Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered Talent
Having seen Bon Jovi numerous times, there is no doubting Mr Sambora's talent as a guitarist, but this album puts all past attempts to shame! Fantastic from beginning to end, it proves Richie has far more singer/songwriting talents than previously acknowledged. From track 1 Undiscovered Soul will have you singing along and feeling great, a much more upbeat vibe going on...
Published on 21 July 2003 by rhia77h

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mature Bon Jovi, different singer.
This album is very middle America. If you are in the car with the wife on a Sunday afternoon this is great. Nothing offensive and nothing that will get in the way of your conversation.

Now I know that sounds disrespectful and I shouldn't be because what Richie is, is a mighty fine guitarist and in small doses he shows this, his work on the Spanish guitar was...
Published 10 months ago by Smartin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered Talent, 21 July 2003
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
Having seen Bon Jovi numerous times, there is no doubting Mr Sambora's talent as a guitarist, but this album puts all past attempts to shame! Fantastic from beginning to end, it proves Richie has far more singer/songwriting talents than previously acknowledged. From track 1 Undiscovered Soul will have you singing along and feeling great, a much more upbeat vibe going on than on Stranger. One of those great albums that stays on a constant loop in the stereo - nice one Richie, here's to more solo projects!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you won't regret it, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
Having found Stranger in This Town, and loved it I wanted more Richie Sambora. I found Undiscovered Soul and it confirmed what I already knew this man is a mastercraftsman. A little more rocky and edgy than " Stranger " it shows that not only is Richie a superlative muscician but that he is a far better songwriter than Jon Bon Jovi. When hearing a JBJ song it is instantly recognizable but Richie can turn his hand to any style and does. My particular favourites are " if god was a woman " (he has a good sense of humour) and " Harlem Rain ". While " Made in America " is obviously autobiographical. the guitar work is superb and the voice strong confident and just down right brilliant. I play this album constantly along with Stranger in This Town. I am no big Bon Jovi fan but Richie Sambora I would love to hear more of. Anyone who can move me in the way he does is worth listening to I can not rate this album too highly. Get it you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One song was all it took......., 4 Dec 2001
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
What can you say about this album? There are no words to describe it! I bought "Stranger In This Town" and i was pretty surprised by it, then i bought "Undiscovered Soul" and i was blown away. I had always been a huge Jon fan, but all it took was for me to listen to "All that really matters" and i was converted! This album out shines all the Bon Jovi albums and indeed Jon Bon Jovi's two solo albums. If you think all Richie can do is play guitar then you couldn't be more wrong. This album shows his guitar skills at their best and not only that it shows the strength and depth of his voice. I must have listened to it a thousand times, but even now it stills sends shivers down my spine! It is now my favourite album of all time. It never leaves my stereo. Richie has been overshadowed by Bon Jovi too long, this album shines the spotlight where it is most deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstandingly excellent!, 30 Oct 2002
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
WOW! When buying this album, i wasn't sure what to expect, but being quite an avid Bon Jovi fan, i did. It has changed the way i feel about the band, and that not all of the talent lies with Jon. Just listening to the songs on this album makes you realise just how and why Richie Sambora is not a more recognised character within the World music business. With every word that he sings, you can feel the power, soul and heart behind it, even if he is singing the softest lyrics. An absolutely great singer, which makes you wonder who, exactly should be the lead singer in Bon Jovi. It knocks the spots off Jon's solo album "Destination Anywhere" and indeed every other album i own.....nearly.
All you have to do is look at the other people's reviews on this album.....it speaks for its self! Just buy the damn thing and listen for the good of your life. Would take a huge effort to beat! Well done Mr Sambora......long may it continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sambora at his best, 1 Aug 2006
By 
R. Hutchinson "Roy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
Stranger in this town is one of my favourite albums so I was not expecting this one to surpass it. It has not been off my playlist since buying it - it is excellent. The songs are well crafted and have a good pace and feel to them possessing energy without being overwhelming. A great mix which has some of Sambora's best lyrics. this is a quality album and now i regret delaying my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered Richie, 1 July 2007
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
Having been a Bon Jovi fan for years, like many people I thought Jon Bon Jovi was the major player and that Richie Sambora was one of the background players who just wasn't quite as good as Jon. With this album, I have been proved totally wrong. This is the first Richie Sambora album I have purchased and I had a huge surprise! I was expecting it to maybe be more rock oriented and that maybe his vocals wouldn't match up as a lead vocalist but this album has totally opened my eyes as to exactly how good an all-round musician Richie Sambora really is and is proof that, should he ever leave Bon Jovi and strike out on his own he could well rival Jon Bon Jovi in the popularity and "leading man" stakes. Apart from the opening guitar chords on Made in America (the first track), which sounded to me exactly like Tom Petty on Free Falling (who is a musician I love!) Richie very much has his own sound, and it is much more soulful, and bluesy, in parts than I had anticipated. His vocals are wonderful and, it goes without saying, the guitar work is wonderful. He has excellent backing musicians and Greg Phillinganes, who I became aware of in the 80s, is one of the backing singers, as is Billy Preston. There are no filler tracks on here and every track is wonderful. Fallen From Graceland is my favourite song on here and the backing vocals are wonderful and soulful, but all the songs are very good. This is one of those albums that I will find hard to stop playing and it is equally as good as Jon Bon Jovi's "Destination Anywhere", which I have always loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHEER CLASS, 4 Mar 2002
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
Richie Sambora is, unknown to most people, one of Rock's best singers. His voice has a depth and strength that far outshines Jon Bon Jovi's. Buy this album and hear his voice the whole time!
His songs are very personal and have far more to offer than just superb guitar playing. The writing, production and musicianship is second to none ('Who I Am' was recorded live in one take!).
Buy this album and get to know this underated, overshadowed man! And, if you ever get the chance to see him live, DO NOT PASS IT UP!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jon Bon Jovi move over!!!, 29 Mar 2006
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
To me Bon Jovi has always been about Richie and what he brings to the band, a fantastic songwriter and guitarist. Undiscovered Soul is one of my fav. albulms of all time - you do not get a single filler with this albulm.
To me Richie is the best acoustic guitarist and on this album it is very much in evidence - and when you talk about vocal talent this man knocks his sidekick JBJ out of the window, this man should be given more lead vocals on future BJ album.
If you are one of these people who do not like BJ - please do not let this put you off buying this albulm - the man is the real deal and should be based on his own talents as a singer/musician/songwriter.
Standout tracks - Hard times, Fallen from Graceland, Who I am, and the title track Undiscovered Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete genius!, 28 July 2005
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
For many years, a debate has raged among Bon Jovi fans as to whether Richie Sambora is actually the most talented member of the band. This album proves that theory! I'm not taking anything away from Jon Bon Jovi, but Richie Sambora's 2nd solo album is definitely in the Top 5 albums I've ever heard.
From "Made In America" to "Hard Times Come Easy", this album is full of superb bluesy rock anthems. Sambora has outdone himself with this album, especially in the incredible ballad "Fallen From Graceland". I loved his first album, but this completely blows it away!
Congratulations, Mr Sambora, and here's hoping that there will be more to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly balanced, 17 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Undiscovered Soul (Audio CD)
Richie Sambora was a consumate musician long before joining Bon Jovi. However, Bon Jovi allowed him to play and write the music he really wanted, and the band benefitted as a group effort. With his solo work, Sambora finally shows his true skills as a musician. Far more than just Bon Jovi's guitarist, Sambora plays every school of music naturally. If JBJ is the dynamic personality, Sambora is the true musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undiscovered Soul
Undiscovered Soul by Richie Sambora (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews