivery good, product top class I would but from this supplier again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic masturbation, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears (Audio CD)
Monday Monday, California Dreaming = exception songs and arrangements - the rest of this album is tripe. Save your money and download the two songs mentioned. The rest of the album is sickly singing dirges - nothingness covers poorly performed and recorded. A complete waste of ear-space.
I managed to get my copy for 98p, thought there are some around for 01p. If you must have a complete collection of Mamas and Pap, then I suggest you pay the second-hand stores a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears
If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears by Mamas & Papas (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews