Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic / Beautiful / Mesmerising, 28 Dec 2001
By 
Mr. P. J. Coombe (Southend) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
I have this album in three versions including a vinyl addition signed by the whole band.Okay at one point I was a Marillion Nut...So what compeles me to write this...In two word's Cinderella Search. If you are new to Marillion and like rock - put this song on - the end of the tunes is sublime.
I have had the pleasure in seeing Marillion several times live and to watch Steve Rothery on guiter is quite frankly a pleasure. The man is a genius and in this song he really does use his guiter beautifully alongside fantastic vocals from Fish - If you are a fan of early Marillion this really is the consumate Live Album - BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a class act, 31 May 2005
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
I used to think that marillion were a "poor mans yes or early genesis" but became hooked on them through my nephew. A great balance to the band with supurb lead from Fish. This is a great mix of live and studio tracks. From garden party which takes the pi** to the moving Kayleigh - who hasn't been there if we are being honest - this album shows the whole range of the bands skills as writers and performers. If you havent heard it buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As real.. as real can be...., 16 May 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
You always remember your first live album by any band,it can consolidate your love for the band as in say- Purple's Made In Japan' or if its poor, can disappoint dreadfully,as in 'Live At Last by Sabbath.

This thankfully was the former,a superb mini album of classic early Marillion,where the band shorn of the studio trickery,showed talent in spades,easily converting their music from studio to stage,effortlessly it seemed.

In truth there is no,one standout track,their all excellent,Fish's vocal prowess,acid tongue,scathing wit,there for everyone to hear,the completely(and still to this day) under-rated Steve Rothery excelling on guitar,while the rest of the band, do what they do, with minimum fuss and consumate ease.truly excellent

The 2nd disc,enjoyable as it is will always be a (welcome but under used ) distraction. value for money all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replacement vinyl, 27 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
Bought this CD to replace old vinyl. Gret value for money.
Also have something that will last for a lot longer than the old records.
Good albums that are representative of the band at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fish proves he is the best singer ever!, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
From the sharp humour of Garden Party to the romance of probably the greatest song of the eighties, Kayleigh, this CD has everything. Be transported to another world, the world of Fish and Marillion where things are not always easy but fear not, the big Scotsman with the tremendous voice has all the answers. I rate this as great as anything by Pink Floyd or Led Zeppelin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real To Real, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Simon Janda (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow this takes me back along time. Anyhow, at first I thought Marillion were a joke but then at a BBQ some one put this album on and that was it. I agree with the comment above - this album stands alongside the likes of Pink Floyd and many others. This is a stunning album - Marillion and there ultimate best. A definate all time great and deserving of much more credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marillion reel to reel/brief encouter, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
bought this on LP( remember those) when it first came out loved it then love it now and with a bonus disc of even more live songs brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece., 29 Jan 2014
By 
R. Mcculloch "Jazz Chicken" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
Real To Reel, easily the best live album ever. Brief encounter is ok, but not in the same league as RTR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Live Album!!!, 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
I had this Album on Tape when it first came out. I played it all the time and it still sounds fantastic now. Every song is a Masterpiece, i personally rate this Live Album up there with the superb Live at Leeds by by The Who. Another bonus is the inclusion of the rare US only Brief Encounter EP which was only available here on import containing Lady Nina and Freaks from the Misplaced Chidhood sessions and live versions of the title tracks of the first three Albums. Buy this Album, you won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marillion Double Album, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Real To Reel/Brief Encounter (Audio CD)
Real to Reel/Brief Encounter arrived as per the Delivery estimate. The Brief Encounter disc was a welcome addition to what I originally had on tape cassette, which had deteriorated irretrievably, despite my attempts to fix it. And good value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real To Reel/Brief Encounter
Real To Reel/Brief Encounter by Marillion (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews