Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone remember this one?
Press to Play is probably the least known of McCartney's solo works. He has recently been raising the profile of his 70's work with and without Wings, his early 80's material was very successful, and his work since 89's Flowers In The Dirt has been generally well received. Stuck in the middle of all this is Press To Play, with no big hit singles ('Press' barely made top...
Published on 10 Jun. 2001

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good....
When this first came out, in 1986, I was into buying cassettes. Always thought it was a pretty good album, and loved However Absurd in particular. Decided to upgrade to the CD reissue with the 2 bonus tracks when I saw it in a sale for a fiver. I hadn't realised that there were originally 13 tracks, as my old cassette only has 10. It seems the cassette short changed...
Published on 14 Jan. 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty good...., 14 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
When this first came out, in 1986, I was into buying cassettes. Always thought it was a pretty good album, and loved However Absurd in particular. Decided to upgrade to the CD reissue with the 2 bonus tracks when I saw it in a sale for a fiver. I hadn't realised that there were originally 13 tracks, as my old cassette only has 10. It seems the cassette short changed fans for some reason. The extra 3 tracks are Write Away, It's not true, and Tough on a Tightrope. These make the album even better value,particularly It's not true, and then you get the 2 bonus tracks too! I really can't see why this album is generally so ill thought of, it's far better than McCartney II for instance which only has one good track, this has at least 6 or 7, and virtually no filler. True it's not as good as Ram, Band on the Run, Tug of War, or any from Flowers in the Dirt onwards, but its pretty good for all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best 3, 24 Feb. 2008
By 
Paul J. Bagnall (Newcastle N.E. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
This is one of McCartney's best albums up there with Ram, McCartney, Band on the run and Chaos and Creation.
You may not be sure on the first couple of plays, but that's a good sign because it's a 'grower'.
I've been playing it on and off for 20 years now and it's still thoroughly fresh and enjoyable.
On 'Press'he steps a little out side his 'comfort zone' and with the help of Mr.Stewart experiments a bit with the production and sounds, but with out loosing sight of his gift for great melodies.
If you have an open mind and like Paul McCartney's music at all then I would say give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Its Moments, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
John Heaton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
For years amongst most fans considered Paul's weakest solo effort, here is a re-appraisal which probably doesn't change that view too much but at least highlights this album's strengths:
Stranglehold Tough to love a McCartney album if the opening track is not great. It's pretty weak, and the horns are quite annoying 6/10
Good Times Coming/Feel The Sun This is actually quite good and has lasted the test of time 7/10
Talk More Talk Quite engaging if slight as a song 7/10
Footprints Decent, if a little soppy 7/10
Only Love Remains Same comment, almost great but not somehow. 7/10
Press Goodish song let down by the production. Great video though (on the tube) 7/10
Pretty Little Head Interesting,though the 12 inch single version was superior as it featured a more authentic vocal 6/10
Move Over Busker Engaging tongue in cheek rocker 7/10
Angry Poor rocker, compare this to most 'Back To The Egg's songs of the same vein. It comes up well short. 5/10
However Absurd Sublime pychadelic ballad, I love it even if the end goes on too long 9/10
Write Away (bonus track) Pretty but forgettable 6/10
It's Not True (bonus track) Pretty forgettable 5/10
Tough On A Tightrope (bonus track) Same thing I am afraid 5/10
So there you have it. Not a disaster, but the next one 'Flowers In The Dirt' was much better. At least it's better than Broad Street,and more adventurous and interesting than 'Pipes Of Peace'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars much better than most of the 80s music, 5 Dec. 2005
By 
Thomas Milz (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
ok, ok, I can understand that, looking back from where we are now in 2005, this album, recorded in 1986 by a man who had his best days in the sixties, sounds a bit silly. But C`mon, he had the courage to try something different, to put digital drum beats, dark athmosphere-sounds, biting guitars on that album. Listen to his shouting and the bass in "Angry", the pure energy in "Move over busker" and the athmosphere in "Pretty little head".
Surely, "Only love remains" makes you want to vomit, but "Press", "Talk more Talk" and "Good times coming" are good songs, as "Its not true" as well. This is good 80s music. A bit embarassing nowadays, but that is normal. I bet if you guys take a look at some picture from the 80s, you will also find your own haircuts a bit embarassing. So what?
This is surely not one of Maccas best albums, but surely one of the few where he takes some risks. Something the Rolling Stone never did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McCartney makes a "Pet Sounds", 5 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
A largely ignored album from 1986 but very ripe for the picking in 2010, at the time of it's original release McCartney was not setting the musical climate of the times, but in hindsight this Macca offer lacks nothing, very up-lifting and melodic and varied, if "Only Love Remains" isn't one of his finest songs I don't know what is, other classic tracks are Stranglehold, Footprints, Press, Move Over Busker and However Absurd, please note that tracks 1-10 are the original album (as a vinyl lp), the rest were b-sides and are excellent songs themselves but interrupt the original flow of the ten track album, the original album finished with "However Absurd" (I think this important to remember), treat the rest as bonus tracks. Now... Press To Play! right there.. that's it.. yeah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
Jose Molist Diaz (Barcelona, catalunya,España) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Press to Play (Audio CD)
great great great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depressed, 13 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
The first problem with this album is the production. After the weedy Pipes of Peace and the Beatle retreads of Broadstreet Macca was clearly at a loss and feeling the need to "update" his sound. Where he had previously been a pioneer he became a follower of fashion and made the mistake of using Hugh Padgham. This means the songs have a stunted, trapped-in-time feel to them and there is little warmth. They sound somehow forced; contrived. After he folded Wings McCartney lost the rock'n'roll for a long time and what little there is here rocks after a clunky fashion and certainly doesn't roll. Some admire the experimental elements of the set. When McCartney experiments un-selfconsciously the results can be sublime, whether mainstream releases or work like Secret Friend or The Fireman's Rushes. When he tries too hard to be 'avant garde' we end up with the likes of However Absurd or Pretty little Head and wish he'd just offered up some Little Richard instead. This was released during the long period in the 80's when he wasn't touring and one has to conclude that throughout his career when he has been busy and regularly performing with a band, whether the Beatles, Wings or his current touring outfit McCartney's output, motivation and reputation have broadly been enhanced. I don't think he will be rushing to re-release Press among the other post-Beatles albums currently being re-packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Macca's Forgotten Gems, 7 Oct. 2005
By 
Scott (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
This mid-1980s album was well received when it first appeared with even the NME giving it a good review. In many respects it picks up where Tug of War left off and offers solid production values with McCartney experimenting with recording technology and writing some catchy tunes along the way. Stand-out tracks would be: Strangehold, Talk More Talk, Only Love Remains, Press, Move Over Busker, However Absurd and It's Not True. It has all the typical McCartney melodies and mixture of ballads and rockers. I bought the original release in 1986 and was pleasantly surprised and most Macca fans will like this CD. And it prepares the way for the even better Flowers in the Dirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 18 Years On, 19 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Press To Play (Audio CD)
I bought Press to Play on it's day of release back in September 1986. I listened to it endlessly for three or four months then neglected it for 15/16 years. I have to say time has not treated it that well. Bits of it are a bit embarrassing for a Beatle fan in 2004. Talk More Talk is one of McCartney's most cringeworthy efforts and Move Over Busker is not much better. With the exception of the excellent (in my opinion) Stranglehold and Good Times Coming/Feel The Sun, there is is little here to get excited about. For Beatles/McCartney completists like myslef only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Press To Play
Press To Play by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews