Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mordant of Manchester charms this man
David Bowie once described Morrissey as one of the great songwriters of his generation. He was not wrong. Mordant wit, mocking (but somehow sympathetic) self-pity and blunting satire signify the best of his lyrics. Mozzer is the romantic poet of the sub-ordinary, and when he can twist a cute line around a compelling melody he is irresistible. His knack of working with...
Published on 15 Jan. 2003 by Simon Barrow

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Second Best of Morrissey
The difficulty of an album called `The Best of Morrissey' is that the best of Morrissey can really only be found on an album called `The Best of The Smiths'.

However, this album was released in 1997 and is based around the four studio albums and various singles that Morrissey recorded for the HMV imprint after The Smiths split. A 70 minute compilation from such...
Published on 23 Feb. 2008 by Ian Wood, Author of 'Here's 2 ...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Second Best of Morrissey, 23 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
The difficulty of an album called `The Best of Morrissey' is that the best of Morrissey can really only be found on an album called `The Best of The Smiths'.

However, this album was released in 1997 and is based around the four studio albums and various singles that Morrissey recorded for the HMV imprint after The Smiths split. A 70 minute compilation from such material was always going to be a bit weak and a shorter more focussed album may have worked better.

This collection does have some marvellous songs on it like `Suedehead', `Everyday is Like Sunday' and `The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get' but they are thinly spread across the whole affair with little attention paid to running order or any attempt to actually construct an album out of the assembled songs. The inclusion of the cover of The Jam's `That's Entertainment', originally released as a b-side highlights the failings of this anthology, its original sequencing was the right choice. What can I tell you, `We Hate it When Our Friends Become Successful'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mordant of Manchester charms this man, 15 Jan. 2003
By 
Simon Barrow (Exeter, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
David Bowie once described Morrissey as one of the great songwriters of his generation. He was not wrong. Mordant wit, mocking (but somehow sympathetic) self-pity and blunting satire signify the best of his lyrics. Mozzer is the romantic poet of the sub-ordinary, and when he can twist a cute line around a compelling melody he is irresistible. His knack of working with creative instrumental talents helps of course, though not everything here lives up to those legendary collaborations with Johnny Marr. Still, there are a number of tracks on this useful overview of the post-Smiths years that breathe the same air. 'Suedehead' is a strong starter, for example, and 'Everyday Is Like Sunday' is exorciatingly beautiful, in spite - or perhaps because of - the distant, boomy production. The other standouts include 'You're the One for Me, Fatty' (an anthem for the unaspirational), 'We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful' (an ideal antidote to the age of guileless celebrity), and the menacing melancholia of 'The More You Ignore Me, the Closer I Get.' Not everything on this album works, but it contains some fine cameos. I'll five-star it for the finest and ignore the blemishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical genius!, 31 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
With no tracks from The Smiths present, 'Suedehead' can't be considered as a definitive 'Best Of' from the band's front man Morrissey, but if you are looking for a CD focusing on his early solo material, you can't go wrong with this 1997 compilation.

The 19 track overview captures the essence of his high profile career. Morrisey has written an astonishing amount of classic tunes, and this album contains the majority of his solo hits such as 'Suadehead', 'The Last Of The International Playboys', and of course, 'Everyday Is Like Sunday' (a beautiful track which converted me to a fan). Focusing heavily on his singles, the compilation also contains several rarities, including his excellent cover of The Jam's 'That's Entertainment', which is more emotional and has a completely different tempo to the original.

If you are new to Morrissey's music or just curious to hear his solo work, this is a great starting point, it contains all of the songs that you need and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 Oct. 2007
By 
Cuban Heel "Neil Schiller" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
I think it's fair to say that Morrissey's solo output has never really matched the brilliance of The Smiths, but there is evidence on this 'Best Of' cd that he's sometimes come close. 'Suedehead' and 'Boxers' in particular are brilliant tracks and wouldn't have been too out of place on 'Strangeways Here We Come'. His cover of 'That's Entertainment' is good and 'Every Day is Like Sunday' is a bit of a classic, although the lyrics do tie it to the late eighties.

The middle of the cd takes a bit of a dip I think, a lot of the tracks sounding a bit sub-standard. But it picks up again when he gives full vent to his strange sense of humour with songs like 'You're the One for Me Fatty' 'Last of the Famous International Playboys' and 'We Hate it When our Friends Become Successful'.

It's a shame he and Johnny Marr don't work together anymore - together they produced music touched by genius. But this is worth a listen for the stand out moments outlined above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some highlights... and lowlights, 28 Feb. 2005
By 
Simon Pickford (New Plymouth, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
Strange - you sometimes pick up a CD and browse the track list and say "yes - now this will be a great album". Then an odd thing happens. You play it and it just doesn't gel somehow.
Suedehead had that effect on me.
Don't get me wrong - there are some great tracks on here. The outstanding 'Boxers' proving that Moz can out-Smith the Smiths, Everyday is Like Sunday, International Playboys etc etc. But somehow it doesn't work as a coherent album. The inclusion of duds like 'That's Entertainment' and 'Interlude' just seem to jar the flow.
Interestingly Bona Drag managed to cobble together a selection of disparate tracks and make them seamless. Not so with the flawed Suedehead, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real hotch-botch of material, but still not that bad.., 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
Morrissey's solo career has always been under scrutiny. The generally self-indulgent star has had a varied solo career, which this collection seems to portray.
After the Smiths split, it seemed almost impossible for Moz to return with anything as good as had previously recorded. Although not as consistent as the Smiths, it would be unfair to rubbish the whole collection. There are many excellent bits to this album : the summery opening guitar riff from Suedehead, the wit of Your the One for Me Fatty and the retrospective leaning of Hold onto your friends are just a few.
Obviously, there are some hopeless candidates here (anyone liked Our Frank?) but overall it is a pleasing enough selection.
And obviously any Moz fan would have to buy it for the alluring cover as well.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not much missing, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
This album does a good job of capturing Morrissey's best early solo work - many great songs but his best work clearly with the Smiths because of the great collaboration with Johnny Marr. It is worth buying all of the Smiths albums and not just the compilations. I bought the triple album (Morrissey: The HMV/Parlophone Singles 88-95) because I loved this so much but to be honest not that many other songs that make the grade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Highlight kicks this one from 3 stars to 5, 24 April 2000
By 
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
Consistently witty and engaging. "Interlude" -- his duet with Siouxie -- is one of the 20th century's premier recordings of a love song. Few groups or artists ever hit such a peak. How this one slip past the US Top 40 is unfathomable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He rocks as always ..., 13 July 2014
By 
Elfin "T H" (London Border - Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
I loved him, I love him and I will always love him - I mean his music -of course!
He rocks my world still -after 20 yrs ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey is Genius, 18 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey (Audio CD)
A superb collection of some the man's best work. Highly recommended for fans and the curious alike. Three more words?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey
Suedehead: The Best Of Morrissey by Morrissey (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews