Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the packaging that sets this apart
Surprisingly, "Fish Out Of Water" is the only solo album to date from the Yes bassist. Recorded during the band hiatus between "Relayer" and "Going For The One" when all members recorded a solo album, this still stands up pretty well. Though lyrically the subject matter is more "straightforward" than Jon Anderson's oblique opaqueness, musically this is as solid and...
Published on 17 Aug 2007 by Dr. D. B. Sillars

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album, but NOT a remaster
In case you're wondering why I gave this only a one-star review....well, this was originally for the Wounded Bird release, but Amazon have lumped all the reviews together. So the message, as expanded upon below, is skip the Wounded Bird release of this album and go for the proper, remastered version -- I know I am.

I have to admit, I stuffed up and bought this...
Published on 30 Oct 2007 by Adam K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the packaging that sets this apart, 17 Aug 2007
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (Audio CD)
Surprisingly, "Fish Out Of Water" is the only solo album to date from the Yes bassist. Recorded during the band hiatus between "Relayer" and "Going For The One" when all members recorded a solo album, this still stands up pretty well. Though lyrically the subject matter is more "straightforward" than Jon Anderson's oblique opaqueness, musically this is as solid and sweeping as the best of Yes music. Squire's pumping bass is well to the fore throughout and is ably supported by a host of excellent musicians. These include fellow Yes keyboardist Patrick Moraz on Hammond and bass synthesiser, Mel Collins, playing some wonderful sax, the ever impressive Jimmy Hastings on flute and surprisingly ex-Yes drummer Bill Bruford. It was so good at the time to hear the old Yes rhythm section back together again!

Opening with "Hold Out Your Hand" which could have been a Yes classic in the making, this grand opening shows how important Squire was to the Yes sound. With Barry Rose on church organ this is a stirring and emphatic start and sort of pre-empts "Parallels" from "Going For The One". Though Anderson is renowned for his vocal arrangements within Yes, Squire's multi-tracked vocal parts on this album are quite spectacular.

A highlight for me is "Lucky Seven". Beginning with a nice electric piano intro from Squire's ex-Syn partner, the late Andrew Jackman this leads into a typically tight and inventive bass part with Bruford equally sharp on drums. Mel Collins really shines on this with some beautifully lyrical sax soloing.

This newly remastered version is released on Squires own label and the care that has gone into putting all this together is clearly evident. The album is packaged in a beautiful glossy fold-out digipack which house the CD and bonus DVD. The latter includes promos for two songs from the album, an interview with Squire as well as his commentary on the album. The booklet includes all lyrics, credits and some enhanced artwork based on the original album design. To be honest the remastering doesn't really add much compared to the existing CD version. This isn't the sonic revelation some may be looking for. Maybe there is a bit more openness in the sound and there are some instruments which appear clearer in the mix, but to my ears the full symphonic grandeur of the recording isn't done full justice. Maybe I was just expecting too much, considering it was recorded over 30 years and mostly in Squire's own studio. But overall this is a nicely done, quality package of one of the better solo albums to come out of the Yes camp. Now if only Jon Anderson would produce a deluxe version of "Olias Of Sunhillow"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Fish, 18 Aug 2007
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl when it was originally released and it immediately became and has stayed as one of my favourite albums. This new version has been put together with thought and attention and the remastering has not taken anything away from the original but has given the songs a deserved upgrade in sound quality to modern standards. The DVD is excellent and in his video commentary Chris shows with his generous compliments of others involved in the project that this was a combined effort in crafting his music into the finished album. The interview is also excellent and Chris tells of his musical influences, technical details regarding his studio and instruments plus tales of the time of the recording in detail and with humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Squire brings to the Yes table, 2 July 2007
By 
U Dick "heavy-duty" (Stevenston, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album. Yes bassist Chris Squire created a solo work as grandiose as much of his work with that band but with a twist. His virtuoso bass work is very much to the fore and an orchestra accompanies him much of the time rather than synths or guitar. The best thing about this work is that you get to hear plenty of Squire`s wonderful singing voice, which blends perfectly with Jon Anderson in Yes, but here he shows what an excellent lead singer he is in his own right. The highlights for me are the spacey prog of "Hold out your hand", the quasi jazz/classical fusion of "Silently falling" and the over-the-top "Safe (Canon song)". This has been due the remastering treatment for a long time and the bonus DVD with the rare promos for "Hold out your hand" and "You by my side" will be most welcome. The only pity is that Squire has never made a follow up. This CD, much like Jon Anderson`s "Olias of Sunhillow" and Steve Howe`s "Beginnings", shows what talents Chris brought to Yes in the mid 70`s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Andy R (Swindon UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (Audio CD)
This has been in my top 3 albums of all time ever since I first heard it back at the beginning of the 80s. The sound of the original LP is very good so it is the extras that are the attraction here. As well as the bonus track and promo videos of two songs (excellent - I've never come across any of this played 'live') there are two interesting commentaries PLUS - you finally find out what the weird shot inside the gatefold is all about. That's been bugging me for nearly 30 years :) I won't spoil it for you - just look at the extra pictures in the sleeve.

Very gratefully received - thanks Chris Squire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Jackman tribute, 17 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (Audio CD)
A clinical approach would give this album / package 4 stars, but it gets the 5th beacuse of its uniqueness.

Fish Out Of Water will never be repeated quite simply because - as comes over in the DVD interview - it is not strictly a solo album, but a wonderfully successful pairing of Squire and his old pal from the Syn and from childhood the late Andrew Jackman.

Jackman's orchestrations are so much what FOOW is all about that it seems a little unjust not to credit him on the front cover. Squire, it seems, offered to share his name with Jackman as co-composer, but Jackman modestly declined, accepting just arranger's tag. A footnote on this tastefully presented remaster dedicating it to AJ's memory would have been appropriate, I think.

On the DVD Squire's running commentary on the entire album - while it plays in the background in real time - is a bold experiment. It works to an extent, but would have been both so much more valid, and fluid, had Jackman been around to enter dialogue with Chris. It is certainly a tall order for anyone to perform an off the cuff monologue for 40 minutes, so there are a few awkward pauses in the commentary. However if you already love this album you will no doubt listen to the many titbits with interest... such as how he achieved that unusual, haunting bass effect right at the end of the album.

For me there is a lot more clarity in this remaster over the original CD. I am noticing more little touches, and an overall freshness to the sound.

As a PS Chris mentions he is working on a long awaited second 'solo' album that he suggests will also have an orchestral leaning, and links with FOOW in that he is collaborating with the contemporary Syn keyboardist. However there was only one Andrew Jackman, and so there will surely only ever be one Fish Out Of Water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD-DVD package, 13 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (Audio CD)
I originally bought this CD on a Jap import in the early 90's.
Once I heard this remastered deluxe package was coming out I had to get it.

Comparing the remastered version to the original, I cannot honestly hear
any improvement in the sound. I was more expecting a major improvement along the lines
of the Led Zeppelin Remasters or more recently the excellent Genesis stereo remixes. I guess
it comes down to available budget etc. Now I haven't heard the more recent Wounded Bird
Records version so please don't let this put you off.
The DVD more than makes up for this.

As for the DVD you get the following :-
Promo videos for Hold Out Your Hand and You By My Side in pretty good quality for the age.
41 minute interview with Squire conducted in Nov 2006. Some great anecdotes!
52 minute film of Squire doing an audio commentary with more insight
into the making of the album, backing tracks, recording process - everything you pretty
much needed to know.

Parallels was originally intended for FOOW but due to time contraints of
vinyl ended up on Yes - Going For The One.
Brian Lane took the cover photograph at the Detroit Hilton elevator doors -
Always wondered about that cover.
Squire also talks a little about his upcoming solo album and how he has 29 min of
musical ideas (as at Nov 06)and how although not aiming at another orchestral
influenced album it is leaning in that direction but different.

I can highly recommend this package. Of the Yes solo albums from the mid 70's this is generally
regarded the best. Probably as Squire says it is
the most Yes like due to Brufords jazz drumming and also having Patrick Moraz on keyboards.

One of the best 70s prog albums!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also a must for King Crimson fans, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Dr. Dr. Simpson "WHeathRobinson" ((Cambridgeshire)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (Audio CD)
A brilliant album and of interest not just to Yes fans. In 1976 King Crimson had just split up (again, and not for the last time either) following the recording of their most fabulous album 'Red'. This album follows almost immediately and has Bill Bruford on drums, back with his old rhythm section partner Chris Squire, and as mentioned by previous reviewer Mel Collins who's fantastic saxophone stuff from King Crimson is continued on this album. This is not a Yes album, ok neither is it King Crimson, but perhaps exists somewhere in between. Also agree wth previous review that 'Lucky Seven' is the standout track, compare with 'Starless'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prog rock genius at work, 7 Jun 2003
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fish Out of Water (Audio CD)
'Fish Out Of Water' is almost a lost Yes album, but Chris Squire really lets rip here with some frantic tracks that rock harder than anything in the Yes back catalogue. Armed with ample support from Bill Bruford and Patrick Moraz amongst others, Squire shows the full force of his powerhouse approach to how the bass can be played. 'Hold Out Your Hand' is a distinctive and memorable track, but 'Silently Falling' is probably the best song on the album. Starting off with some peaceful flute, you are lulled into a false sense of security. As the vocal section starts, the song starts to build momentum, until the vocals end and the music starts doing the talking. When Squire and Bruford get going, there are few rhythm sections that can match the raw power and excellence of their playing. Apologies if I'm wrong here, but the Organ solo sounds like it must be Patrick Moraz, and is very reminiscent of the sort of frantic playing he produces on 'Relayer', but whoever it is, it is one hell of a star turn!
Safe (Canon Song) is an even longer track that goes much the same way as the brilliant 'Silently Falling', and the 'climax' to the song (and the album) is taken to almost ridiculous extremes! 'You By My Side' and 'Lucky Seven' are not so good, so otherwise I'd happily give this album a 5/5 rating, but I think that with 3 great tracks, they deserve a star each and the excellent musicianship of Squire and co. deserves a star in itself too, so 4/5 sounds about right. If you like your progressive rock albums like Yes's 'Relayer' or King Crimson's 'Red', this album will delight. A real hidden gem of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 30 Jun 2004
This review is from: Fish Out of Water (Audio CD)
For anyone exploring the Yes back catalogue, or rediscovering old favourites, this is required listening.
Freed from the creative tensions of Yes, Chris Squire produced this very beautiful album, by far the best of all the solo projects in my opinion.
It is a very complete work, almost a single piece which demands to listened to as a whole.
I am biased, of course, because this album is an old freind, but it still gels and delights as much as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish Out Of Water (MP3 Download)
A friend ,back the olden days, (Or the 1970`s as they used to be known) tried manfully to get me into this album. He failed.Maybe I was too young and too obsessed with Anderson s "Olias" album at the time but I just did not get it (Then). However now in my 50`s I definitely get it and love the album to bits. Recommended (Buy millions!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fish Out of Water
Fish Out of Water by Chris Squire (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews