Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Thug Goes Soul-Searching, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
Okay - so most people got to know the late Tupac Shakur (R.I.P.) through his multi-platinum Death Row album "All Eyez on Me", which features the all-time classic "California Love". But how many of you actually know that 2Pac was already delivering brilliant albums before? If you want to do this great artist justice, don't sleep on his first three albums "2Pacalypse Now", "Strictly 4 My N****z" and "Me Against the World". The latter offering was published during 2Pac's stay in jail, which doesn't make it less on point than its predecessors; it actually features 2Pac's first breakthrough international single "Dear Mama". And you've surely already heard the bumping title-track in a club before. Furthermore, it's got "Temptations" on there - remeber the video in the hotel with Coolio acting as room-boy? Thematically, Pac slighty shifts away from the violent, highy outspoken tone he had on "Strictly...", and opts for a more mellow, but therefore much deeper approach to the subjects he's dealing with. This is probably 2Pac's most heartfelt and insightful record, since he raps on issues like family, loyalty, and - interestingly enough - fear of death. Don't let the more or less good, although not ground-breaking, production fool you - this album is a must for the understanding of 2Pac both as an artist and as a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rap @ its best, 27 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
this is undoubtly one of the best rap albums ever, it realy is some of the finest rap beats that i have heard for a long time, anyone who is into rap/ hip hop buy it! my favorite songs are me against the world and dear mama it is just amazing how he cud put all these lyrics together and the background music is some realy kool beats bye it brilliant,this is why he will always be rememberd as a legend as the best lyricist ever.r.i.p. tupac 1971-1996.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars your rap collection is not complete without this, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
1995 was the year Death Row was to see their resurrection with a new rapper. 1995 was also the year 2Pac finally was released from all the struggles he survived. 2Pac was released from jail when he agreed to do 3 albums with Death Row Records and work with Marion 'Suge' Knight. As a result, the album placed #1 on the Billboard charts for quite some time as well as being the first album to reach multi-platinum status. To understand this album, you must first understand the struggles 2Pac went through before this album came out. 2Pac believed he was a menace to society in music. The vice president critizied him saying that his music had no place in a civilized area. 2Pac was also arrested and imprisoned for an alleged sexual assault and to top it off, 2Pac was attacked and robbed in 1994 when he went to go and record a track with a rapper. Reports say that about $40,000 worth of jewellery was taken from 2Pac. With all this happening to 2Pac, the album turned out to be more political and showing his darker side. This CD is packed with classics starting off with 'If I Die 2nite', where he sings in a sad voice. 'Me Against the World' depicts his problems with the government, politics and his enemies. Nice touch with incredible lyrics. 'So Many Tears' shows his darker side where he talks about death and how he feels unwanted but 'Temptations' sets the CD's mood into a happy mood. Songs like 'Lord Knows' and 'Heavy in the Game' are more hardcore and heart-filling whereas 'Dear Mama' has to be one of the most heart-filled tracks he has ever written. Words cannot describe just how perfect this track is, definately one of my favorites of all time by the legendary 2Pac. 'It Ain't Easy' is the most mellowest track on the album where 2Pac performs just as well as on any other track. 'F*ck the World' and 'Outlaw' are more angry and sad but 2 excellent tracks you should listen to very carefully. But the track you're really looking for on this album is 'Old School', a classic song. The tune is incredible and his lyrics could have been better but they are alright. 'Can U Get Away' is a song worth listening to but nothing to special to look forward to. Overall, this is a brilliant masterpiece. It features so many great songs outlining 2Pac's struggles and I reccommend it to any rap fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debatably 2Pac's best album, 18 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
This is personally my favourite 2Pac album. There's not one song to skip and the tracks flow from emotion to emotion. He really bears his soul on this album and expresses all sides of his personality; anger, intelligence and of course therefore contradiction. There's also an unnatural obsession with death but hey, if i'd just been shot in the head I guess i'd be pretty angry and worried about the world. Still, it contains one of the most beautiful rap songs ever written IMO, 'Dear Mama'. Wonder if 50 Cent is gonna write a song like that for his next album?! Looking at rap now it seems unbelievable that 2Pac was the mainstream back in 95/96. How rap has changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Hip-Hop Album, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
This is definately one of Tupacs more emotional and expressive C-D's as he reveals his childhood and growing up poor in a classic Hip-Hop tune 'Dear Mama' and raps about when or if he dies 'If I Die 2Nite' and 'So Many Tears' also touching on the respect he shows for black women in 'Can U Get Away'. Another excellent tune on the album is 'Me Against The World' and this album prooves that Hip-Hop tunes don't have to have cursing or screaming down the microphone in order to be a sucess as he raps effectivley but much more calmer . To be honest i don't think there is a bad track and i would recommend it to any hip-hop fan or people who have bought his earlier work. It shows much more experience than his earlier albums with his amazing lyrics flowing with a good melody. It shows another side to 2Pac which should definately not be ignored R.I.P 2Pac your legacy lives on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2pac's best soul album, 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
while many choose to say what album was best, I think tupac was a growing individual and music lik this is a part him consoling with his emotions, though this offering may show his fire, the musical landscapes and vocals are good to balance the soulfulness and intensity of this album, this has to be one of my favourites along with R U Still Down, Makaveli, All Eyes On Me, Better Days,Ressurection Soundtrack, Loyal to THe Game ex the G-Unit clang, this is a testament to hip-hop that its all about being real with yourself, at times I knew Tupac acted as real characters, but this album had no ego in it just him talk I don't like all that gun talk sometimes it gets to the point of supereal, and theres not much of that on this CD for people of all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Superb, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say about this album that hasn't already been said.... Regardless though I can still say that it's a superb body of work that's pre Death Row & released while Tupac was incarcerated I think.. All the producers are at the top of their respective games & although the word "classic" is often thrown around a lot, for this record the moniker fits!
Stand out tune for me............ "It aint Easy"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good cd, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Miss E. Simpson "ellen" (leicester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
love 2pac, always great songs and lyrics ,love to listen to in car and in home while relaxing with a glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in history, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Me Against the World (Audio CD)
This is one of the the best rap albums in history. Simple as that. Great lyrics, great sound and 2Pac, the best rap musician of all time. 5stars. A must for any good music's fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC!!!!, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Barry Mc Grory "mc grory" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me Against The World (Audio CD)
2pacs best album i would say for defss buy this album NO REGRETS!!!!!!!!!!! also check out a good young compton mc KENDRICK LAMAR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me Against The World
Me Against The World by 2Pac (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews