Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sound as Unique and Excellent as they come
It seems as if Garbage have been around forever. Already their brand of technological rock and cutting lyrics is as familiar as Oasis’ drawl or Stereophonics’ grate, despite their relative lack of success. This is perhaps one of the most underrated albums of the 90s, as the fact is their sound is wholly original and distinctive. The publicity that shrouded...
Published on 18 Nov 2002 by D. Winchester

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hasnt aged well.
Lead singer is good front person .The players are good musicians but the songs don't really cut the strong stuff in the jar.
Published 15 months ago by concerned shopper 1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sound as Unique and Excellent as they come, 18 Nov 2002
By 
D. Winchester "atomic83" (Bushey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
It seems as if Garbage have been around forever. Already their brand of technological rock and cutting lyrics is as familiar as Oasis’ drawl or Stereophonics’ grate, despite their relative lack of success. This is perhaps one of the most underrated albums of the 90s, as the fact is their sound is wholly original and distinctive. The publicity that shrouded Scottish lead singer Shirley Manson could not bury the fact that Garbage churned out countless delightfully accessible angst-ridden tracks. Stupid Girl led the way, but Milk, Vow, Queer and Only Happy When It Rains are all of the highest quality. Depressing and brazen they may be, but with enchanting unique pop such as opener Supervixen, it is certainly captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 19 Jun 2007
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
i remember hearing about this band many years ago and laughing at them purely because they were called garbage and had a song called queer!!

a few years passed and then i bumped into the band again on a tv show and i actually heard them this time and thought myself rather silly for writing them off!!! they are great!!!

this is the sound of a rock band with a great eye for pop melodies. almost all the songs have got some fantastic guitar work in them and yet the vocals are so melodic...and sultry...almost sleazy..but in a good way!

for me the choice songs are queer,vixen,only happy when it rains and the haunting milk.

overall a great album...well worth checking out if you want something with a little bite but then kisses it better after!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not rubbish!, 27 Mar 2002
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
Garbage consist of three American producers (Steve Markes, Duke Erikson and Butch Vig - the latter of Nirvana fame) and the vocal talents of Scottish chanteuse Shirley Manson (supplemented on most tracks here by Mike Kashou on bass). As such, they're something of a supergroup, and indeed, they are a super group.
Their sound, in case you don't know, is quite unique and distinctive. The producers provide keyboards, samples loops and effects, in much the same way as dance records are made, but what they make is definitely a rock album. Over the top of this, come Shirley's sublime vocals, ranging from a melodic caress to (almost) vitriolic shrieks, tending more towards beautiful singing. If I had to compare them to other artists, I'd say they remind me, in parts, of Filter, VAST, Cyclefly and Guano Apes, but as none of these groups are as big as Garbage, that may not help you... (Although you may want to check them out if you like Garbage, all of them have the 'synthetic' musical sound and very good singers)
Butch's Nirvana connections meant the group had no trouble attracting interest. As soon as Shirley launched into 'Vow' (first single, included here) it was obvious that there was more to the band. A feministic assault on a former lover, it perfectly demonstrates Shirley's talents, and is one of the best tracks on the album. She switches with ease from softly sensual to menacing as she sings 'You burned me out but I'm back at your door/ Like Joan of Arc coming back for more/ I came around to tear your little world apart/ And break your soul apart'
This is followed by arguably their best (and certainly biggest) song - 'Stupid Girl'. This is really memorable, and well played on TV and radio, you will know it! In fact, I like it so much I can't believe it took me so long to get the album. It's not particularly heavy, but still is one of the rockier songs on the album. It's also one of those ones that you can't hear too much - deservedly a classic and still sounds good after 6 years. 'Can't believe you fake it' sings Shirley, well, Garbage certainly don't - they are quality, and the real thing.
Other songs seem a bit more low-key, and are generally softer. Three of my favourites are at the start; 'Supervixen', 'Queer', and 'Only Happy When It Rains'. All these songs have slightly weird lyrics - 'You're nothing special here... The queerest of the queer, strangest of the strange' and 'I'm riding high upon a deep depression/ I'm only happy when it rains/... Pour your misery down on me' for example. Shirley delivers these words with such skill and her silky, seductive tones that they seem beautiful anyway.
The final song, 'Milk' also deserves special mention. It's a sad ballad, and one of the highlights of the album (another single too). The vocals are perhaps the best on the album (and that's saying something), closing the album with the haunting 'I'm waiting, I'm waiting for you...' Perhaps I should also add that there's a very good 'wicked mix' of this (featuring Tricky) that I found on an Ibiza Chillout album; it isn't on this album, but it is perfect to relax to.
It has to be said; the remainder of the album contains little that stands out. The formula seems rather repetitive, and songs can drift into each other and then by before you notice. The only thing I don't like is the repetitive rhythm of 'Not My Idea', but even this isn't that bad. While songs don't stand out, it's generally due to consistently high quality. All the same, I feel Garbage could have done more to display some musical variety.
That said, this sameness is also (perversely) one of the album's best qualities! It means you don't have to concentrate on different songs, or be in different moods for all the styles. You can put the album on and let it drift by as one. The emotion is also much the same, but this makes it a great record to curl up to if you want to feel sorry for yourself. Kind of sad, but not maniacally suicidal, when you're in that mood, this is advised listening - it lets you be a little sad, but then get it out of your system and feel better again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Feb 2006
By 
Lilly Penhaligon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It happens rarely that you like every song on an album; there's always one or two that you would skip over. However, this is one of those albums where you want to listen to almost every song. Garbage are great here, they are really angst ridden rock (but not in the same whiney way as Alanis or Avril Lavigne so have no fear). For those of you who like quiet angst, Milk is a refreshing break from the heavy anthems and guitars of the other songs. Although it is lighter, it is in keeping with the general theme of the rest of the album and is quite dark.
Their best album is Version 2.0 which is an absolute classic - it is another album where every song is one which you will want to hear.
I think this first album and Version 2.0 were the crowning moments of Garbage's career. Beautiful was really poor and completely different in tone and their latest album, Bleed Like Me seems like an attempt to return to Version 2.0 territory.
If you are new to Garbage, I would try this and Version 2.0 you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forgot how good this really is!, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
so .. digging through the garage and came across a few old CD`s... found this and immediately remembered it for having some great tracks... and so with a little trepidation .. i mean after all... its probably aged badly.. right?
Wrong! just awesome stuff... in fact it seems even better this time around.... hardly left the cd player in days and i was so impressed i felt compelled to come on amazon and write a quick reminder in the hope 1 more person can get some joy from this album... truly great stuff :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars poor your misery down, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
A great album i originally had this on cassette as didn't have a cd player in early nineties and couldn't get it on vinyl anyhow iv heard many of there albums and own but this is my favourite i play it next to my soundgarden badmotorfinger,nivarna nevermind,ministry pslam 69,white zombie sexocisam. Anyhow this is one of my favorite albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Garbage First Album, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
No problems at all. Item arrived promptly and was as described, i.e. as new. All in all, I am very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
This has been bought as a Christmas present so not for me so I can't really say what it is like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
Safe to call this album perfection. Great songs from beginning to end, and it never gets old. I can listen to this all day long. In fact I have, on many occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garbage (Audio CD)
again, short review, love it, vocals, music, buy it. only happy when it rains, stupid girl, queer, stand out tracks, but love them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garbage
Garbage by Garbage (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews