Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tori's Strength
Tori Amos is one my favourite singers of all time her thought provoking messages with beautiful lyrics and a sense of comfort she brings to her music which is what fans globally have fallen in love with over the years. ""From The Choirgirl Hotel" is her fourth album and her most beloved among fans, a very dark, painful album in which during the recording process Amos...
Published on 6 Dec 2006 by Phill

versus
2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars alright....
having listened to two albums previously, 'Tales' and 'Venus and back' i was to say slightly dissappointed with the tracks on this album. I suppose buying a 'best of' as my first Amos album was not the best way to start listening to her music, but as well as this i just found the songs slightly boring and not as moving as some other songs from previous albums: Tear in...
Published on 27 April 2007 by Ms. Bg Palumbo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tori's Strength, 6 Dec 2006
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
Tori Amos is one my favourite singers of all time her thought provoking messages with beautiful lyrics and a sense of comfort she brings to her music which is what fans globally have fallen in love with over the years. ""From The Choirgirl Hotel" is her fourth album and her most beloved among fans, a very dark, painful album in which during the recording process Amos suffered several miscarriage 'Choirgirl' being the end result.

1.Spark - One of her best songs shes ever written, this one definately touches on the subject of her miscarriage and feeling really angry with herself and god, the beat is heavily driven by an electic guitar and fits the song perfectly theres also a line "6:58 are you sure where my spark its" the meaning of this is that this is the moment she knew she wasnt carrying life anymore and the 'spark' was gone if you really think about it this a truly painful song for Tori to sing this is probably why she doesn't play it live much anymore 10/10

2.Cruel - This song has a really sexy beat with it's harsh guitar loop and pounding drums and it's echo-like vocals this song she sings about people who are feeling sad and you got other people basically saying 'get over it' and if they've never experience they don't how you feel that's why you retaliate back in a 'cruel' manner i think this song is for anyone who has felt that people didn't really understand them they way they waned to be understood.This is a very understated song from Tori and definately a favourite of mine without question. 10/10

3.Black-Dove (January) - I never really understood this song it's a very dark song for Tori very much acoustically driven with a great bassline.From what i can gather this could be about a woman or girl not telling anyone she was pregnant and going off to have the baby on her early in this case going to Texas in a wooded area lol, thats what i came to term with anyway i like the mysterious feel it brings 9/10

4.Raspberry Swirl - This is when the animal instincts of Tori's music comes out this club-driven beat is fantastically upbeat.This song is about just being a woman loving yourself as a woman being feminine and not letting men dominate your life, a somewhat sexual song the 'raspberry swirl' playing the role of the womans femininity and basically saying only a woman knows how to please a woman, not in a sexual way but it all ways and from what i can gather Tori feels men need to learn this lol cool song 10/10

5.Jackie's Strength - One of her most beloved songs the song was written in homage to the former first lady Jackie Onassis a song that signifies the true strength a woman has the lyrics are some of the most clever,strong and beautiful lyrics Tori has ever written i love this song i love the line "i got lost on my wedding day" which for me says that even with all the power you still get scared and afraid and it's alright to be weak sometimes its human nature. 10/10

6.Iieee - When i first heard this song a few years ago i thought it was so strange and instantly brushed it aside, but just recently i've seen the true beauty of this song, as Tori has Cherokee blood i feel this is a way of getting in touch with that i song feels very tribal, apparently according to Tori herself the song came to her in a dream by a little boy singing "Iieee, Iieee" in her ear, i find this song very sorrow-filled and Tori's vocals are top notch. 10/10

7.Liquid Diamonds - Another of Tori's most loved songs and my favourite song on the album, clocking in at a hefty 6 minutes this song could be 16 minutes and still not enough and when i saw her live she made this song truly come alive.From the impression i get from the this song is that you should try and make yourself happy before you even think about other peoples feelings, you have to that enternal need to be fulfilled by someone else and fulfill yourself the best line in this song is " A lilac mess in your prom dress" classic Tori! 10/10

8.She's Your Cocaine - This is Tori at her most bitchy it's a fanstically rock song, a revenge for Tori about a woman who can't be the woman she is but the guy can't get enough of her like an addiction, I haven't quite figured out if the girl singing is really annoyed that she isn't special to him anymore it's such a transformation from her usually stuff 9/10

9.Northern Lad - Another sad song for Tori this time she is pining over a love she used to have and still misses terribly and now she bitter that her live is unrequited, it's not as complex as her songs usually are but it's very pleasent to listen to theres a line which she says "I guess you go too far/when pianos try to be guitars" probably saying that she isn't ready or even willing to change who she is and if he doesn't like it thats his loss 10/10

10.Hotel - An electronic song that really gives the album that experimental,dark,sad even to the point of crazy, Tori really lets rip with the creativity with this on singing in higher ranges that she usually does which was a good addition to the song it shows her versitility, the song is about being with someone and while your with them everywhere you go your seeing your ex loves and its either temptation or angry is the main theme of the song its frantic and i love this song its great 10/10

11.Playboy Mommy - Another much loved song of hers, The song is about the lengths someone will go to keep theyre children protected in this case the woman is either a prostitute or an adult movie star and many consider this seedy work but the song is about not to judge the person shes just trying to look after her child.It's a sweet song in a way and a very good one that Tori plays live 10/10

12.Pandora's Aquarium - The closer is a sad song i enjoyed it alot its a song for you if you've cried and cried and you can't do it anymore and your introvertive and subdued,it's a whole new journey, but you've got to metaphorically leave this little dock and come with me to find out what's really in this ocean of feelings.That was a bit deep for me actually hehe but the song has a very aquatic theme anyway great closer

Top 5

1.Liquid Diamonds

2.Jackie's Strength

3.Cruel

4.Iieee

5.Spark

This is one of the best albums ever made and Tori fans really connect with songs from this song fans have felt her pain personally with each record but this was Tori's pinnacle career moment and a true highlight in musical history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Tori album., 24 Aug 2003
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
This was the second Tori Amos album I bought (the first was "Little Eathquakes") and is still my favourite now that I have "Boys for Pele", "Under the Pink" and To "Venus and Back".
I usually tend to listen to rock music so I think Tori Amos will appeal to anyone who ventures out of the pop bubble. Anyway "From the Choirgirl Hotel" is breath taking and sees Tori using a full band (drums, guitar and bass)to amazing affect.
Songs such as "Spark" show off beautiful melodies while others like "Iiiee" and "Hotel" seem experimental but still flow seamlessly with the rest of the album. "Northern Lad" is profoundly emotional and Tori's voice sounds beautiful. In fact this whole album gives a new meaning to that over-used word. Apart from the previously mentioned tracks, "Playboy Mommy" and "Shes Your Coccaine" also immediately strike you.
That said, in time you'll love every track.Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Tori's finest moments, 13 Nov 2002
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
This is perhaps the best album by Tori Amos, there's something oddly beautiful about every song on it. Haunting lyrics and gorgeous melodies as always, but there are darker tracks which make the whole thing complete. There are not many songs more beautiful than 'Northern Lad' and 'Jackie's Strength', even the experimental 'Raspberry Swirl' doesn't let the album down. Altogether this makes for a masterpiece....I'm not sure Tori has topped it even yet. If you only buy one Tori Amos album, this must be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably Tori's best album, 7 July 2007
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
Most of Tori's hardcore fans will agree this album represents her best work. How anyone could not enjoy this startling piece of music is beyond me.

Written during a dark time in her life, after her miscarriage, a lot of the lyrics touch on it, in particular the two songs "Spark" and "Playboy Mommy" explicitly referencing it (Tori has stated many a time it is a song about her miscarriage) with such heartbreaking lyrics as 'She's convinced she could hold back a glacier, but she couldn't keep baby alive', and 'Don't judge me so harsh little girl, so you got a playboy mommy' (the 'playboy' does NOT allude to prostitution or anything like that, it is simply a metaphor for feeling inadequate, and not good enough, because she was unable to give birth to her child.)
It's a dark, dark album. "Black Dove (January)" and "Liquid Diamonds" are two pieces of genius which take a while to get into but once you're into them, you are completely stunned by the brilliant lyrics and overlapping, complex melodies.
"Northern Lad" is probably my favourite on the album, yearning for a long-lost love, it's Tori's tale of heartbreak and she does it stunningly. "Jackie's Strength" is a beautiful song, also.
The album has it's lighter moments, too. "Raspberry Swirl" is fun and dancy. "Cruel" is one of the standout tracks on the album also, very catchy. "She's Your Cocaine" is also pretty wonderful.
The theme of water runs throughout the album, and somehow the melodies and the way the piano and her vocals flow seem to capture this. The artwork also matches the feel of the album.

I could go on for hours about how wonderful this album is. All I will say to finish is that if you are a fan of music, I do not understand how you could not enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 6 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
From Spark to Pandora's Aquarium this album is full of sparkling originality and communication. I strongly recommend it - sit down with the sleeve in hand and an open mind, and listen to it from start to finish. The range in style here is amazing - where some artists would have stuck strictly to one style Tori seems to meander in and out of a variety, making this an emotional and musical rollercoater of an album. From her piano ballads, like Northern Lad & Jackie's Strength, to the more hypnotic experimental pieces like i i e e e, Hotel and Cruel, Tori remains in her element throughout them all, and holds it together beautifully. Every listen to this reveals something new - a real grower. The most outstanding tracks here are, in my opinion, Spark, Playboy Mommy, Cruel and i i e e e. Pandora's Aquarium is a slightly dissappointing concluding track - although the vocal acrobatics are quite incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next chapter of the Tori Amos experimental period, 2 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
Tori Amos is surely one of the best artists to come out of the last decade and this album proves it. From blazing moments such as She's Your Cocaine to sadder, more thoughtful moments like Northern Lad, Playboy Mommy and Jackie's Strength (three of her best songs), it is carrying on from Boys For Pele as being experimental. Hotel and Raspberry Swirl (two Tori dance tracks) are certainly justifying my point! The standouts for me are Spark, Cruel, Jackie's Strength, Hotel and Liquid Diamonds. The low points (of which there are very very few) come in the form of Pandora's Aquarium, one of Tori's less accessible tunes. But the rest of the album you will love! It's also a good one to start with but this sound isn't necessarily what Tori's other albums display. For the moment just let From The Choirgirl Hotel blow you away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums ever and Tori's best, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Riccardo Finozzi "RickySaga" (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
I don't want to exaggerate but this album is a miracle of balance and bravery: Tori revolutioned her own style without betraying herself; she became a rock goddess without abandoning the piano and her songs are as true, beautiful, dark and painful as ever. Songs like Hotel and IIEEE are unmatched. But the greatness of this album lies in the fact that each song has its own life and none of them feels like a useless filling. Even in a dance song like Raspberry Swirl, Tori conveys magnificient energy and in a difficult song such as Pandora's Acquarium she pushes her boundaries towards unexplored sounds. The opening of the album (Spark) is high but what follows does not disappoint, it just gets better, different and the listener is wrapped by a series of different atmospheres and just wants more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tori's best album since 'Little Earthquakes'!, 28 Aug 2007
By 
Nik (Hull, East Riding Of Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
In her first three albums, Tori Amos perfected a dramatic- if inherently limited- sound based around her soaring vocals and piano. There was always the question of whether her music could evolve and if she could ever get a really good band behind her. Also, on the back of the hit remix of 'Professional Widow' (and the unsuccessful remix of 'God' a few years earlier') it seemed entirely possible that Tori could become something of a dance diva! 'From The Choirgirl Hotel' proved that BOTH were possible as Tori reinvented and reinvigorated her music with one of her greatest albums.
The opener `Spark' is arguably the single most powerful and dynamic song Tori has ever produced. This song REALLY rocks and as it builds it is truly thrilling. The subject matter is however, heartbreaking. This is about a miscarriage and the refrain of " You say you don't want it-again and again but you know you don't really mean it" becomes more poignant with each repetition. `Cruel' is both sexy and nasty and has a dark dance groove. `Raspberry Swirl' is one hell of a rude dance track - " If you want inside the well, boy you better make her raspberry swirl" only means ONE THING as far as this fan is concerned! `Black Dove' and `Jackie's Strength' are more conventional Tori but both work well and are in welcome contrast to the more experimental tracks around them.
`i i e e' is a great trance track with multitracked harmonies and an upper range vocal part that is really effective. I can't claim to have the slightest idea what the song is about though! `Liquid Diamonds' is a classic style song given a dusting off with the energised sound of Tori's backing band. `She's Your Cocaine' sounds like a deliberate attempt to write a song akin to the `Professional Widow' remix. It's a spectacular and witty success!
`Northern Lad' is a bittersweet ballad about a failed relationship that features a powerful and wide ranging vocal. `Playboy Mummy' is a return to the subject of miscarriage, in a more restrained manner that is still just as evocative as `Spark'.
`From The Choirgirl Hotel' is arguably the bravest album of Tori's career. In reinventing her style she risked losing her fan base in the act of trying to expand it - but instead she produced her best album since `Little Earthquakes'; one which every Tori Amos fan should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her crowning achievement, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
I first bought this album back when I was 13 when it was released in 1998, and here we are, twelve years later, I'm now 25 and I still think it holds up as her greatest album.

You have to be in a certain place to really connect with the songs on this album, it's certainly not easy listening. But if you're looking for something heartfelt and honest and you have the patience to get to know these songs, then you will be rewarded time and time again. This is one of those albums which transports you to whole other worlds. Songs like "Black Dove" or "iieee" are so hauntingly elegant and beautiful and conjure up such so much imagery to the listener.

When you know what she's singing about on a lot of these songs, it gives the listener a whole new appreciation for this album. Inspired by a personal tragedy in her own life (the loss of her baby), From The Choirgirl Hotel seems to deal with many of Tori's demons, with emotions that range from anger ("if the divine masters plan is perfection, maybe next I'll give Judas a try"), to dismay and ultimately grief (in the touching penultimate track "Playboy Mommy").

If you want to get into Tori, this album is her at the top of her game. Gut-wrenching, heartbreaking, beautiful and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, emotional music with depth . . . absolutely divine, 15 July 2007
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Choirgirl Hotel (Audio CD)
While BOYS FOR PELE is a strange, difficult album to get into, FROM THE CHOIRGIRL HOTEL is perhaps one of her saddest releases. As fans will know, Tori had suffered miscarriages before the release of this album, and this sadness is something that she certainly faces through her music. But, although the songs may be sad, they remain to be beautiful.

"Spark" is probably the best known single from this album. I bought it when it originally came out, even though I didn't buy anything else by Tori afterwards.
"Cruel" is perhaps my favourite track. Tori's voice is amazing and the music is brilliant. Strange and yet compelling, there is a real dark essence to this track. And her line, "I can be cruel, I don't know why" is just fantastic - when you put it with the music, it turns into something that you won't easily forget.
"Black Dove (January)" is a great track. Another great example of her ability to throw out some amazing ballads.
"Northern Lad" almost takes us back to her debut, LITTLE EARTHQUAKES. The song sounds more stripped down than the others, not so dark as some others here.

In my opinion, this album shows that Tori is a great singer / songwriter. She has heaps of originality, not afraid to experiment and explore deep, difficult personal issues. Any lover of true music should enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From The Choirgirl Hotel
From The Choirgirl Hotel by Tori Amos (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews