Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2004
This album is the follow up of the Cure's landemark Pornography 1982 album. Recorded in the next year, Japanese Whispers introduces some new comcepts in their music, and I think that most of the songs in this album are among the ones you imediatly recall when you think of Cure. The band creates here a sound that, far from being mainstream, will be understand both by Cure fans and mainstream ones. And this is one of the things I like about Whispers. You can put in on, and no one in the room will complain about the music. Try that with Pornography (which I think is a better album, thou) and you will have to pull from your diplomatick skills... So, if you are a casual listener of music, I think this is a very good entry in the Cure Universe. But if you understand and like the goth thing, postpone this one and get Seventeen Seconds, Faith and Pornography albuns first. But dont forget to come to this one after.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 September 2006
Japanese Whispers contains the three singles (and attendant B-Sides)that briefly made Robert Smith a bonafide popstar.Let's Go To Bed,The Walk and best of all,The Lovecats.Although The Walk is a bit too similar to Blue Monday for some,they are still good enough to rank with The Cure's best singles of the eighties(The Caterpillar,Charlotte Sometimes,Lullaby,Inbetween Days,etc,etc,etc).The B-Sides are also great-the dreamy Peter Hook bass of Just One Kiss,the synth-pop The Dream,the jazzy Speak My Language,the good enough to be a single The Upstairs Room and the re-recorded (from a free flexidisc)Lament.Obviously if you have the Join The Dots B-Sides/Rarities boxset,this probably isn't worth getting,but on a purely musical level,this is superlative.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
This album features two of The Cures greatest hits 'Love Cats' & 'Let's Go To Bed', which to me is a break through for the band since Seventeen Seconds, with songs that are more approachable to a wider market who weren't too keen on their moody material in Pornography.
For The Cure, it is a contemporary album since most of the tracks were computerized, which isn't really my sort of thing, but Robert Smith & Lol Tolhurts seemed to pull it off quite well in songs like 'The Walk', which introduces their quirky stuff.
It then goes on to jazzy themed songs like 'Speak My Language' which to me sounds like a song from The Doors with their robust piano playing, although, Smith's vocals are still as unique as ever.

It is sometimes hard to tell what the lyrics mean, some come out quite derranged, and fun as he shouts 'LIKE A JAPANESE BABY', his metaphors remain cryptic and arguable at describing. But it is easy to listen to with a variety of different types of songs, for a short album, it isn't bad at all if you're mad about the 80's at 17.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Brilliant album of singles. I listened to this on 12inch as a angst ridden teenager in the 80's and its just as good now!! The Cure 30 years on are still as fresh and will never date!! Big love to Robert Smith!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2005
The mini album that saw them drift away from the dark worlds of Faith and Pornography and dabble in light pantomime pop for the first time. I may be going against the grain somewhat to suggest that the poorest offerings here are The Love Cats and Speak My Language, but heck... that's my opinion. The rest retain an element of synth and bass intrigue for repeat listenings. It's worth getting but it doesn't feel like an album, more like what it is... a collection of singles and B-sides
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
Not an actual studio album this is a collection of three singles and B sides released between their third album Pornography and fourth album The Top.

Containing the fantastic Let's Go To Bed, the mesmerising The Walk and the haunting La Ment, the other five tracks are equally good.

This was where The Cure ditched the Gothic Angst and began to re-invent themselves as one of the greatest live stadium bands in the world.

A definite five star compilation.

Very Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 January 2015
This is my favourite Cure album of the lot, perhaps a surprising choice given the depth of their back catalogue but this compilation leaves you aching for more. Subtitled "The Cure Singles Nov 82-Nov 83" it's just that - three singles with five supporting b-sides lasting just twenty eight and a half minutes. But what a journey. Capturing the band in a transitional phase things kick off with "Let's Go To Bed", with the remaining A sides "The Walk" and perhaps their most well known hit "The Lovecats" opening and closing the original side 2 respectively. The quality of all the b-sides is superb, certainly many of The Cure's peers must have looked on in wonder at how the band could effectively 'throw away' such gems. It's an album I return to often, it repays repeated listening and most importantly shows the power of Robert Smith and Lol Tolhurst's writing. At this point they could do no wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Had it on vinyl, needed it on CD, takes me back to my bedroom when I was 15 years old
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
Brill album, good price, fast service from these guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Classic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.