Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise, Paul at his most experimental
It's good to be thrown off balance every once in a while and this record certainly dose that! Before this, I'd only really heard stuff like "Flaming Pie" and "Flowers in the Dirt" - both containing great tunes but nothing quite as daring or uninhibited as this record. It seems that when McCartney is not thinking about the final outcome and just allows his mind to wonder...
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by Nick Stephenson

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Offbeat, with some great moments
Whoever said that out of the two reissues McCartney and McCartney II, that this is the best of the two needs their ears cleaned out. Where McCartney is an absolute classic, this is a pleasant enough album - most notable for how experimental it is rather than the music itself. There is some great stuff on here though and the sound quality of these remasters is superb. I'm...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by G. M. Dobbs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
I received after a month (written to be sent by dhl, i received it by ordinary mail from USA), but it's a great thing! Deluxe edition gives the real dimension of this record and of the genius of Paul...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weird and wonderful masterpiece, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (MP3 Download)
Who cares what anyone else thinks, that don't really listen or understand. This is packed with more invention that most 80s electro-pop artists managed in their entire career - and came first! Certainly McCartney's best album post 1969 - and one that genuinely bare's comparison with his Beatles work (OK, I love London Town too!). Just listen without prejudice, and admit you love it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mccartney 11 boxset, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
nice packaging well put together boxset of a great album anyone who goes on to purchase this boxset will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Paul in 1980, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
Interesting material from Paul. Contains the hit single Coming up and the follow up Waterfall both strong creative numbers from this incredible talent. There is a terrific track called On the Way, which has some great guitar playing and an echo effect on Paul's voice.Amazing to think this was recorded in 1980.It sounds very good on C.D. with an extra couple of tracks. You can almost imagine him in his recording studio playing all the instruments putting all the backing vocals down doing what he does best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful electronica, 15 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
I just recently re-listened to this record, and to my surprise I discovered that the electronica-bits were the most wonderful. Even contemporary electronica sometimes has difficulties matching Check My Machine, which is an outstanding example in it's genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best solo album!, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
This is McCartney's best solo Album. Everything pared down to basics - just his voice and few instruments and beautiful melodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics...again!, 13 Jun 2011
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
If an artist, even the calibre of McCartney, presented something like this to a major record label in 2011 it would at the very least send executives to the brink of despair but most likely end up gathering dust until the obligatory career spanning box set happened along decades later. That says something about how different the music industry was 30 years ago when the decade of outrageous self-indulgence had drawn to a close and a new flamboyance was rising. Paul Mccartney decided to kick off the 80s by retreating to his country pad with the minimum of technology and bang out a few ditties without too much fuss and bother. Of course, he had done this before with his first solo album so it was not a new idea. Coming off the back of a couple of dodgy Wings albums he probably felt the need to make a clean sweep and, to coin a well known cliche, get back to basics. No question that this album is very basic. You would be forgiven for thinking this is a collection of demos such is the rawness of the sound. Even the opening track and single, Coming Up, has that unfinished, slightly chaotic sort of sound with what actually sounds like a guide vocal and not a finished voice. As you would expect, it does get quite self-indulgent at times but the songs are kept short and it never gets out of hand. Clocking in at under 40 minutes the album doesn't overstay its welcome. McCartney's gift for a ballad rewards us with a gem in Waterfalls. A quite beautiful track with sparse but effective backing. One of his most underrated songs I think.
Although terribly dated now this is an album that still possesses a kind of charm and simplicity that McCartney would never recapture. You will find your attention wandering but it's worth another look if you feel like something uncomplicated and organic.
There was no indication in this album that McCartney was about to issue two of the finest albums of his post Beatles career in Tug Of War and Pipes Of Peace. Perhaps McCartney II was a way of preparing himself for a return to his unquestionable gifts of melody and creativity.
Interesting but by no means essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
I had forgotten this album completely. Good price, good buying experience, good delivery. What more can I say, I am listening to it as I write. Great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 14 May 2005
By 
D. Moses (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
I love Macca and think he was the most talented of the Beatles, but if you compare what Lennon was doing at this time- releasing sublime songs such as 'woman' and 'just like starting over' and compare them to the crap on this release, you know who had the last say before Lennon died.
'Coming up' is a meandering and tuneless little pop song that I grew to like after continuous listens, but has little to recommend it as a song. (the video is really cool though, love the Sparks impersonations!!)
The only good songs are 'Waterfalls' which also has a nice video and a beautiful melody. 'Summers day song' has a gorgeous climaxing melody and 'one of these days' would be n excellent end to any album.
But the rest is garbage. A couple of shallow and tuneless rockers on either side of waterfalls, that I could have come up with ina few minutes. Nothing to commend 'on my way' or 'nobody knows'. 'Darkroom' is horrible and why does Paul always have to write a stupid song like 'bogey music'. The title tells you what you need to know. Stupid experimentation on the voice. (in almost every track and it never works.) Sounds like a far far worse version of 'famous groupies' from 1978.
The worst song has to be 'temporary secretary'. The chorus will leave you cringing it is so bad. An awful number.
As for the bonus tracks, 'Goodnight tonight' is great, but just does not belong on this album, it should be on 'back to the egg'. 'Secret friend' has a kind of hynotic effect and is relaxing, but at 10:30 these is self indulgence, even for a b-side. At 3:00 it would not have been so bad. As for 'check my machine', the bass line sounds like grange hill and the actual 'song' is, in my opinion, one of the worst songs by Sir Paul ever. Absoultuely dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAUL McCARTNEY clean up to be as it showld have been., 23 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McCartney II (Audio CD)
PAUL McCARTNEY clean up to be as it showld have been, you hear it as you were at the studios as he made it for you. Plus on this disc you get an extra disc, you get cleand up songs that you will hear when you can sea him live if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

McCartney II
McCartney II by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews