Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cher's Greatest Hits 1965-1992
-Cher's Greatest Hits 1965-1992 (1992)-
This is an excellent hits collection of Cher's hits from 1965 to 1992. Most of the hits are included, though a few are missed. Love Hurts is missing, which could have easily been given a place on this compilation, as well as more under-rated hits like You Wouldn't Know Love and Could've Been You. Despite this, the collection is...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by Diva

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
cd broken scratched love chers voice so powerful will go else where for this cd sorry really disappointed was looking forward to it tooo
Published 18 months ago by susieblue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cher's Greatest Hits 1965-1992, 30 Jun 2005
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
-Cher's Greatest Hits 1965-1992 (1992)-
This is an excellent hits collection of Cher's hits from 1965 to 1992. Most of the hits are included, though a few are missed. Love Hurts is missing, which could have easily been given a place on this compilation, as well as more under-rated hits like You Wouldn't Know Love and Could've Been You. Despite this, the collection is still worth 5-stars. Below is a review of all the tracks from this album, their release dates and the chart information:-
'Oh No Not My Baby' was a new song at the time of this albums release. It was released on 14th November 1992 and reached No.33 in the UK. It spent 4 weeks on the Top 75.
'Whenever You're Near' was a new song at the time of this albums release. It was released on 6th March 1993 and reached No.72 (!) in the UK. It spent 1 week on the Top 75.
'Many Rivers To Cross' was a new song at the time of this albums release. It was released on the 16th January 1993 and reached No.37 in the UK. It spent 3 weeks on the Top 75. The version on here appears a live version from The Mirage.
'Love And Understanding' was released on 13th July 1991 and reached No.10 in the UK. It spent 8 weeks on the Top 75.
'Save Up All Your Tears' was released on 12th October 1991 and reached No.37 in the UK. It spent 5 weeks on the Top 75.
'The Shoop Shoop Song (It's In His Kiss) was released on 13th April 1991 and reached No.1 in the UK. It spent 15 weeks on the Top 75 and appeared in the film 'Mermaids'.
'If I Could Turn Back Time' was released on 2nd September 1989 and reached No.6 in the UK. It spent 14 weeks on the Top 75.
'Just Like Jesse James' was released on 13th January 1990 and reached No.11 in the UK. It spent 11 weeks on the Top 75.
'Heart Of Stone' was released on 7th April 1990 and reached No.43 in the UK. It spent 5 weeks on the Top 75.
'I Found Someone' was released on 19th December 1987 and reached No.5 in the UK. It spent 10 weeks on the Top 75.
'We All Sleep Alone' was released on 2nd April 1988 and reached No.47 in the UK. It spent 5 weeks on the Top 75 and I feel it deserved alot more, as it is my favourite Cher song!
'Bang-Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)' was re-recorded in 1987 into a metal/rock version. The original version was horrible, this version is alot better. The original version was released on 31st March 1966 and reached No.3 in the UK. It spent 12 weeks on the Top 75.
'Dead Ringer For Love' was Cher's duet with Meat Loaf. It was released on 28th November 1981 and reached No.5 in the UK. It spent 17 weeks on the Top 75.
'Dark Lady' was released on 16th February 1974 and reached No.36 in the UK. It spent 4 weeks on the Top 75.
'Gypsys, Tramps And Thieves' was released on 6th November 1971 and reached No.4 in the UK. It spent 13 weeks on the Top 75.
'I Got You Babe' was a Sonny & Cher song. It was released on 12th August 1965 and reached No.1 in the UK. It spent 12 weeks on the Top 75.
'Cher's Greatest Hits 1965-1992' is released on 21st November 1992 and goes straight to No.1 in the UK!! It spends 33 weeks on the UK Albums Chart.
Overall, this album is excellent. It includes so many excellent hits, and you can sing along to all of them! Cher is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits 1965-1992, 23 Jun 2008
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
It's most of cher's 80s hits really the best tracks are love and understanding the shoop shoop song (it's in his kiss) if i could turn back time we all sleep alone i found someone save up all your tears and dark lady 10/10 must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A focus on her rock hits!, 27 July 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
Personally, I love some of the songs that Cher recorded during one of her many comebacks. These gems were recorded during 1987-1992 on the Geffen label.

Although she has always been a good singer with a unique and powerful voice, and had been very successful before that era in her career, it is the aforementioned period that remains my personal favourite. Maybe because this collection was released in 1992, it focuses heavily on what was her most recent material at the time.

My favourite tracks will always be 'Just Like Jessie James', 'I Found Someone', 'Love and Understanding', 'Heart Of Stone' and 'We All Sleep Alone', powerful soft rock ballads, written by the likes of Desmond Child, Michael Bolton and Jon Bon Jovi.

I wouldn't say that this was a definitive hits collection by any means, but it does include the big 60s/70s hits 'Gypsies, Tramps And Thieves', 'Dark Lady', 'I've Got You Babe', with former husband Sonny, and her duet with Meatloaf: 'Dead Ringer For Love', produced by Jim Steinman and the song that introduced her to a whole new audience in the early 80s.

For me, this is Cher at very best, the only CD i'll ever need in terms of what I regard as her best material. If your looking for a more comprehensive career spanning collection - you need another album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
A must for all Cher fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of Cher's hit songs., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
Cher is always good and this album is wort buying if you only like a few of her hit songs. I am not a really big fan but this collection of songs is certainly worth having in my album collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chers Greatest Hits (Yes I did say Hits), 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
Great CD, powerful exuberant singer, great for driving to and easy background listening with a touch of nostalgia.
Great seller, arrived very quickly and was packed well. Thank You :-) *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cher's Greatest Hits 1965-1992, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Lainy (Musselburgh) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album. A must for all Cher fans. All her hits in one album that never grows old. Happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for my dad as he had before but it went missing. He was over the moon as he loves these song on the cd, even I hsve grown to love it:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
Cher is the diva of all divas . Another artist who belt out timeless hits this album I have had before and it's that good it got stolen from me sooo I have ordered it again as I love to listen to the great sounds of Cher .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a sure fire hit!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 (Audio CD)
bought this for my 50 something sister who dances round the sofa apparently to it all the time. Luckily I haven't seen this spectacle! Very highly rated by her though so 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992
Cher's Greatest Hits: 1965-1992 by Cher (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews