Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars31
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.88+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2000
Okay - so most people got to know the late Tupac Shakur (R.I.P.) through his multi-platinum Death Row album "All Eyez on Me", which features the all-time classic "California Love". But how many of you actually know that 2Pac was already delivering brilliant albums before? If you want to do this great artist justice, don't sleep on his first three albums "2Pacalypse Now", "Strictly 4 My N****z" and "Me Against the World". The latter offering was published during 2Pac's stay in jail, which doesn't make it less on point than its predecessors; it actually features 2Pac's first breakthrough international single "Dear Mama". And you've surely already heard the bumping title-track in a club before. Furthermore, it's got "Temptations" on there - remeber the video in the hotel with Coolio acting as room-boy? Thematically, Pac slighty shifts away from the violent, highy outspoken tone he had on "Strictly...", and opts for a more mellow, but therefore much deeper approach to the subjects he's dealing with. This is probably 2Pac's most heartfelt and insightful record, since he raps on issues like family, loyalty, and - interestingly enough - fear of death. Don't let the more or less good, although not ground-breaking, production fool you - this album is a must for the understanding of 2Pac both as an artist and as a man.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
This is personally my favourite 2Pac album. There's not one song to skip and the tracks flow from emotion to emotion. He really bears his soul on this album and expresses all sides of his personality; anger, intelligence and of course therefore contradiction. There's also an unnatural obsession with death but hey, if i'd just been shot in the head I guess i'd be pretty angry and worried about the world. Still, it contains one of the most beautiful rap songs ever written IMO, 'Dear Mama'. Wonder if 50 Cent is gonna write a song like that for his next album?! Looking at rap now it seems unbelievable that 2Pac was the mainstream back in 95/96. How rap has changed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2001
this is undoubtly one of the best rap albums ever, it realy is some of the finest rap beats that i have heard for a long time, anyone who is into rap/ hip hop buy it! my favorite songs are me against the world and dear mama it is just amazing how he cud put all these lyrics together and the background music is some realy kool beats bye it brilliant,this is why he will always be rememberd as a legend as the best lyricist ever.r.i.p. tupac 1971-1996.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2003
1995 was the year Death Row was to see their resurrection with a new rapper. 1995 was also the year 2Pac finally was released from all the struggles he survived. 2Pac was released from jail when he agreed to do 3 albums with Death Row Records and work with Marion 'Suge' Knight. As a result, the album placed #1 on the Billboard charts for quite some time as well as being the first album to reach multi-platinum status. To understand this album, you must first understand the struggles 2Pac went through before this album came out. 2Pac believed he was a menace to society in music. The vice president critizied him saying that his music had no place in a civilized area. 2Pac was also arrested and imprisoned for an alleged sexual assault and to top it off, 2Pac was attacked and robbed in 1994 when he went to go and record a track with a rapper. Reports say that about $40,000 worth of jewellery was taken from 2Pac. With all this happening to 2Pac, the album turned out to be more political and showing his darker side. This CD is packed with classics starting off with 'If I Die 2nite', where he sings in a sad voice. 'Me Against the World' depicts his problems with the government, politics and his enemies. Nice touch with incredible lyrics. 'So Many Tears' shows his darker side where he talks about death and how he feels unwanted but 'Temptations' sets the CD's mood into a happy mood. Songs like 'Lord Knows' and 'Heavy in the Game' are more hardcore and heart-filling whereas 'Dear Mama' has to be one of the most heart-filled tracks he has ever written. Words cannot describe just how perfect this track is, definately one of my favorites of all time by the legendary 2Pac. 'It Ain't Easy' is the most mellowest track on the album where 2Pac performs just as well as on any other track. 'F*ck the World' and 'Outlaw' are more angry and sad but 2 excellent tracks you should listen to very carefully. But the track you're really looking for on this album is 'Old School', a classic song. The tune is incredible and his lyrics could have been better but they are alright. 'Can U Get Away' is a song worth listening to but nothing to special to look forward to. Overall, this is a brilliant masterpiece. It features so many great songs outlining 2Pac's struggles and I reccommend it to any rap fan.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2001
This is definately one of Tupacs more emotional and expressive C-D's as he reveals his childhood and growing up poor in a classic Hip-Hop tune 'Dear Mama' and raps about when or if he dies 'If I Die 2Nite' and 'So Many Tears' also touching on the respect he shows for black women in 'Can U Get Away'. Another excellent tune on the album is 'Me Against The World' and this album prooves that Hip-Hop tunes don't have to have cursing or screaming down the microphone in order to be a sucess as he raps effectivley but much more calmer . To be honest i don't think there is a bad track and i would recommend it to any hip-hop fan or people who have bought his earlier work. It shows much more experience than his earlier albums with his amazing lyrics flowing with a good melody. It shows another side to 2Pac which should definately not be ignored R.I.P 2Pac your legacy lives on...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2005
while many choose to say what album was best, I think tupac was a growing individual and music lik this is a part him consoling with his emotions, though this offering may show his fire, the musical landscapes and vocals are good to balance the soulfulness and intensity of this album, this has to be one of my favourites along with R U Still Down, Makaveli, All Eyes On Me, Better Days,Ressurection Soundtrack, Loyal to THe Game ex the G-Unit clang, this is a testament to hip-hop that its all about being real with yourself, at times I knew Tupac acted as real characters, but this album had no ego in it just him talk I don't like all that gun talk sometimes it gets to the point of supereal, and theres not much of that on this CD for people of all ages
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
FIVE STARS An absolute classic. Anyone who is not aware of Tupac Shakur's Music in England is lacking awareness of the history of one of the greatest griotes. The African tradition of call and response which gave rise to rap is not taken to some afro-centric political level with his music; instead, his humour, sensuality, rhythm, life experience and intellect flow like no other. He is comparable to the best, a legend. *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
What can I say about this album that hasn't already been said.... Regardless though I can still say that it's a superb body of work that's pre Death Row & released while Tupac was incarcerated I think.. All the producers are at the top of their respective games & although the word "classic" is often thrown around a lot, for this record the moniker fits!
Stand out tune for me............ "It aint Easy"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2008
As a real fan who owns all the great man's works, I would say that this album was his greatest without doubt. It was emotional, deep and philosophical. It was not a gangsta rap album for the mere purpose of being gangsta but it had a message to the lyrics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2005
This album is simply amazing, deep, thoughtful and brilliantly produced. I personally think this album is his best, its also my favourite hip/hop album. The stand out tracks for me are, " can u get away" "dear mama" "me against the world" "lord knows" and "it aint easy". As well as dark tracks on the album such as "so many tears" and "death around the corner" there are laid back beats like "it aint easy" and "old school" to deep beats like "dear mama". But all in all i think this is one of hip/hops most finest albums and is worthy in many hip/hop heads music collection, i think even if you dont like hip/hop this album deserves a listen. R.I.P Tupac
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)