Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, even at collectors prices!
What can be said about this CD that hasn't been said before? This is the stuff that got many people in their late 20's to 30's into dance music. I was converted from being an indie kid to a clubber in an instant when my friend put this on her car stereo, and soon bought a copy for myself. It was soon deleted and became an instant collectors' item. I will never forget...
Published on 17 May 2004 by D. D. Wilson

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I must disagree
Well... everyone who is in the electronic music escene has heard about this mix as THE mix collection of all times, but in my personal opinion it doesn't show Sashas' and Digweed's mixing skills as other works do (like Northern Exposure Vol. 1 and even the second part of The Mix Collection delivered by Digweed). Don't missunderstand me, this CD really has great tracks...
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by aelarios


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, even at collectors prices!, 17 May 2004
By 
D. D. Wilson "spawnee" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
What can be said about this CD that hasn't been said before? This is the stuff that got many people in their late 20's to 30's into dance music. I was converted from being an indie kid to a clubber in an instant when my friend put this on her car stereo, and soon bought a copy for myself. It was soon deleted and became an instant collectors' item. I will never forget hearing some of the tracks for the first time. If you can get hold of a copy, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bar none, 26 Jan 2005
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
This is the BEST mix album ever. There is no doubt about it.
It features some of the best tunes of the time with the best mixing you have ever heard. It still sounds fresh even today and this is even after having the original for 10 years. If you are in any doubt as to whether or not to buy it - don't be just buy it! If you are at all into Digweed or Sasha then you will love it end of story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, the first and the best DJ mix album ever, 2 Sep 2003
By 
Kevin Roast "shkwav" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
Inspired. Sasha and John Digweed triple DJ mix CDs from the glory days of house in 1994. This was the first and is considered by many to still be the best DJ mix every released. It set the standard for all DJ mix albums to come.
A sublime and expertly mixed journey through house music of the time. With excellent and collectable packaging too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tracklisting to die and go to renaissance with, 30 July 2013
By 
J. Smith "whatyadoinsucka" (Yorkshire. Gods Own County) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
1-01 Leftfield – Song Of Life (Lemon Interupt Mix)
Remix – Lemon Interupt
5:26
1-02 Leftfield – Song Of Life (Dub For Life Mix) 4:02
1-03 Leftfield – Song Of Life (Steppin' Razor Mix)
Remix – Steppin' Razor
2:16
1-04 Bedrock Featuring Carol Leeming – For What You Dream Of (Full On Renaissance Mix)
Vocals – Carol Leeming
6:19
1-05 Rhythm Invention – Chronoclasm 2:37
1-06 Disco Evangelists* – De Niro (Spaceflight Remix) 6:06
1-07 Memphisto* – State Of Mind (Quiet Mix) 1:43
1-08 Moonchild (3) – V.O.A.T (Original Mix) 5:28
1-09 Sunscreem – Perfect Motion (Boys Own Mix)
Remix – Heller & Farley
10:09
1-10 River Ocean – Love & Happiness (Junior Boys Own Super Dub)
Remix – X-Press 2
4:27
1-11 That Kid Chris – Keep On Pressin' On (Didn't I Show You Luv Mix) 5:48
1-12a Remake – Bladerunner 4:24
1-12b Inner City – 'Til We Meet Again (Brothers In Rhythm Perkappella)
Remix – Brothers In Rhythm
4:24
1-13 Bump – House Stompin' (Big Bump Mix) 7:02
1-14 F. Machine* – Child Bride (Feedback Max Mix)
Remix – Feedback Max
4:28
1-15 M-People* – Renaissance (John Digweed's Full On Mix)
Remix – John Digweed 7:41

2-01 Fluke – Slid (PDF Mix) 4:43
2-02 Funk Machine – Let's Get This Party Started (Party Mix) 5:20
2-03 Fluke – Slid (Scat & Frenzy)
Remix – Justin Robertson
5:01
2-04 Corrado – Trust (Pink Mix) 5:02
2-05 Dj MBG* – Trance 1 (Oriental Psycho Estmix) 2:01
2-06 Hysterix – Talk To Me (Sasha's Full Master Mix)
Remix – Sasha
7:04
2-07 Annadin – Angel 7:18
2-08a Virtualmismo – Mismoplastico (Dirtysyncomix) 2:21
2-08b Virtualmismo – Mismoplastico (Rubber Mix) 1:09
2-09 Virtualmismo – Mismoplastico (Original Remix) 5:29
2-10 Fishbone Beat – Always (Psychedelic Martini Remix) 3:39
2-11 State Of Grace* – Not Over Yet (Perfecto Mix)
Remix – Perfecto
5:47
2-12 Secret Life – She Holds The Key (H.A.L.F. I'm A Believer Mix)
Remix – H.A.L.F.
4:16
2-13 Funtopia Featuring Jimi Polo – Do You Wanna Know (Gut Drum Mix)
Remix – Justin Deighton, Paul Brogden
Vocals – Jimi Polo
5:07
2-14 V.F.R. – Tranceillusion (Original Mix) 3:16
2-15 Kym Mazelle – Was That All It Was (Def Mix)
Remix – David Morales 7:07

3-01 M-People* – How Can I Love You More (QAT Mix)
Remix – Sasha, Tom Frederikse
7:20
3-02 Moby – Go (Nightime Mix) 5:19
3-03 Jaco – Show Some Love (Original Dub) 6:38
3-04 Spooky – Little Bullet (High Velocity Mix) 6:20
3-05 Havana – Sublime Theme (Dub) 3:48
3-06 Shawn Christopher – Another Sleepless Night (Bassman Mix)
Remix – David Morales 4:17
3-07 Unity 3 – Age Of Love (Trance Dub & Fantasy Mix) 4:48
3-08 EMF – They're Here (D-Ream Dream)
Remix – D-Ream*
6:10
3-09 Solar Plexus (4) – Solar Plexus 3:31
3-10 Havana – Ethnic Prayer (Euro Mix) 5:32
3-11 2 Bad Mice – Bombscare 3:32
3-12 Age Of Love – The Age Of Love (Watch Out For Stella Mix)
Remix – Jam & Spoon
6:14
3-13 My Friend Sam Featuring Viola Wills – It's My Pleasure (Club Mix)
Remix – Rick van Breugel
Vocals – Viola Wills
5:24
3-14 Lemon Interupt – Dirty 4:03
Credits
Coordinator [Project Co-Ordinator] – Neil Rushton
Coordinator [With Loads Of Help From] – Judy*
DJ Mix – Sasha & John Digweed
Liner Notes – Richard Benson (4)
Mastered By – Mayking
Mixed By [Mixing], Producer [Additional Production] – Sasha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational., 24 May 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
It's funny looking at the packaging now - all the 16th century paintings from the Sistine Chapel, famously created by Michelangelo, reflect this album as a part of musical history. It was the first ever music album to be fully mixed to the extent of re-creating a club experience - Technics MK2's and all, by a DJ (or 2 for that matter). Upon reading the story that's written across the flaps inside the packaging, we discover that this isn't your average annual of songs. It is, in fact, a reflection of the club night between the years 1992 and 1994, when Renaissance; a Northern club that was dogged with worry as to how successful it could be, was just getting started. So what better way to celebrate the change in dance-music than by releasing a fully mixed 3 CD album mixed by 2 young men... commonly known to each other as Alexander Coe (aka Sasha) and John Digweed?

Digger's was probably the luckiest DJ of his era. After sending a promo Tape of his work to the new 'Renaissance' club, that already had Sasha as a DJ, they were amazed by his technical skills. Hence, under 2 years later, he gets to mix the greatest DJ album of all time, only a matter of years after just being a mobile gardener to pay for his records. All I can say is wow.

Unlike any other album I've bought, Renaissance (I simply call it this for short, it was the first album after all) originally came in a wax-paper sleeve, which held together the gate-fold packaging that opens up into a long 4-squared section. Flaps fold over to cover the cd's, making it look very neat, whilst also cleverly holding the tracklisting for each cd when you flip it up. These CD panels then fold together, and form a book like opening, which has always reminded me of a bible! The package is quite simply, pride at its highest level, with no expense spared. You can forget about trying to find one with the original paper sleeve - I've only seen one on in the past 4 years.

But what about the music? 3 discs, separated with colours, house what is a complete and utter euphoric journey through. The reason this album is so beautiful is because, like The Mix Collection 2, it taps into your emotions like no other dance album to this date, let alone a standard single artist album. But what sets this album apart is that it covers the years 1992 > 1994, which allowed Digweed and Sasha not to simply present the newest material, but the songs that made the club so special - that being Italian House music (hence partly the name Renaissance - a time of change). The album starts so confidently and beautifully with 3 separate mixes of Leftfield's 'Song For Life', demonstrating Sasha's unique ability to 'rhyth-mix' using the hi-hats and mids of tracks. Starting off from a dream-like and steady mix, it moves seamlessly into a full beat and hair-raising rhythm with the second mix, and the eventually into the crazy big-beat third. To me, CD1 has always sounded like an introduction for the album as a whole, as it sounds the most progressive. 'VOAT' has a sublime piano rhythm that reflects a typical 90's sound with great vocals, and whats more, mixes into an even better song - 'Perfect Motion', which is by far one of the best songs on the album, with amazing lyrics and a memorable rhythm. As a DJ myself, it's impossible to stop listening to the seamless beat-matching between these tracks, and soon after I bought the vinyl myself! Talking of memorable, what about 'BladeRunner'? Probably the most euphoric song on the album, with amazing vocals, and a hair raising rhythm that just keeps building up! And if thats not enough, it mixes instantly with only a couple of bars into 'House Stompin', which again, is another totally classic track that will have you up on the floor, saying "That's it, i'm dancing!". This cluster of songs make up some of the finest house songs i've heard in my time, because its so simple and makes you want to get up and wave your hands around to the "House Stompin" vocal, or dream to the lyrics of Perfect Motion.

CD2, my favourite CD for its funkiness, has probably more stand out tracks; the most obvious being 'that one' - 'Not Over Yet' by The State Of Grace, which to me, sums up what Renaissance was all about at that time. It was a time of change, and its beautiful positive vocals and organ/piano rhythm is to die for at its 'original' vinyl speed (not modern classics album speed). 'She Holds The Key' after this track is without a doubt another stand out song, with yet again, amazing vocals. But the build up to this CD is cut short as the party is well and truly started with 'Slid', a genuinely funky song with a lovely rhythm and fun vocals. From here on, its euphoria all the way as piano and organ sounds create the perfect happy party atmosphere for the entire disc. This is probably my favourite, as it reflects how dance music was not just up there with 'the beats' if you like - it has variety in its sounds, from the bouncy and happy 'Lets get this party started' to the great vocals in 'She holds the key'. Its mixed with little progression, and is full of memorable rhythms, giving it a more bouncy/fun sound. And what better way to end the CD than Kym Mazelles "Was that all it was", with its super happy piano rhyth's and of course, amazing vocal.

Though I see the 2nd CD as my favourite, their is no denying that CD3 is, technically, the best structured mix you're ever likely to hear. 'How Can I Love You More' is an instant classic from 1994 - the mix here is alot longer than the original, but perhaps is better at gradually building up the momentum, rather than the snappier original. Whereas the original had a rhyth going all the way through, this builds up to the end. Moby's 'Go' is also on this album, which I have yet to hear elsewhere. For many other people too, this is another classic song, and again the mix used here is alot longer than the original. In an ideal world, I think the original mix of 'Go' would have been perfectly suited to not only the sound of this album, but for its length, and perhaps the mix included here is just a little bit drawn out and mellow. The CD continues to build up to a typical Renaissance end, with sublime mixing between the completely crazy, yet amazingly bouncy 'Bomb Scare' and the incredible 'Age of Love', which just had to be on this album for its Renaissance sounding vocals and rhythm (I think Sasha or Digweed would have shot themselves in the foot for not including it!) The "Come on, dance with me" vocals are probably the most memorable in my time buying dance albums, and are sampled for The Mix Collection 2 too, on track 2 of CD3. This track pretty much signals the end for what is, and incredible journey, as the vocals and electronic sounds of 'Its My Pleasure' make the album sound like the end of an epic film.

Is it the best then? Yes. Their has never been an album - club or mainstream - to capture the same character of its cover than this. One listen of 'Age of Love' perfectly captures a club which was like no other. The sad thing is, songs like this, and Perfect Motion, show now how such an amazing age for music withered away in such short time. In an ideal world, 'Renaissance' created a genre of dance music in the UK, for neither it is trance, house, or hard-core of the time, but Italian house music that we had never heard before, let alone in the Southern parts of the UK where the scene was alot less working-class, and alot more glammy. I may have stated on my review for The Mix Collection 2 that that was indeed the best, but to be honest, they are both there. Whereas the Mix Collection 2 is more mature, and has more stand out tracks, with an even beautifier (is that a word??) end, as 'No Other Love' mixes goose-pimply into Robert Miles one and only 'Children' (the original, I might add!), this first Mix Collection is much, much more fun and feel good, and should I even say innocent? The amount of vocals, the attention to detail, and variety of rhythms makes this a diverse album that just keeps taking you to another level. And this was only achievable on this album, as the songs capture a short period during 1992>94 when dance music had passion and variety. Luckily, Sasha and John Digweed were on hand to mix it!

My favourite part of the album? Undoubtedly the vocals in 'Perfect Motion'. They are simple and quite catchy, whilst being feel-good for that era. Like the album as a whole, it taps into your emotions and puts you on that 'euphoria' level that you simply don't get these days. 'Bladerunner' is another example - emotion fired vocals along with a classic rhythm. This album is likely to reflect the problem these days - dance albums are produced to sell. This is likely to be the finest example of a music album that's been mixed and compiled to perfection. It doesn't intend on being a tracklist of hits, or songs that the record company know's will sell. It is a piece of art, reflected in the images around the packaging. The reason they waited 2 years to make this album (between 1992 and 94) was so they could gather the right material, and then spend time practicing and working out the mixes. The album reflects how DJ's are under-rated by many who don't listen to dance music (because of the sheer rubbish these days) in that Sasha and Digweed have the musical knowledge to gather a large variety of music that captures a unique sound, and puts you into the Renaissance era, in the days of Michaelangelo. Sasha and Digweed are likely to be the best ever DJ partners, and their musical intelligence is reflected on this album - where to use long beat-matches, where to do simple switches, knowing that putting 'Age of Love' just before 'Its my pleasure' is perhaps the most climatic ending ever to album, with its sudden switch over (Apart from Digweeds emotional ending to Mix Collection 2, with 'No Other Love'- the unbelivable blend to Robert Miles original 'Children') that sounds like the end of a movie!

While I still retain this is the best dance album ever created (because it has. literally, been created) The Mix Collection 2 is without a doubt on the same level. It shows a different side to club, and with Digweed in charge, allows the album to be more emotional and 'club' based. In theory, you can only get the true Renaissance experience with both albums! But because this is the first, it still sells for more ebay, leaving Mix Collection 2 a bit cheaper!

This really is the bible (excuse the pun) of dance music, and you will not fully appreciate club albums until you get your hands on this. With regards to the newer Anniversary, 2 tracks have been replaced due to Copyright infringements, and the actually re-doing the entire mix on an Apple G4 was unnecessary. Though... Sasha is my total utter hero, and grew up near me, so I'll just shut up at this point!

What more can I say?.... This album just keeps getting better every time you listen to it. I should know - I listen to it everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know., 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
Nothing gets close.
Miles ahead that has now become a why can't it be this good again.
THE most crushing house moments probably ever.
F word legends and I thank you.
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
This is the mix compilation that started them all. It's considered groundbreaking and it's understandable why it holds that accolade. Technical stuff aside , there's some great early 90s tunes on here that you'll know and love and some 90's tunes on here that you won't know but you'll still love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unrivalled, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
I was a young lad of 15 when my brother bought me this as a tape compilation for Xmas. It is simply the best mix you can ever listen to. The mixing is phenomenal and the tunes unreal. It actually sends a shiver down my spine and makes me quite emotional when I listen to it.
Truly a masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SASHA & DIGWEED - RENAISSANCE. BEST MIX EVER, 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
Bought the best mix ever, Sasha and Digweed Renaissance. Not a mark on the CD's. Cover in great condition. Seller mentioned the cover was a bit worn but he obviously is fussy about his collection as it looks perfect to me. Had my own copy of this stolen at a party (its my own fault for passing out)and will never let this one out of my sight.

If you havent heard this mix before, you have missed a classic. Get onto Amazon and buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Renaissance: The Mix Collection - Mixed by Sasha and John Digweed (1994) (Audio CD)
The description was honest and although one of the discs is slightly scratched it still plays (although did skip slightly on a more sensitive CD player). However, as the CD is so difficult to find and is almost 17 years old I am really impressed with the general condition. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews