Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frida and Agnetha 'Shining'
Once 1992's "Abba Gold" compilation had reawakened the world to the supergroup forever (despite it STILL not being a complete anthology of all their wonderful hits), other Abba or related releases have been out every year since ('Abba More Gold'-which should have been the second part of the first CD anyway appeared the year after), and now they're finally being recognised...
Published on 7 Jan 2009 by ScottPaul ScottPaul

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chalk & Cheese (but worth the low price)
There is only one real selling point for fans: this album marks the first appearance on CD for three B-sides ('You're there', 'That's tough' and 'Turn the world around'). Otherwise, this compilation only barely works.

The alternation between Frida's rockier tracks and Agnetha's MOR/pop tunes wears thin almost straight away. Obviously, the easy way around...
Published on 15 May 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frida and Agnetha 'Shining', 7 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
Once 1992's "Abba Gold" compilation had reawakened the world to the supergroup forever (despite it STILL not being a complete anthology of all their wonderful hits), other Abba or related releases have been out every year since ('Abba More Gold'-which should have been the second part of the first CD anyway appeared the year after), and now they're finally being recognised not just for their brilliance, but also for the limitless impact they've had on everyone from genuine talents to the sickening and excreable X-Factor rubbish, it was obligatory some interest be fed for the owners of those Abba voices, and the tunes both vocal princesses recorded before, during and after Abba folded. This first mass-produced value item concentrates on only the post-ABBA tracks most likely of interest to the average spender, not least for the English vocals, and whilst I've always prefered Frida's more dynamic and experimental approach, the first discordant note this collection strikes is in an entirely unbalanced single category. While both queens have seven songs each, only three of Agnetha's songs present were singles, and two of them from the very first album, leaving off any non-album singles and releases from her last 80s record! Frida may have had only two 80s albums to draw from, and even less non-album singles, but she still has almost twice the number of singles as Agnetha! What was Spectrum/Universal thinking?

The public generally prefered Agnetha's tender and simpler approach, presumably as she was their Abba favourite, yet a truthful listener may find it's the Frida songs that have grown in stature over the years and stay memorable, and Frida was always more gutsy, more willing to throw herself into the songs, unafraid of tackling heartache and turmoil in plain view of the world, yet not being a victim. Nonetheless, since I've purchased Agnetha's 1998 compilation 'That's Me'-a proper greatest hits that collects all her 80s singles, it tweaked my interest in her other songs and I recently ordered all her 80s albums and am now realising that not every tune represents slender-bodied, simple-structured approach at little variance with one another as I once thought. All in all, not a bad song present, but Spectrum/Epic have made it more a Frida showcase whether accidental or not; her stronger presence wallpapering Agnetha's general accompaniment, especially with the thundering 'I Know There's Something Going On', the swirling majesty of experimental non-chorus folk-rocker 'To Turn The Stone', snide, sarcastic B-side 'That's Tough' and incredible title track from second album "Shine", and it's just as well the song order continually swaps between them, as I, Abba fan that I am, would probably hardly listen to Agnetha's at all after a time, an attitude I now thankfully know as utterly unthinkable and this is entirely down to Spectrum/Epic's shocking inability to add any amount of other Agnetha singles-as five years later out came her long-awaited hit compilation "That's Me" which immediately connected me to a fine and masterful line of 80s releases-'Can't Shake Loose', 'The Last Time', 'The Way You Are', 'One Way Love' etc. No wonder Agnetha suffers on what is still a fun collection but Frida does have a glitch-moment-not her fault but the rather insidous old man Collins, with whom she shares thedistastefully hearty 'Here We'll Stay' with, and its generally the drill-voiced, overrated, ant-sized and big-headed serial divorcee Phil Collins pushing it into 'bleurgh!' territory. Still, if the album can be divided, Frida's part would get 9/10 andAgnetha 6.5-7/10-owing to an extremely weak singles showing.

Naturally this CD is nothing less than an enjoyable listen, yet it's an utterly redundant one to own, if, like many Abba fans, you were wise or aware enough to buy both Frida's cracking two 80s original albums, and Agnetha's very fine 80s representatives too, especially since all five have been remastered since 2005, all containing bonus tracks, and thankfully a Phil Collins-free version of 'Here We'll Stay' which instantly improves it, though sadly Frida's 'Time/Belle' duet from 1983 was rudely not included, and even worse, her little-known standout single from 1987 called 'As Long As I Have You' being even rarer, and to my knowledge never has been on any full release. I'd advise every to buy all their original 80s albums, they're all well-priced, worth it and both deserve the support, especially as each album delivers enough high-quality material in places to rival many Abba songs and yes I don't say that lightly! None of their post-Abba releases were given the chance, acclaim nor place they deserved, but with each passing year that Abba steadfastly and repeatedly refuse to reform even for just one more album almost promised in bits since the mid-80s, surely these releases grow and should remain ever important. Let's all clean our ears out, erase prejudice and press "play"-repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chalk & Cheese (but worth the low price), 15 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
There is only one real selling point for fans: this album marks the first appearance on CD for three B-sides ('You're there', 'That's tough' and 'Turn the world around'). Otherwise, this compilation only barely works.

The alternation between Frida's rockier tracks and Agnetha's MOR/pop tunes wears thin almost straight away. Obviously, the easy way around this problem is to programme all the Agnetha tracks together and all of the Frida tracks together.

On the plus side, there are some great tracks. OK, so some of them have aged better than others. Frida's 'I know there's something going on' and 'Shine' still pack quite a stylish a punch, whereas 'I got something' is showing its age (despite an incredible vocal). Agnetha also has a couple of gems in 'Wrap your arms around me' and 'Just one heart'. They're of their era but still sound good. On the other hand, 'I won't let you go', sounds like a mediocre Eurovision entry. 'Can't shake loose' is inexplicably missing in action.

This would have been a much better compilation if three things had happened. (1) Frida's singles were always different to the album versions and none of them have appeared on CD to date. Ditto, the 7" edit of Agnetha's 'Wrap your arms around me'. Those of us who already have the albums on CD would have paid a lot more for this set if they'd included these elusive mixes. (2) Both Agnetha and Frida have enough material in the form of singles, B-sides and unreleased tracks to make this a double album. Or, better yet, two separate albums. (3) The album cover: WHAT were you thinking! Five-year-olds should not be employed as graphic artists. A decent cover (with plenty of photos) will help the fans part with their money...

Fans of Agnetha's music woud be better served by her recent compilation 'That's me'. Frida fans, however, are STILL waiting for a compilation album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Collection that Improves and Grows, 24 April 2013
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
Agnetha and Frida appear on alternate tracks and have contributed seven songs each to this collection.I have found that my fondness for this collection has grown significantly as the years have passed .There are a couple of factors , however , that incline me to award 4 stars rather than a perfect 5 stars rating .So then ,please bear with me as I get the negatives off my chest first !The first song is 'The Heat is On' featuring Agnetha.The problem that I have with this recording is that it represents my least favourite vocal that I have heard from the usually superb Agnetha .She simply seems to be mimicking the vocal style and delivery of Noosha Fox (another personal favourite of mine) who had recorded this song before Agnetha.My only other real gripe is the presence of Phil Collins's rather grating vocals during Frida's 'Here We'll Stay'.

I am pleased to report that the majority of the standard of the material that makes up the rest of this CD is much stronger .Listeners may be surprised to hear that both ladies have experimented in terms of their vocal registers .On several songs Agnetha has significantly lowered her pitch whilst Frida has adopted a higher pitched tonality on most of her songs.Both sound great in general.Frida's songs are more modern sounding and represent a more defined departure from the ABBA sound whereas Agnetha's songs generally tend to sound more traditional in terms of how they were recorded .Each of the girls have their fair share of highlights and ,as far as I am concerned, the honours are pretty evenly spread here. My favourite Frida songs would include 'I Know There's Something Going On', 'Shine' and the rather inspired (Stuart Adamson of the group Big Country penned) 'Heart of the Country' .My favourite Agnetha contributions would consist of 'You're There' ,'We Should be Together' and also 'Wrap Your Arms Around Me' .

Other worthy songs are also to be found here for those who are prepared to give this collection a fair listen .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALMOST BUT NOT QUIET ABBA, 22 July 2009
By 
S. V. Kerry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
all the die hard Abba fans will have most of these tracks already but for anyone interested in what Agnetha or Frida did after the 1982 disintegration of Abba this is as a good place to start as anywhere.
The tracks here cover both ladies first and second solo albums and a few rare b-sides are included.The stand out tracks include Frida's "I Know There's Something Going On","Shine","To Turn The Stone" and "Heart Of The Country" and Agnetha's "The Heat Is On","I Won't Let You Go" and "Wrap Your Arms Around Me".
The other tracks are of a high standard and it's nice to have an album with the variation of two outstanduing voices but a companion edition to this cd is long overdue as well as a compilation that includes songs written by Bjorn & Benny and recorded by other artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
a good cd from the girls great voices pity they had to split it can't be easy being married to members of the group no time to switch off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Beautiful voices, 11 Aug 2013
By 
P. Millard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
It was lovely to listen to the contrasting voices of the Abba girls. What a pity they split up. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clumsily done, but enjoyable, 8 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
OK, so I pressume you know something more about ABBA than most people do and you think you should start exploring their solo works with this compilation. Well, you could... But in my personal opinion, the cheap mix of A/F songs ruins the mood because of Frida tracks that tend to be way too slow and uninspired like That's Tough and I Got Something. On the other hand, Agnetha tracks sound cheerful and don't aspire to alternative heights and they really sound refreshing (except for the unexplainable The Heat Is On). I Won't Let You Go and Wrap Your Arms Around Me should have been tracks 1 and 2 cause they are the highlight of this compilation. Also, You're There and We Should Be Together sound pretty good too. But it's the Frida part that takes some getting used/in to. But it will work if you ever decide to listen to this album more than once. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agnetha & Frida the voice of ABBA, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. R. Dawson "Mr R.V.Dawson" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Voice Of ABBA (Audio CD)
It was nice to hear the girls again together, I know this is a few years ago but this brings them back to now or when you play it, I liked this CD, both ladys harmonised has before, an old fan now, but ABBA forever, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa679bdbc)

This product

The Voice Of ABBA
The Voice Of ABBA by Agnetha & Frida (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews