Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The adult side of New Romanticism
Talk Talk entered the UK music scene in 1982 with "The Party's Over", an album of earnest, overwrought electro anthems in the vein of Ultravox. Though an enjoyable nostalgic listen, it now sounds rather dated and derivative. However, the follow-up "It's My Life" two years later was a different kettle of fish. While incorporating plenty of catchy, up-tempo stompers such as...
Published on 30 July 2004 by Frank T

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Second Album From Talk Talk
Dum Dum Girl : This still sounds as fresh as it did back in 1984 and there's some great instrumental work.

Such A Shame : A personal favourite from the album. The instrumental start is fantastic and really builds the song up. There seems some to be some sadness. The chorus is fantastic and I love the keyboard notes at the end of the chorus that come to an...
Published on 22 May 2011 by Richie77777


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The adult side of New Romanticism, 30 July 2004
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
Talk Talk entered the UK music scene in 1982 with "The Party's Over", an album of earnest, overwrought electro anthems in the vein of Ultravox. Though an enjoyable nostalgic listen, it now sounds rather dated and derivative. However, the follow-up "It's My Life" two years later was a different kettle of fish. While incorporating plenty of catchy, up-tempo stompers such as the singles "Such a Shame" and "It's My Life" to keep the New Romantics happy, it also bore witness to a new songwriting maturity on the part of singer Mark Hollis - a kind of geeky, mop-topped Brian Ferry - and producer Tim Friese-Greene. Even though the lyrics are impenetrable, the melodies and arrangements evince real flair and imagination. Not to mention anguish. I've no idea what Hollis is wailing about in "Tomorrow Started", but I hope I never experience it. The significant thing is that it's typical of this album, in having a stupendously good tune.

Talk Talk would take their new introspective style even further in their next two albums, "The Colour of Spring" and "Spirit of Eden", by abandoning synthesisers completely and veering into meandering, ambiguous territory that sounded like no one so much as fin-de-siècle French composer Claude Debussy. Those are both great albums too; but being an incorrigible New Romantic, I retain a special place in my affections for "It's My Life".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock the Party, 31 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
Picture this! Your @ your mates house, a crummy suburban terraced house. Their parents are on holiday and you decide to have a party. It's 1984. You stick a 12" LP on called It's My Life and get the party spirit going. It's the year 2000. Your @ your mates house, a crummy suburban terraced house. Their parents are on holiday and you decide to have a party. You stick on a CD called It's My Life band a now defunkt act called "talk Talk". This album is probably, by my choice, their best ever album. Such energy and vibrancy is captured in this album, which was rare caoming from other artists back in the 80's (and probably the 90's too). The party house shakin' tracks are It's My Life, Dum Dum Girl (wicked bassline), Call In The Nightboy, Such a Shame and the epic It's You. The track you'd probably play @ the end of the party would be Renee, a bit of a tearjerker I reckon. If there is one Talk Talk album you buy make it this one. It rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a difference a couple of years makes, 24 Oct 2008
By 
P. Gibson "Ageless New Romantic" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
It's My life is the second Talk Talk studio album and it's so much more grown up than the debut. One of the most interesting aspects is the realisation that some of the bands earlier recordings were actually incomplete. The first time that I heard Talk Talk on a Radio 1 concert back in 1982 they played a version of 'Renee'. The song appears on this album with more grown up instrumentation, a really good production and an astonishing vocal performance from Hollis that brings out all the pain and passion of unrequited love. Another throw back is 'Call in the night boys' which was either a b-side or an extra track on the 12" of one of the single releases on their debut album. At that time it was a strange mix of classical piano and a very slow (and pretentious) vocal arrangement. The new version on this LP is an upbeat anthem with full instrumentation which matches the grandeur of the title track. 'Such A Shame' is the same classic that it was in 1984. The album version differs from the single in that it has this delicious patient intro that builds in intensity to the opening of the song...as Hollis begins the vocal, the hairs on the back of my neck literally stand up. It is amazing to think of the lack of commercial success that the band were facing at this time. I remember a school friend saying that he thought 'Such a Shame' was the best song on the LP and never realised it had been a single. Sadly, the epic 'Dum Dum Girl' received the same fate in terms of lack of acclaim in the singles chart. What you get on this LP is three of the best singles the band ever produced intermingled with some intense and engaging album tracks ending with the anthemic 'It's You'. From start to finish this is a winner...one of those few original studio LPs that you will have the patience to listen to all the way through without wanting to skip a track. Absolutely fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Woof Woof, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
On its original release in 1984, the reviewer in `Melody Maker' wrote how it "quickly fires vitriolic bullets of passion into your heart, opening up many wounds during its torrid journey." This is a fair critique of the band's second album and the first produced by Tim Friese-Greene. (The remastered sound is excellent.)

The music is very much of the era - I sense the opening `Dum Dum Girl' has a Gary Numan feel - unlike the band's later departure into a more acoustic and, let's say, `off-the-beaten-track' wandering. What differentiated Talk Talk from all the other synth-bands of the time was perhaps their passionate seriousness, with portentous lyrics delivered with a strong sense of commitment, although I'm not sure what they all mean.

But also three of the tracks exceed five minutes in length, and two of these are longer than six minutes, an aspect of pop music that was at the time perhaps a little frowned upon with its demands for quick and speedy satisfaction before moving onto the next in-thing. So, full marks to Hollis and Friese-Greene for spending more time on their composition and production. For example, the latter frequently employs animalistic sounds in an imaginative manner. (Woof Woof, anyone?)

Having said that, one of the six-minute-plus tracks (`Renee') is perhaps underproduced; and `The Last Time' is a little ponderous; and `Does Caroline Know' feels just like a filler. The remaining six tracks, though - there are no extras in the translation from LP to CD - are worth repeated listenings. For instance, the celebrated percussionist Morris Pert seems to have an original contribution to make on every track.

For me, this is a very good release that has stood up to the tests of time. It's by no means brilliant, but deserves four stars nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True classic, 28 May 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
Thanks to No Doubt for recently reviving the title track and letting another generation know about Talk Talk. They were truly an 80's pop band but were also crafted musicians and great song writers. Each song is brilliant and stands the test of time. A must for any collection and proof that in recent years so few group a) write thier own music and b) when they do, actually sound any good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sing and Talk Talk!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Pubsampler (Chilterns, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of this group, and in particular the extraordinarily haunting voice of Mark Hollis. This album is therefore a must for my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD-talk talk, 12 Feb 2013
By 
J. D. Brooks (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
Great CD I'd highly recommend -talk talk- It's My Life. Bought it for my 72 yr old dad. Loves modern music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's My Life Talk Talk, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
Talk Talk like Roxy Music are one of the most underestimated bands ever to hit the recording stage, bring it all back. There so much boy-girl band rubbish out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic piece of 80's electronica, 29 July 2010
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
Talk Talk were always a different class to most of the synth bands of the 80's. The three last albums they did go down as one of the more extraordinary forrays into breaking down a musical form there has ever been from a previously fairly conventional artist. This is as excellent an example of thoughtful, well produced synth pop you can get from the period. Those boys could write a good tune and the lyrics were never afraid to explore the darker side of life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Second Album From Talk Talk, 22 May 2011
This review is from: It's My Life (Audio CD)
Dum Dum Girl : This still sounds as fresh as it did back in 1984 and there's some great instrumental work.

Such A Shame : A personal favourite from the album. The instrumental start is fantastic and really builds the song up. There seems some to be some sadness. The chorus is fantastic and I love the keyboard notes at the end of the chorus that come to an abrupt halt.

Renee : The lovesong of the album? Consequently its a slowly paced number and it doesn't rush itself. The chorus is very powerful, ("Renee, Renee, Renee, Renee..") and there's some nice, simple keyboard notes. The song appears to be ending and then heads back into the chorus to slowly fade away.

It's My Life : Following the slow drift out of Renee, It's My Life jumps out of nowhere! - I love those bird like sounds. It builds up very nicely to the chorus and is an all round good song. (Its understandable why No Doubt covered it in 2003). The instrumental is great and there's a sense of urgency to it, then very nicely back into the chorus.

Tomorrow Started : Proceedings really drop down. The electric guitar sounding effect is good. It might take a few listens to get into this song, but it hold its own. I'm sure there's some sort of message behind it, but I have no idea what! The piano solo which is joined by the trumpet playing is good, (followed by the keyboard).

The Last Time : I really like the sound on the keyboard from the word go. The keyboard riff is a mainstay of the song and the instrumental half through is nice, (yet short).

Call In The Night Boy : The chorus is pretty punchy yet perhaps its quite a simply composed song, - but does that matter?! The song will quickly grow on you. - There's some nice sound effects during the chorus.

Does Caroline Know : And who is Caroline? - The song has a feeling, (certainly from how it starts) of a song that is lower down the pecking order. That said its by no means terrible. - Perhaps a little experimental. There's cool sound effects a plenty towards the end and the song exits well.

It's You : I don't mind this song and it certainly wants to say something, ("It's You!) - As has been the case throughout the album some great keyboarding. The song actually builds very quickly and maintains the momentum ensuring the album ends on a high note.

Its a good album and if I could give it 3 and half stars out of five I would, but since I can't its back to 3 stars. The lead singer sings in a particular way, which in some respects seemed to be the norm in the 80s, (and isn't these days which is a great shame).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's My Life
It's My Life by Talk Talk (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews