Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theme for a generation
Marvellous - no need to say more.
I first saw NMA in Leeds supporting Billy Bragg at Tiffany's night club in about 1982 and immediately got hooked. This lot have never done anything wrong - although I always thought that 'Vengeance' was a bit dodgy whatever the sentiment.
Keep it coming boys - let's hope the next 20 years are every bit as good!
This...
Published on 10 Feb 2000

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the same as thunder and consolation
i bought this cd after listening two 'thunder and consolation' which is a absolute must buy 100% 5star cd, but was disapointed by the ghost of cain as i think it lacks the same emotion as thunder and consolation and was abitdull and slow.just a note two think about before you buy this!
Published on 21 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theme for a generation, 10 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost of Cain (Audio CD)
Marvellous - no need to say more.
I first saw NMA in Leeds supporting Billy Bragg at Tiffany's night club in about 1982 and immediately got hooked. This lot have never done anything wrong - although I always thought that 'Vengeance' was a bit dodgy whatever the sentiment.
Keep it coming boys - let's hope the next 20 years are every bit as good!
This album though is a gem - Poison Street is one of my favourite tracks from anyone and has converted many people who I know who have not thought they would like NMA into die hard fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, 23 Oct 2008
By 
A. Grassam "Slade" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
I'm writing this review to try and increase the score for this abum, unashamedly. A previous reviewer gave it 3 against a 5 for the LATER album Thunder and Consolation. My point is that Cain is NMA's 3rd album, T&C later. So, cain is a historical document and should not be judged against later recordings. Cain follows on from Vengence and No Rest, never letting up in the lyrical intensity but it does begin to demonstrate the bands expanding musical ambition.

The raw punk is still there; The Hunt, The Lights Go Out, Western Dreams and the sublime Master Race, mixed with the reflective, Ballad, and perhaps a hint of the punk-folk to come; 51st State, Poison St and Love Songs.

So, if you are serious about exploring what I think to be the greatest band these islands have produced, go back to the begining and enjoy the rollercoaster that I and many others have been on for the last 28 years. Also, go see 'em live.

Theres always somthing new to fall in love with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album of a TRULY Great Band.., 13 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
There is not one weak song on this album IMHO. Lyrically thought provoking, musically inspiring and sung with passion and commitment. It ranges from the slow but hair-raising lament of Ballad to the high energy blast of Poison Street. I would place this in my all time top ten albums without a second's hesitation. Genius......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stalwarts of the Revolution, 12 Aug 2010
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
Totally original, timeless and intelligent with dark, deeply lyrical sentiments not to far removed from the levellers who seem to have slight more exposure mostly due to the bohemian left wing student population. But These guys started it and are the real deal. Refusing to compromise there ethics or beliefs

NMA are basically protesters both against the big issues but more often the every day ones, the ones in the small mans life and the personal ones of our own making. The appeal of the band is the accessibilty of their subject matter, small town stories that we can relate to. In an age were we are constantly bombarded with celebrity and stories of the privileged, its refreshing to listed no a band who are happy to be just ordinary folk with the concerns and regrets that we all share.

Its just a crime that despite there huge fan base the are almost invisible, Whether that is a asset or not I dunno.

This album in many ways was a watershed for New Model Army, falling somewhere between the post-punk power and simplicity of the first two albums and the more intricate soundscapes that were to follow. That said it is still New Model Army to the core but you get to see a change in attitudes towards the way songs were to be made, a taste of things to come. Justin Sullivan, songwriter and frontman for the band admitted that during the production he was trying to push into new territories with his songwriting, an vision was to bear fruit on later albums. So what you have here is the brash and cocky younger incarnation of New Model Army, the confrontational troubled youth of the band, but with hints of the responsible and complex adult that was to follow.

On the jacket on the album cover is the barely visable slogan "only stupid bastards use heroin" a band motto of the times and the subject of the opening track, a brash, in your face, anthem of revenge that will have you singing along and punching the air before the end of the song. This leads straight in to Lights Go Out, a bass spirals down into the song, tribal drums and distorted guitars join in and your off, exploring the virtues of patience and the mediocrity of life in the rat race and the enslavement of the worker. Like all of NMA`s songs the heroes and villains are the people in your street, your neighbours and yourself. Small stories that have meaning to us all.

The acoustic guitar begins 51st state and this minimal song, also one of their best selling singles, is played to great affect, the words doing most of the work. The idea behind the song has become more relevant in the twenty years since it was born. Protesting that Britain is becoming just another American state, it highlights the state of our nation and, if NMA mythology is to be believed, was the reason that the band was refused a work permit to tour America. Its not however anti-American, its just about the loss of national identity.
The guitar slithers into Western Dream with the now familiar tribal beats and rhythmic groove of the bass. The album takes a turn then into gentler territory and Love songs, a beautiful bitter sweet ballad that points to the direction the band would take for later albums. Basically voice and light guitar over a drumbeat reminiscent of a seventeenth century folk song, quite apt for a band with such a name. A dedication to the times when you are far away from your loved ones, both physically and mentally. Justin would later enhance this formula with the beautiful solo Album Navigating the Stars)

The driving pace of Heroes drags the band from the reflections of love and with that boisterous youthful attitude attack their peers. Ballad can be seen as another love song, this time the love of the planet we live on, a theme that raises its head in their work from time to time. Guitar and voice do all of the work and a mournful harmonica adds to the feeling of loss and despair.

The album plays out with Master Race, more politics, all distorted guitar and bass drum beats, acoustic guitar adding emphasis when need. "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Album..!, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. K. Hoye "Bazman" (Harlow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost of Cain (Audio CD)
Music to sing along to..!
Music to have you bouncing off the walls..!
Music to enjoy again and again and again and...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent album by any other band's standards, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
This is a decent album by any other band's standards and I enjoyed it at the time as a teenager (I hope my folks know they really are my heroes...), but looking back over their catalogue I'd say it's NMA's weakest album. Some great moments and interesting ideas but some flaws e.g. the incongruous instrumental in the otherwise excellent Poison Street and a return to 'angry mob' themes with The Hunt (yes I suppose we all feel it sometimes but when I hear it I can't help thinking about those confused morons who attacked a paediatrician). An important album for NMA though I think, since they were obviously experimenting and looking to broaden their range, and it paved the way for the truly jaw-droppingly excellent albums that followed. It was also to the band's credit that they were not content to repeat the formula of the preceding No Rest for the Wicked (which was a better album, raw and brilliant).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say - top drawer !!!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
I am biased towards this band, and cannot flaw this CD, as a product. Loving my musical indulgence. And received well before time, which is a huge plus in my book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was like new!, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
I expected the CD to be not new so was surprised to find it wrapped and as new. I had ordered used and got like new so very presently surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A highlight of 1986, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Simon Combs (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of NMA, but I return to this album constantly and am dismayed by a previous reviewer's 3 star review. It was one of the most thoughtful albums of its time. It contained songs which articulated exactly how I felt about several issues, in songs you could sing along to with great tunes you could stomp around to and lyrics which made you think. If it only had the 51st State b side 10 Commandments tacked on it would be well nigh perfect. But that wasn't how it came out so that's ok. Anyway, it's part of my history and it hasn't aged one bit, unlike me. 1986? Really?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TIMELESS, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Ghost Of Cain (Audio CD)
If you like punk with a hard rock edge to it,you will love this album. If you like hard rock with a punk edge to it, you will love like this album. This is a punk band who wrote great meaningful songs and could actully play their instruments. Not only play them they could blow alot more established musicians off the stage listern to the bass guitar. Even the production on all their albums was as good as most of the more well known bands which were out at around the same time. And to top it all this could of been writen last weak as alot they say on this album is still relivant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost of Cain
Ghost of Cain by New Model Army (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews