Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing from elsewhere
Seems this is another listing which doesn't show the album listing: so here again, no guarantees as I trawled it from elsewhere on the net, but I believe it to be correct:

1.01 Donna Summer - I Feel Love 3:44
1.02 Lipps Inc.* - Funky Town 3:50
1.03 Jacksons, The - Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground) 3:40
1.04 Earth, Wind & Fire Feat. Emotions,...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Ashbeth

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Faultless selection, flawed assembly
You really can't fault the selection of tracks here (with the possible exception of the Ritchie Family, which made me laugh out loud on hearing it for the first time here). Classics all, and not always the obvious ones.
But as someone who loved every second of these tracks when I first bought them on 7-inch vinyl, it was incredibly frustrating to find that the...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by C. Salter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing from elsewhere, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
Seems this is another listing which doesn't show the album listing: so here again, no guarantees as I trawled it from elsewhere on the net, but I believe it to be correct:

1.01 Donna Summer - I Feel Love 3:44
1.02 Lipps Inc.* - Funky Town 3:50
1.03 Jacksons, The - Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground) 3:40
1.04 Earth, Wind & Fire Feat. Emotions, The - Boogie Wonderland 3:32
1.05 Diana Ross - Upside Down 3:34
1.06 Chic - Le Freak (Original Version) 3:28
1.07 Kool & The Gang - Ladies Night 3:17
1.08 Candi Staton - Young Hearts Run Free 3:48
1.09 Stacy Lattisaw - Jump To The Beat 3:29
1.10 Chaka Khan - I'm Every Woman 4:01
1.11 Sister Sledge - He's The Greatest Dancer 3:28
1.12 KC And The Sunshine Band* - Get Down Tonight 3:28
1.13 Trammps, The - Disco Inferno 3:12
1.14 Odyssey (2) - Use It Up, Wear It Out 3:50
1.15 LaBelle - Lady Marmelade 3:51
1.16 Detroit Spinners* - Working My Way Back To You 3:56
1.17 A Taste Of Honey - Boogie Oogie Oogie 3:35
1.18 Evelyn "Champagne" King* - Shame 3:36
1.19 Heatwave - Boogie Nights 3:28
1.20 Tavares - More Than A Woman 3:09
1.21 George McCrae - Rock Your Baby 3:11
1.22 Barry White - Never Never Gonna Give Ya Up 3:43
2.01 Gloria Gaynor - I Will Survive 3:10
2.02 Village People, The* - Y.M.C.A. 3:35
2.03 Dan Hartman - Instant Replay 3:24
2.04 Ritchie Family, The - The Best Disco In Town 5:03
2.05 Starsound* - Stars On 45 Abba Medley 4:29
2.06 N-Trance Feat. Ricardo Da Force - Stayin' Alive 3:55
2.07 Silver Convention - Get Up And Boogie 3:50
2.08 Shirley And Co.* - Shame Shame Shame 3:33
2.09 Kelly Marie - Feels Like I'm In Love 3:12
2.10 La Belle Epoque* - Black Is Black 2:51
2.11 Ottawan - D.I.S.C.O. 2:59
2.12 Boney M* - Rasputin 3:55
2.13 Sheila & B. Devotion - Spacer 3:30
2.14 Lolleatta Holloway* - Love Sensation 2:58
2.15 Michael Zager Band* - Let's All Chant 3:10
2.16 Shalamar - I Can Make You Feel Good 3:48
2.17 Whispers, The - And The Beat Goes On 3:22
2.18 Rose Royce - Car Wash 3:13
2.19 Narada Michael Walden - I Shoulda Loved Ya 3:54
2.20 Real Thing, The - Can You Feel The Force 3:49
2.21 Sylvester - You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) 4:00
2.22 Amii Stewart - Knock On Wood 3:30
Companies etc'
Phonographic Copyright (p) - Circa Records Ltd.
Copyright (c) - Circa Records Ltd.
Copyright (c) - Virgin Records Ltd.
Credits'
Compiled By, Other [Concept] - Ashley Abram
Design, Artwork - Design Corporation, The
Notes'
'&© 1997 Circa Records Ltd.
© 1997 Virgin Records Ltd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Faultless selection, flawed assembly, 18 Jan 2006
By 
C. Salter "Colin Salter" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
You really can't fault the selection of tracks here (with the possible exception of the Ritchie Family, which made me laugh out loud on hearing it for the first time here). Classics all, and not always the obvious ones.
But as someone who loved every second of these tracks when I first bought them on 7-inch vinyl, it was incredibly frustrating to find that the tracks overlap very slightly, so you lose those ecatatic moments at the start and finish of many of them.
The cue points at the start of each track are sloppy too, so you catch the end of the previous one even if you wanted to skip it.
And in order to squeeze 44 titles on, several tracks are faded out early.
If you're just a casual listener/dancer, you could do no better than this collection. But if you're a DJ or a serious collector you might be better with one of the many similar compilations which DON'T mix the tracks or edit them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume One of the greatest disco album ever, 30 Oct 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
Wow! I wouldn’t dispute this album title, if considered together with volume 2. This double disc contains a lot of the most commercially successful tracks from the disco era and plenty of classics. Appropriately it kicks off with Donna Summer’s eurodisco classic I Feel Love. Other hits from this genre include Funkytown, Get Up And Boogie, Black Is Black and Silver Convention’s Get Up And Boogie.
The Chic family is also well represented by Le Freak and Sister Sledge's He’s The Greatest Dancer, while the more soulful side of Disco comes in the form of Lady Marmalade by LaBelle, Shame by Evelyn Champagne King and Boogie Nights by Heatwave. Classic electrodisco is represented by Sylvester’s unsurpassable You Make Me Feel Mighty Real, Amii Stewart’s Knock On Wood and Dan Hartman’s Instant Replay, while KC And The Sunshine Band, Shalamar and Kool And The Gang offer funky party style dance music.
Amongst the obscure classics here The Michael Zager Band’s Let’s All Chant and The Ritchie Family’s Best Disco In Town are the most charming. A song like Candi Staton’s Young Hearts Run Free has the most beautiful lyrics, whilst anthemic million sellers include I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor, YMCA by Village People and Disco Inferno by The Trammps.
Other favorites of mine are More Than A Woman by Tavares, Never Gonna Give You Up by the inimitable Barry White, Feels Like I’m In Love by Kelly Marie, Working My Way Back To You by The Detroit Spinners and the passionate and powerful Use It Up, Wear It Out by Odyssey.
This is essential listening for Disco fanatics but make sure you get Volume 2 as well, since it contains more great classics of the time like Hot Stuff, theme from Shaft, Ma baker and Native New Yorker. When you have both volumes, you can truly claim that you have the best disco albums in the world ever, even though the Bee Gees aren’t directly represented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First of two great compilations of seventies disco music, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
At the time of its original release, this was a TV-advertised album that sold in huge quantities in Britain. It brought together many classic tracks from the seventies and early eighties.

Inevitably, Donna Summer (I feel love), Gloria Gaynor (I will survive), KC and the Sunshine Band (Get down tonight), Earth Wind and Fire (Boogie wonderland), Sister Sledge (He's the greatest dancer), Odyssey (Use it up and wear it out), Barry White (Never never gonna give ya up), Chic (Le freak), Village People (YMCA), Rose Royce (Car wash) and Real Thing (Can you feel the force?) are all here, though not always with the songs that you'd expect to find. In some cases, the expected tracks are to be found on the second volume.

Perhaps the big surprise is that Boney M are represented by Rasputin and by Ma Baker on the other set, where we would have expected to find Rivers of Babylon and Brown girl in the ring. My personal favorites here are Young hearts run free (Candi Staton), Black is black (La Belle Epoque) and More than a woman (Tavares), but there's plenty of great music throughout the compilation.

Although long out of print, most of the tracks continue to be re-issued at regular intervals on multi-artist compilations, and some of them can also be found on releases by the individual artists. However, if you enjoy seventies disco music and you have the opportunity to buy this somewhere, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old Skool!, 21 Jun 2014
By 
J. Sutton (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
There are maybe a few fillers on disc 2, but mainly there are great tracks if you like disco music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
Definitely need this CD in my collection, the minute you start to play it you wanna dance. CD that you will never get bored of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
the sound quality is poor and the production is even worse. There has to be better produced disco CDs out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best Disco Album, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Nickie (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
Very good album, many good songs. Could have put a few better songs on though, but worth buying. Pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
Had this on tape 20 years ago, it has brought back some good memories.This music makes everybody cheer up. Real party music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! (Audio CD)
I bought this album as a little ' nostalgia ' and ' easy listening ' as a change from my normal eclectic listening . I'm glad I did ! As someone of an age to remember these tracks first time round I don't think a much better collection could be made ( maybe with the exception of YMCA ! ) It has a great start with the fabulous ' I feel love ' and includes greats as Chic , George McCrae , Real Thing and Amii Stewart's Knock on wood . With 44 tracks it is superb value and will take you back to an era of moustache's ( Men !! ) , big collars , flares , large sunglasses and Shaft ! BUY IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever!
The Best Disco Album in the World...Ever! by Best Album In The World Ever (Series) (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews