Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album full of class
This album is full of haunting melodies surrounded by complex rythms and arrangements, sometimes coming to a spine tingling crescendo and at others floating through the air to soothe the mind. This album was written at a time when progressive music was at it's creative peak and because of this fact it doesn't dissapoint. It is a piece of work that was underrated at it's...
Published on 21 Jun 2003 by John Wilson

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving, enchanting atmospheric & under-rated!
showing lots of the "Yes" background, but far more acoustic and creative. A bit like comparing old Led Zep 1 and 2 when 3 came out - very different in style and content. some immensely moving pieces on this album; good for cocteau twins fans!
Published on 12 April 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album full of class, 21 Jun 2003
By 
John Wilson (Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
This album is full of haunting melodies surrounded by complex rythms and arrangements, sometimes coming to a spine tingling crescendo and at others floating through the air to soothe the mind. This album was written at a time when progressive music was at it's creative peak and because of this fact it doesn't dissapoint. It is a piece of work that was underrated at it's release but has stood the test of time. I would recommend this album strongly even if you are not a Yes fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sparkling, original and very beautiful piece of music, 22 Aug 2001
By 
Mr Geoff Mather (Middlewich, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
The odyssey of the doomed planet Sunhillow and how Olias, one of its leaders, creates a ship, "The Moorglade", that he uses to escape his world, accompanied by many tribespeople. Attacked by the enemy Moon Ra while in flight, Olias overcomes by sheer will and calm. Eventually finding a suitable planetary home (possibly the Earth?) they land. There are hints in the lyrics that they become the founding fathers of the Aryan race.
This story is the backdrop to a wonderfully inspired piece of musical creativity from Jon Anderson. Laden with atmosphere and incorporating harp, acoustic guitar and highly original sounds that fit the theme perfectly, this is a delightful and tuneful masterpiece.
The original cover was also a work of art, sadly lost in the CD version. I was also disappointed that only half the lyrics were reproduced here. This is one to buy and listen to for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's no such thing as bad press, 19 Aug 2009
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
I nicked a music magazine (Vinyl Collector?) from a reception room somewhere because there was a section on prog music. In the margins they asserted albums to be avoided and Jon Anderson's Olias' was a prime suspect. I remembered the album being played by the 'upper 6th' at school, thinking then that it sounded like a movie and that the band defined 'organic'. Twenty or more?.. years later I discover that apart from some strings and engineering Olias of Sunhillow is written, performed and produced all by the man himself and the album sounds even more amazing than I remember.

Melody is king and there's reams of it here suffused with way ahead of it's time synth arrangements and knee wobble percussion all held together by Andersons unusual voice and singing.

I am hoping that Olias will give us an update sometime and that when we strangle the last breath out of mummy Earth, there will be room for a few no hopers wherever he and his people are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing back the memories!, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
I first had this as an LP back in the 70s but it got lost somewhere. Saw Jon recently in Liverpool and he played a song from it so I had to get the CD. Shame you can't read the cover details on the CD but the music still sounds great- to Jon Anderson fans anyway!!It won't be to everyone's taste but who cares!!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy storyline & hard driving music deliver a masterpiece, 3 Nov 2000
By 
Steven E. Blake (Saint Peters, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
Very inventive and captivating debut solo work from Jon Anderson, lead singer for Yes. Written in the fantasy vein of Topographic Oceans and Relayer, this work tells the story of flyng ships on the warpath. The record album had an illustrated panel story to accompany the tracks. The music is wonderous and the lyrics have a sinister edge to them. It is my regret, despite the range and excellence of music Mister Anderson has provided since this work, that he did not create more during this period because it is the forte of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jon's Masterpiece....., 16 April 2007
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olias Of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
I remember the afternoon that I first heard this album, together with "Voyage Of The Acolyte" by Steve Hackett. These two albums have been played many times over the last thirty plus years and have stood the test of time incredibly well, becoming long term favourites.

Recorded during a time when the members of Yes pursued their own projects, the music on this album is extremely hard to categorise, having an eastern, almost mystical quality to it that makes it quite unique in the scheme of things. The layers of instruments are quite complex and very different to anything around at the time. Jon used the shape and sounds of words as well as their meaning, which often explained the strangeness of his lyrics on this and many of his "Yes" compositions and this style works supremely well here.

The sound as presented on this CD hasn't been "tweaked" for the modern age the way many re-masterings have and so sounds rather thin and lacking in body and weight. I'm not criticising, just making a point that master tapes originally optimised for the LP medium don't always transfer to CD without some sympathetic work being done on them...

Most of you who know the music of Yes will know this album well by now. If you don't, I suggest you give it a try. The captivating sounds and genuine story should win you over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magic that never fades, 5 Oct 2005
By 
J. Sliney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
Olias of Sunhillow is the most treasured album in my collection. I'm sure it had to do with the time in my life when I first heard it (about 17), but Olias was the ultimate fantastic escape from reality. I have it on CD now (it doesn't suffer from this at all) and still enjoy it regularly. The lyrics sometimes seem a bit nonsensical to me, but I've come to see that they have a poetic quality of tone (maybe carefully chosen for their tone) and imagery that add much to the musical masterpiece.
It's hard to describe Olias to one who hasn't heard it. It is driven by multiple percussion layers, multiple layers of vocal and choral harmony, and the synth work that Jon Anderson experimented with ties it all together in a sheer harmonic brilliance. Jon Anderson made this album alone, and there is a beauty is experiencing the intimate spell he weaves. One could easily imagine him in his studio laying down layer upon layer of music. It is both joyous, relaxing, and a celebration of creativity.
Please allow a special "thank you" to Jon Anderson, "for not holding back your imagination."
Buy it, listen to it, love it.
Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving, enchanting atmospheric & under-rated!, 12 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
showing lots of the "Yes" background, but far more acoustic and creative. A bit like comparing old Led Zep 1 and 2 when 3 came out - very different in style and content. some immensely moving pieces on this album; good for cocteau twins fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain's Log...... Good going all the way, 24 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hulme (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
This has remained my favourite Jon Anderson creation. I was there at it's birth, my older brother bought it, when it came out. Each member of Yes released a solo album, this was far the best.When he was playing it I grew to love it more and when he was out, then I was playing it. Jon Anderson at his magical best. It is like being in the dwarves mine in Snow White, gems are everyway, some hidden and but the majority are there on view.
Hey-Hoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Peak Is Reached, 21 Jan 2004
This review is from: Olias of Sunhillow (Audio CD)
This is Jon Anderson's best album. Even after 20 years of listening to it, it still sounds fresh and interesting. The second half of the album is where it really happens and the mix of outstanding vocal tracks and magnificent instrumental sequences elevate this to the highest and brightest of all recorded music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa742e864)

This product

Olias of Sunhillow
Olias of Sunhillow by Jon Anderson (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews