Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the most part a good album with a blues/folk feel
"For the most part a good album with a blues/folk feel and some rather angry and cynical lyrics. The best known songs here are the saucy 'Don' Marry Her' and the social commentary - 'Rotterdam'. There are several songs about social ills from the mind and emotions of the afflicted, exploring themes from the mind of a prostitute - 'Mirror', an alcoholic-'Liar's Bar', the...
Published 11 months ago by Gary Selikow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blue is the colour
Some I really really like and some not too keen on.. nice to have and own and know that its there.
Published 8 months ago by Nighthawk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have someone elses fun, 29 Aug 2006
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
There is a criminally overlooked gem on this album called "Have Fun" which rates as one of the most moving and profound things to come from the nail-bitten bic pen of Heaton and Rotheray.

On the whole this album is polished and contains the hit-singles "Rotterdam" and "Don't Marry Her." These are quality tunes but there are a handful of other gems on here. "Liars Bar" is sublime in its Bukowskian swagger (or should that be stagger?) ; "Blackbird..." is a lonesome, plaintive gem ; "The Sound of North America" is rather lovely and "Alone" is a fantastic closer.

What lets "Blue Is The Colour" down are tracks like "Little Blue" which should have been left on the cutting room floor. "Mirror" should have been left for a B-side and "One God" has a pretty tune but clumsy and meaninglessly offensive lyrics.

Buy for "Have Fun" and the handful of other strong tunes.

Heaton and Rotheray prove their mettle once again as songwriters but quality control lets down the album on the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb. The best album TBS have produced, 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
A fantastic album, showing the true strengths of the band. Two of the songs - 'Dont Marry Her' and ' Rotterdam' are probably well known, even to those who are not fans. But in my opinion, the best songs on the album are 'Little Blue', 'Have Fun' and 'Liars Bar'. These three songs are brilliantly written, and in the case of 'Liars Bar' combines the sublime talent of two great singers. I believe this should have been released as a single. The exchanges between Paul and Jacqui remind me a lot of my favourite TBS song - 'A Little Time' - which has a similar style of exchanges featuring Paul and an old member Briana Corrigan, who was almost as good as Jacqui is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
Very good album some great tracks on it and at fair price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
Great service and an excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
Fantastic, just as I remember them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 25 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
used to play this CD years ago while traveling up north and just had to get myself another copy. Always skip the first track (to miss the swearing) when i have youngsters traveling with me. but brilliant music all the same. Cant help but to sing along to most tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As nature (or Don Rotheray) intended, 10 Mar 2009
By 
I. K. Innes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
This has to be my favourite with the two local radio standards "Don't marry her" and "Amsterdam" to try and sing along with. Of course they play the euphemistic version, personally I'd rather have the original and here tis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening with beautiful melodies, 1 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite abulms by the Beatiful South. All the tracks are beatifully sung combined with very pleasant tunes. There are a fair number of solos by female vocalist,Jacqui who has a a very pretty voice. Amoung my favourite tracks are :- Don't marry her, Little Blue, The Sound Of North America, Have Fun, Rotterdam and One God. Have Fun should have been released as a single it is a lovely duo between Paul and Jacqui. The Beatiful South are one of the few acts I like in modern music.
Paul Heaton and David Rothary are excellent song writers but certain lyrics in track one of this album are not in keeping with an otherwise beatiful song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The decline of The Beautiful South, 16 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Is The Colour (Audio CD)
I'm a massive fan of The Beautiful South. I'm not just one of these people that bought Carry On Up The Charts and then bought the rest of the CD's. I'm a true fan and I'll write a true opinion of this CD. This is by far the worst album that the band have done. PD Heaton has left most of the singing to Dave and Jackie leaving the album missing that something that the other CD's have. Don't get me wrong, Dave and Jackie are great singers but PD Heaton is the man we all buy the albums to hear. There are still sonme great tracks on the album but if you want to buy a CD buy 0898 or Welcome To.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Is The Colour
Blue Is The Colour by Beautiful South (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews