Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2001
Wow! What a voice. She shows her amazing vocals on this album. There won't ever be another album where there are such gems as "The Gunman" and "Angels running". Amazing pop songs, like "One by one, walking in memphis", to the jazzy "Wouldnt treat a dog", to the rocky, "dont come around tonite" to the soulful, "Its a mans world". Never has cher shown her vocal talents in the way she has in this album. With a bright and beautiful falscetto, and a peircing vibrato, who can knock her down? A voice, that we didnt hear on beleive, but we know is inside her, is on this album!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
There are many reasons to buy this album. I won't echo the other reviews here, instead I'd advise you to check whether you're purchasing the UK version of the CD or the import. Because depending on the version you're in for quite different albums.

The UK version clocks in at 14 tracks with the import running shorter at 11 - and the track sequencing is radically different between the two. The three tracks that are removed from the import are `I wouldn't treat a dog', `The shape of things to come' and `Don't come around tonite'; and if you like any of the three tracks then Cher's interpretation will probably swing it in favour of the UK edition.

But it isn't just the number of tracks that is the difference, the import opens with five tracks that were totally remixed for the US market and `The gunman' is re-edited for the import too. The five remixes are aimed at a more urban/soul market and, for the most part, work. However, the `One by One' remix totally removes the guitars and rock-anthem feel from the original Stephen Lipson production, but doesn't feature Melle Mel - a collaborator introduced for the single release in America. The remaining remixes - `Not Enough Love in the World', `Angels Running', `What about the moonlight', `Paradise is Here'- are equally laid-back which may not suit all British fans' tastes.

The re-edit of `The Gunman' is a treat. The production is the same as the UK version, but Cher's talking is missing. As a track I prefer it to the UK edition version.

While both versions have the same sleeve on the front, the inner artwork uses different pictures. With the shorter track list the import looks less cluttered. And, if you're lucky, you may get the limited edition hologram version of the import CD - I did!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
After hearing the Walker Brothers' classic "The sun ain't gonna shine anymore" on the X-files, I tracked down this album, and it was worth it. To sound even better than Scott Walker is saying something, and Cher does. These songs really suit her voice. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I have given this product a 5 star rating because a relative who is a 'Cher' fan listens to this CD often and really appreciated receiving. The front cover is imaginative with 'Cher' holding a snake. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 July 2007
I've always been first and foremost a fan of Cher's 'comeback' recordings from the late 1980s and early 1990s, when she successfully established herself as a powerful female rock vocalist to be reckoned with. When I saw a copy of 'It's A Man's World', an album I hadn't even heard of, it somehow didn't look like it was from the same 'era', but I decided to buy it anyway, and I'm glad that I did.

Released in 1995, the album opens with an impressive and soulful rendition of ''Walking In Memphis'', quickly followed up by a solid rocker with ''One By One''. Cher's voice is haunting, and you can't argue with her unique rich vocals. The equally soulful ''I'm Blowing Away'' is another highlight but, if I'm honest, every track on this album is good. There are no songs which sound like filler to me, just 14 great tracks for an almost perfect R&B record.

'It's A Man's World' is a very different style from her more commercial material, and one that Cher would never revisit, but it was a good one, and I wish she'd made more albums like it.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
A little known Cher album by all accounts, but one of her best by a country mile. All very smooth stuff, little of the rock style she's better known for but very nice ballads. Highly recommended. Only reason for just 4 stars is that there is one track that doesn't seem to fit, and I'm not too keen, but overall this is a superb album, well worth a listen if you want something a little different from run of the mill rock or pop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2006
This uk original edition of this marvelous album is my favorite Cher music.The voice is marvelously soulful.The title song is a whole new take on the James Brown penned song.Her voice is haunted and stripped of veneer.The other songs are produced really well too.The sun ain't gonna shine is fantastically sung,not to mention the under-rated Gunman.It rivals Pegge Lee's Is that all there is.
If there was one album that Cher has made that deserves accolades for heattful singing it's this one.I love this music...Cher ,come back with an album with singing this good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2003
This album precedes the happened one of the fortunate "Believe". When happening exited not collected a large one (Album reach #10 UK top chart). As kind is various from the style of Cher. The single ones extracted were: "Walking in Memphis" (#11 UK top chart), "One by one" (#7 UK top chart), "Not enough love in the world" (#31 UK top chart), "The sun ain' t gonna shine anymore" (#26 UK top chart), and "Paradise is to here" (Not charted). Fortunately the album has been revalued in the time and personally I find that it is one of the jobs more resolutions than Cher.
To buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2004
"It's A Man's World" is Cher's best work, her voice is more than gorgeous, it sound more powerful than ever, the lyrics are wonderful.Arrangement and mixing work is very well done. Unfortunatelly this album did not have a good promotion, and in America only sold 800.000 copies. Suggested tracks: "One By One" , "Not enough love in the world", "Angels Running", "Sun ain't gonna shine anymore", "paradise is here" "I'm blowing Away".
I also reccomend you to purchase the American version of this album...It's better yet.
CHER is the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
No one can doubt Cher's longevity as an artist, but her vocal talents have often been overshadowed by her toy boys, alleged surgeries and her outfits. This is the album that proves that whatever else Cher is, she is a singer of some considerable vocal talent. Standouts include "Angels Running", "The Gunman" and "One By One", but in truth all the tracks are excellent. If you only buy one Cher album, this should be the one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.