Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for anyone who has heard of Slade.
Every song on the album can be listened to over and over again. I usually skip from one track to another after about a minute of listening or sometimes as soon as I have heard the first chorus. NOT SO with this album. A real delight from a class act. Noddy Holders' voice has never been replicated by anyone and is never likely to be either. This is the best value CD I...
Published on 7 Dec 2000

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to Great Pop/Rock from the 70's
Good to hear all the hits, but would highly recommend the SLADE ALIVE double set to hear Slade at their best.
Hits CD was purchased through Zoverstocks who sell mainly secondhand, my copy was not the one illustrated, again!
Published 22 months ago by Bobkc


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat for anyone who has heard of Slade., 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Every song on the album can be listened to over and over again. I usually skip from one track to another after about a minute of listening or sometimes as soon as I have heard the first chorus. NOT SO with this album. A real delight from a class act. Noddy Holders' voice has never been replicated by anyone and is never likely to be either. This is the best value CD I have ever purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath-taking diamonds !!!, 28 Jan 2001
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Slade are one of the most critically under rated rock bands of all time. Six No.1's, three of which entered straight at No.1. They were the first band to do this since the Beatles. Every song on this CD is a classic. A CD which will have everybody screaming along with Noddy on a "crazee" ride down memory lane. They were the original Oasis. The lyrics may have been mispelt and inane (Skweeze me,Pleeze me ?) but boy how we loved them....It's as if they've never been away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BAND THAT PUT ROCK IN GLAM ROCK., 4 Jun 2002
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD shows us where Glam Rock came from.Not Glam, but Glam Rock.
Marc Bolan started the glam look when he put glitter stars under his eyes on Top Of The Pops in 1971 and the glam look just snowballed from there with the likes of Slade. Sweet and Gary Glitter. T.Rex and Sweets early hits were great pop tunes with the likes of Metal Guru and Blockbuster. But it was after Slades early hits that Bolan and Chinn/Chapman (The guys who wrote the hits for Sweet) turned up the volume listen to 20th Century Boy and The Ballroom Blitz. Even Bowie and Elton got in on the act, from Space Oddity to The Jean Genie. (Bowie) and Your Song to Saturday Nights All Right For Fighting. (Elton) All these guys were I believe Inspired by the success of Slades early run of hits.
So what about this CD?
21 Brilliant songs my only complaint is the omission of Thanks For The Memory. No7 in 1975. But which song do we take off to fit it in?
Maybe All Join Hands?
I cannot talk about all the songs, as I do not have enough room so I will just mention my favourite songs.
Coz I Luv You. Their Frist of six Number ones just a great song.
Take Me Bak Ome. Mamma Weer All Crazee Now. Gudbuy T' Jane. Cum On Feel The Noize and Skweeze Me, Pleeze Me. Glam Rock at it's best.
After these songs Slade changed direction but the songs were still great.
Everyday. A great ballad. Far Far Away, from the film Flame. Maybe just maybe my favourite Slade song. In For A Penny. Their last great 70's single.
So on to the 80's. We'll Bring The House Down. Their great comeback single and first top ten hit for six years. My Oh My. With it's simple but great melody to their last hit Radio Wall Of Sound.
This is truly a great CD and a must for anyone who liked the music of that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where did you get that hat?, 19 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Slade were one of the heaviest glam rock bands of the 70's, but never the coolest. They looked like your dad and his friends dressed up after getting drunk at Christmas, and they obviously didn't know a good hairdresser! OK, so they didn't manage to understand how to put the glam image together, but they understood how to make the best glam music.
This is a fantastic collection of their early material, from the catchy 'Cos I Love You' through all their big number ones like the very loud 'Mamma We're All Crazy Now'. I'm not too sure about some of the mid 80's stuff as they never really managed to capture the early success again (hence taking one star off), but the early stuff really makes up for it. OK, let's say 4.5 stars, because none of the songs are that bad. The track order is chronological, but the best thing is that they have put 'Merry Xmas Everybody' at the end so that you can stop the CD if you're not in a Christmas mood. There's nothing worse than a Christmas song popping up half way through a CD!
They were the first band to get songs going straight in to number one since the Beatles, and this wasn't repeated until the advent of the Jam some years later. It might not seem a big thing now with manufactured bollocks going straight in to number one on the back of some crappy TV show, but it's easy to forget that you had to sell about 10 times as many singles back then to get a number one.
I completely forgive the bad clothes and bad haircuts every time I hear these songs again though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Daddy, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
and Daddy said he likes it. I listened in to some of the songs and they were not that bad, to be honest. Not really what I usually listen to, but I would not say 'no' if somebody suggested to Listen to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Chrrriiissssttttmaasssss!!!!!!, 4 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If your not a fan of loud glam rock music my advise is stay away from this CD, but you really don't know what your missing! Slade are looked upon as a the oppitomy of everything that was wrong with the 70's. Bad hair, bad clothes and loud music. But during the doom and gloom of strikes and 3 day weeks, Slade shined like Noddy Holders mirrored top hat and reminded everyone that music should'nt be taken seriously, it should be enjoyed!
From the rousing holler of "Get down and get with it" to the closing bars of the greatest christmas carol ever written,"Merry Xmas everybody", this is glam at it's greatest!
Being a Wolverhampton lad myself I've always loved Slade and armed with this CD, I have convinced many people to grow ridiculous sideburns and buy stupidly high platform boots. Blessed with one of the greatest rock voices ever, Noddy Holder and his bunch of yobs not only made your ears bleed with blistering glam stompers, they made you smile! "Mama weer all crazee now" and "Cum on feel the noize" sum this band up perfectly, loud and over the top! They were in many respects the original Spinal Tap, their amps did go up to 11. But underneath all this pomp and glitter you have one song that remains one of the most beautiful yet underrated of all time."How does it feel" is a side of Slade rarely heard and never remembered. A ballad of wonderous magnitude it puts pains to all the critics who said they were just a pub rock band who made it big. This CD shows all off Slades sides from a career that spanned over 20 years. Glam anthems, mid tempo dittys, heart breaking ballads and, from later in their career, heavy metal!
Everyone should buy this CD so we can start a glam rock revival, go absolutly crazee and generally make the world a happier place. An essential addition to all rock fans collections!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun, great sound, 19 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album has almost identical tracks to 'Wall of Hits', which can generally be picked up cheaper. What isn't made clear though is that this is (apparenlty) a remastered version of these tracks. Someone missed a trick when this wasn't marketed as the remastered version, but there are remastering credits on the sleeve notes.

To buy Wall of Hits would be a false economy. You'd get the songs, but not the quality of sound. Whilst not uniformly excellent, the remastering brings out the 'wall of sound' effect and some of the subtleties of tone that are pale shadows in the earlier album.

This is an album that's fantastic fun, great music rock'nroll and straight on rock, with some melody. Essential for every collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slade isn't just for Christmas :), 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this for my hubby who sang along with Slade singing "Everyday" on one of the Christmas ads last year (2013) I'm so glad I did. We couldn't believe the amount of Slade songs we knew on this album, such lovely memories and a good price too. Delivered by the time stated and well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
As a fan of Slade since 1969 it was great to find a cd containing all their hits at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slade's blast from the past, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Being a person of a certain age, I can clearly remember when Slade were a regular feature in the Music Charts and this compilation has rekindled the memories of how good they actually were. Annually the Merry Christmas Everyone song rings out, but the younger generation have no idea or realise what a fantastic band ruled the airwaves.
I would urge anyone who lived through the seventies and enjoyed a bit of rock n roll to purchase this piece of classic memorabilia!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Slade (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews