Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2015
Bought this Too many years ago and forgot it,heard a track on the radio and got the cd.well pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Can't believe the number of 5*reviews for this. It's seriously awful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2000
It was a shock when i first heard this album. One, it is extremely well produced, and two, wow..Alice can really sing. This album has a great hidden plot if you have the nerve to unravel it. It also boasts both driving rock songs, and some very moving ballads (even if they are about chopping up their uncle into little pieces!). A very solid effort from Alice, and as Alice puts it "one of my more classy albums". This album also has Alices favourite song 'serious'. A must to own.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
This is probably one of my favourite Alice albums, it was written with Bernie Taupin from early Elton John period (the only EJ I like) and stands apart from the other albums for me in terms of lyrical quality and structure. Its as good as his classics, but for different reasons. It's a 'must have'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
After the almost middle of the road Lace & Whisky, Alice changed tack once again. We begin to hear on this album the sneering vocal that he would become synonymous with during his mid-to-late 80s revival, via hard rock/heavy metal. As with most of his output, the lyrics are sublimely black and even subvert the tone of the track being played sometimes, especially on the ballad, 'Millie & Billie' where there's a narrative concerning 2 serial killers in love speaking back and forth to each other (possibly even a hint of dual-personality syndrome?). Again the artwork and packaging, especially on the original vinyl, is outstanding; his debaubed visage can make for quite a striking image on an Ipod. However, musically it is still rather bland, similar to his previous effort in quality. There are some great tracks, one utter stonker but the rest are merely ok.

Unfortunately the title track is one of the 'ok' tracks. What should have been a red-letter Alice Cooper song is only just a passable toe-tapper. It starts with keyboard which sets the tone as quite mellow and few guitars are brought into the mix throughout the album proper, apart from the excellent 'Serious'. 'Wish I Were Born in Beverly Hills' is more up-tempo but is still only good at best. The chorus is quite catchy after 3 or 4 listens but it's not one of his best.

The album turns around when it reaches track 3. 'The Quiet Room' is very good. Again it is keyboard driven but has the hallmark of a true Cooper nightmare. His sneering vocals are evident and the lyrics have wonderfully dark undertones (and overtones!). It is also very catchy with a great chorus and reminds me of 'Wind-Up Toy' from Hey Stoopid; that's the overall tone of the track. 'Nurse Rozetta' is an 'almost' classic. The lyrics are fantastic - his turns of phrase are phenomenal - and the tune is both upbeat and melancholy. Not quite a classic but not far off. This segues into the wonderful ballad, Millie & Billie'. A duet with Marcy Levy, it sounds like it should be a number from a musical. The similarities with 'Goes To Hell' abound as they are both conceptual in narrative and also in many ways musically. As a ballad it is quite rousing. Then comes the 2 minute slice of genius that is, 'Serious'. It begins with a great riff (both guitar and keyboard) and then carries on, ramped up and really quite heavy compared to the other material on the album. This could actually sit relatively well with any of the tracks on Constrictor, subject to a production tweek. One of my favourite Cooper tracks.

Then it returns to mediocre-ville. 'How You Gonna See Me Now' is a ballad by the numbers that is fine, just not too interesting. 'For Veronica's Sake' is quite good and has a great singalong chorus but it doesn't stick with you after many listens. 'Jacknife Johnny' is a mixture of ballad and mid-tempo material. It's got a nice, twisted melody and has the obligatory excellent lyrics but is forgettable. ' Inmates' is an ok closer but, as with the title track, could have been so much better.

A pretty standard album, just not up to his best. The middle 4 tracks are the best and the rest is ok. There are no bad songs, just not a lot of really interesting ones. If you compare this to Billion Dollar Babies, Welcome to My My Nightmare or even Love It To Death and Killer, it does not stand up well. And after this, even more troubling times were ahead....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
coopers best album co wrote with Bernie taupin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Excellent . All as promised . very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Locked up with alice a cooper classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 November 2014
Concept albums usually don't work all that well for me, but come on.. this is Alice Cooper. 1978's 'From The Inside', his last album of the 1970s, is a solid album from start to finish, and about the only 'concept' record I can see through to the very end without skipping a track.

The album is actually based on some of the real people Alice met during his stay in a New York mental hospital, and the songs here describe these colourful characters, including a prostitute ('Wish I Was Born In Beverly Hills') and a gambler ('Serious') There are lots of Alice classics to enjoy including the excellent title track, 'The Quiet Room' and the epic closer 'Inmates (We're All Crazy')'. With great song writing, help from three of Elton John's band members, and about the coolest of all Alice's album covers, I can't help but wonder why on earth this gem hasn't yet been remastered and re-released?

Alice might have hit rock bottom on a personal level, but as a result of all of his excessive drinking, he managed to give the recording buying public one of his best albums in a varied and extensive recording career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
What an album I found my copy by accident back in 85 and still play it today,it's just so much fun in a depressing kind of way,utterly brilliant production and fantastic songwriting ok Alice can't sing for s*** but we all know that ,me and the kids all belt out Millie and billy and inmates in the car singing at the top of our voices ,getting serious looks from innocent bystanders and the quiet room still fills me up when I hear it ,amazing amazing record,buy it now.........go on!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.87

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.